We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food at an authentic local restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old School Cafe

Old School Cafe
Ranked #27 of 79 Restaurants in Spring Hill
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Columbia, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food at an authentic local restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a local hometown restaurant that serves good old fashioned southern food. Ignore any bad reviews, which are likely from upscale snobs who have never stepped foot into a real restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robertsonhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nope.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Old School Café sounds cute, cozy, and quaint. Well, quaint it ain't! Let me start by saying that I am not a restaurant snob, or a hard to please patron. I prefer the independent restaurants to the chains. We had breakfast here so I'll review that meal, the restaurant and staff. Let's get the staff portion out of the way first. Waitress acted like we were interrupting her day by coming in, and the place was nearly empty. The building is an old school in Spring Hill that the restaurant has a small part of; there are a couple of shops and a barber shop there also. The interior of the restaurant is dilapidated. Grimy looking cabinets and floor, ceiling tiles half falling in and hanging over your heads. The bathrooms down the hall... You wish you hadn't walked in to them. (men's and women's). I ordered the "senior plate" my wife ordered the "freshman". I ordered eggs over medium; they looked more like the cook had thrown them on the griddle and then went outside for a break...very overcooked. The biscuits and gravy was one biscuit, (cost saving?) and gravy. Does that mean if I ordered toast I get one slice? Sausage wasn't good either, but, the potatoes were pretty good. Our bill came to just under $12.00 for both of us, including one coffee. As I stated I prefer not to go to the chain restaurants, but in this case I highly recommend you bypass this place and head to McDonalds for a breakfast burrito and a cup of Joe, or dine in at Cracker Barrel. You'll be glad you did

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Riversburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallulah Falls, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Southern hospitality at its finest!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Good food, friendly environment, great value-will definitely be back! Love to see repurposed old buildings too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay47797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tutzing, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Just off of hwy 31in the middle of old Spring Hill, got to hunt for it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

Decent meat & 3's are hard to find and this is one worth finding. Let's face it, inflation is on borderline rampage, food and gas prices up and being passed on to the consumer.. That said, plan on spending over $10 for a great meal in an ol time feeling place is satisfying. If your worken and need lots or sweet tea this is where you may need to be eatin..lol....

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spring hill, tn
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love the atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

This local down-home eatery is a great place to go for fans of southern food and burgers. All the food is homemade. Each day, they feature 3-4 items to choose from and a list of vegetables.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bonrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old School Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Old School Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing