We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inhospitable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Celebration Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Shelbyville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I'm a member of a conservative political organisation which had made arrangements at this hotel for a local event. Once the manager learned that we were there to protest the demographic displacement of native citizens in the area by high levels of immigration he went back on his word and refused to provide lodging for members of our group. This was after many members had already gone through the trouble of reserving their rooms. To make matters worse the manager went through the trouble of attempting to prevent our members from finding lodging at other local hotels by defaming the organisation and its members. Therefore if you are not politically correct I would recommend you make arrangements to stay somewhere else. For all we know if you arrive at this hotel after having made reservation and happen to have a Christian or Pro-Life or 2nd Amendment stickers on your car you might find yourself on the street with no place to stay.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank HaroldCrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCelebrationInn, General Manager at Best Western Celebration Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Mr. Crews,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on my hotel even though you have never stayed in it. As you stated in your posting, your group did indeed have a group block at my hotel and once it was discovered that your group "The League of the South" was a nationally recognized hate group who promotes discrimination against anyone other than White Southern Men of English Decent, I decided that I did not want your money. My company as well as Best Western International fully believe in both equality and diversity for all people, regardless of race or national origin. It is my right to refuse your money and I as well as numerous others in this community and across this nation, will continue to do so with groups such as League of the South, because in the 21st century in a country that is a melting pot for the world, and was founded to be one, their is no place for your type of hate speech.
I wish you nothing but the best even though I do not agree with you or your groups teachings of hate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 182 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

The owner of this hotel was extremely rude to me. His employees were quite nice but the owner expressed very hostile sentiments. He also threatened to sue me for libel when I told him I'd spread the word about awful behavior and hostile views.

It is unfortunate because I had to find another hotel at the last minute, after having a reservation for weeks. It's also sad because his employees seemed like decent people and were friendly and helpful. But the owner came across as loathsome individual.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
6  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCelebrationInn, General Manager at Best Western Celebration Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on my hotel even though you have never stayed in it. As you stated in your posting, your group did indeed have a group block at my hotel and once it was discovered that your group "The League of the South" was a nationally recognized hate group who promotes discrimination against anyone other than White Southern Men of English Decent, I decided that I did not want your money. My company as well as Best Western International fully believe in both equality and diversity for all people, regardless of race or national origin. It is my right to refuse your money and I as well as numerous others in this community and across this nation, will continue to do so with groups such as League of the South, because in the 21st century in a country that is a melting pot for the world, and was founded to be one, their is no place for your type of hate speech.
I wish you nothing but the best even though I do not agree with you or your groups teachings of hate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
22
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel is just outdated. Unfortunately there aren't many choices when staying in Shelbyville, TN. Next time, I will stay one town over where there are several better choices. The internet was not working during my 2 night stay. The carpeting is in need of replacement and the outside of the hotel shows serious signs of age.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the BW Celebration Inn while we were visiting friends in Shelbyville. We had a very nice suite that was very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. It smelled a little of cigarette smoke when we first walked in but didn't feel a need to mention that to the staff. The staff were all very friendly & accommodating for all our requests. The appearance of the exterior & interior lobby& hotel overall was very attractive & are decorated in modern décor. Everything was very clean. The only thing that could be improved upon was the breakfast. It was sufficient but there wasn't much that we liked to eat so we never had breakfast at the hotel. This hotel is centrally located on Hwy 41 and very close to the main Hwy 231. I would recommend it to anyone as a very nice place to hang your hat for a few days. Good value for your money!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank LoloGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCelebrationInn, General Manager at Best Western Celebration Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share of your experiences while staying with us here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Celebration Inn & Suites here in Shelbyville, Tennessee. It is greatly appreciated. We do hope to have you as our guests again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Rooms were very clean, staff helpful. Breakfast was not the best plus hours were too short should be extended to 10:00AM. The location was great for sight seeing in the area. Also there was renovations going on at this motel maybe that could explain why the breakfast could have been better and the hours extended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCelebrationInn, General Manager at Best Western Celebration Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dar James, Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule and posting the positive review for your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Celebration Inn & Suites in Shelbyville, Tennessee. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I also will see what I can do concerning the Breakfast! Thanks again and have a great weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Is located in heart of town, nice facility but definitely in need of some repairs. Looked like they were replacing mattresses while we were there. They did need to concentrate on some other things on the property!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trouble408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Don't book this hotel if you are there for any show. They can't seem to supply enough food for their breakfasts. They were skimpy on their personal products that normally are refreshed daily, as shampoo, and bar soaps. The only thing I would say good for them is the beds were comfortable. A couple of the desk clerks couldn't care less about the guests.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelbyville
1.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Shelbyville
1.4 mi away
EconoLodge Inn & Suites of Shelbyville
24.8 mi away
Best Western Chaffin Inn
Best Western Chaffin Inn
#10 of 37 in Murfreesboro
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tullahoma
13.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tullahoma East
24.3 mi away
Best Western Fayetteville Inn
Best Western Fayetteville Inn
#1 of 3 in Fayetteville
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Celebration Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Celebration Inn & Suites

Address: 724 Madison Street, Shelbyville, TN 37160-3519
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Shelbyville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Shelbyville
Price Range: $73 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Celebration Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly across from the Tennessee Walking Horse National Celebration Grounds and only 14 miles from Lynchburg, Tennessee, which is home of the Jack Daniels Distillery, the BEST WESTERN Celebration Inn & Suites is an exceptional Shelbyville hotel that offers everything visitors need for an unforgettable stay and is the only AAA and CAA-rated hotel in the county. In addition to friendly customer service and comfortable accommodations, the BEST WESTERN Celebration Inn & Suites also offers an exceptional location near or just a short drive away from exciting area attractions, including the Jack Daniels Distillery, Middle Tennessee State University, Webb School Fall Craft Show & Sale, RC Cola Festival, Moon Pie Festival, the Tennessee Walking Horse National Celebration Grounds, popular shopping and dining and more. Inside this exceptional Shelbyville, TN hotel, guests will find thoughtful touches and all the comforts of home inside each newly renovated guestroom, each of which comes complete with pillow top mattresses, 32-inch flat screen LCD TVs, a microwave and refrigerator. Suites featuring whirlpool tubs are also available upon request. Other amenities at the BEST WESTERN Celebration Inn & Suites also include free high-speed Internet access, complimentary expanded hot breakfast daily, a heated indoor pool and on-site fitness center. Harley-Davidson guests and pets are also welcome at this Shelbyville hotel. Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Celebration Inn & Suites on business will also appreciate this Shelbyville hotel's close proximity to area businesses - including Tyson, National Pen, Calsonic Kensai and Jostens. Ready for an unforgettable Shelbyville, Tennessee hotel experience? Book a stay online and save with the BEST WESTERN Celebration Inn & Suites. We look forward to welcoming you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Best Western Celebration Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbyville Best Western
Best Western Shelbyville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing