We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evins Mill - perfect weekend getaway”
Review of Evins Mill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Smithville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Evins Mill
Ranked #1 of 1 Smithville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Illinois
2 reviews
“Evins Mill - perfect weekend getaway”
Reviewed February 24, 2010

Not only is this one of the most beautiful places you'll get to visit ...say on your road trip to the Smoky Mountains..but its very affordable...and the food is amazing. A "Food of Tennesee" special on a local public access channel was what originally clued me into Evins Mill. At the time we were looking for a place to hold our wedding ceremony & reception... the next weekend ..we visited. I remember leaving the Inn and as my husband saw the look on my face he said, "This is the place, isnt it." Family and Friends who attended the reception STILL talk about the ambiance, the Chicken Parmesan, the AMAZING Brunch the following morning, and what a beautiful place it was to spend the weekend. My husband promises he'll take me back there soon. Im holding him to it. The rooms are clean and comfy and the staff is VERY helpful & friendly.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegreatplains2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    16
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
113
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chattanooga
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2010

we had a great time staff was very nice to us food was great , had a nice time playing pool, and darts i give them an a +

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tenn3738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2009

we had an excellent retreat. The food was incredible. Staff terrific. Room was very clean. The hike to the falls is not to be missed. The property is beautiful. We will come here again.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogawithlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2009

This was our third trip to Evins Mill. This time we took another couple with us who will also look forward returning in the future. I can't say enough good things about the quality of the food, the beauty of the area and the big smiles of the staff. The rooms are clean and the perfect place to get away. The fireplace was roaring when we wanted it to in the main lodge and the smell of the flickering fire made you want to do nothing but RELAX. If you are looking for a weekend place to chat on the phone, watch tv and stay stressed, this is not it. But if you want to get away from the world, recharge and relax, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this place. I hate to write such a good review, only because I don't want to have trouble getting a room when other people hear how great this place is :)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookbooknola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

My husband and I came to Evins Mill to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. We got to the Inn early and went for a short hike. The trails were challenging for novices like us but the view where the 2 waterfalls met was a good reward. We enjoyed participating in the pumpkin carving contest and playing in the game hall. We had a box lunch, but I wish we would have had the sit down lunch with the warm soup. The Hors d’oeuvres were amazing and set us up for a spectacular dinner. The soup, salad and entree were fantasic and I wanted to ask for more grits!! Dessert was a little dry, but we really appreciated the candle that they put on top to honor our personal celebration.
Overall the weekend was amazing and I would go back just for the food!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiefee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2009

Our experience at Evins Mill was great! We enjoyed the views, walks and even our work time. The staff is very attentive and easy going. The chef is an excellent cook and we found ourselves looking forward to the next meal almost as soon as we were done with the current one. Our servers were great and we really had a ball with Darla. We would recommend Evans Mills to anyone looking for a place to host a retreat as well as individuals looking for a relaxing and fun get-a-way. It was great working with both William and Laurie…they are phenomenal!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kadi781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Kentucky
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2009

My husband and I have enjoyed the Inn at Evins Mill on several locations. We love the quiet serene setting, the relaxing babbling stream, and comfortable accomodations. On each trip Chef Jason has impressed us with his creative menu selections and fabulous food. Both the dinners and breakfasts are scrumptious. This is a true gem close to home.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyelmore456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithville
20.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cookeville
20.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cookeville
18.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Gordonville
Rodeway Inn Gordonville
#1 of 1 in Gordonsville
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Royal Inn
Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Sparta
20 reviews
17.7 mi away
Scottish Inn
Scottish Inn
#2 of 4 in McMinnville
18 reviews
20.6 mi away
Best Western Thunderbird Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evins Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evins Mill

Property: Evins Mill
Address: 1535 Evins Mill Road, Smithville, TN 37166
Location: United States > Tennessee > Smithville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Smithville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the estate of US Congressman Joe Evins, today Evins Mill is a historic inn and resort offering a scenic setting, bluff view accommodations and southern gourmet cuisine. Select amenities abound, as do on-site activities and nearby excursions. Straddling the Highland Rim and Cumberland Plateau, the forty-acre property boasts one of the few Eastern Hemlock forests in the region, lending it a mountain appeal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Evins Mill Hotel Smithville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing