We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food”

Uncle Sonny's Bar-B-Que
Ranked #5 of 61 Restaurants in Shelbyville
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Estill Springs, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Outstanding food”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Ate lunch and loved the pulled pork, beans and apricot fried pie! Very nice folks behind the counter. Wish they had tables instead of just bar stools. I'll probably do take out next trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeepInTheWoodsMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    12
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Ate here just after we moved here. Nothing like Southern style Sonny's we were used to in Florida. Great BBQ. A little expensive. Very little seating and no atmosphere.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank smokeylt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best things on our TN vacation”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We went on Friday and Saturday and probably would have on Sun and Monday, too had they not been closed! We tried the pulled pork, the brisket, the chicken, the cole slaw, the potato salad and the mac salad, the choc, apple and blackberry fried pies. The barbeque was delicious and the potato salad was just like my mom used to make!! We brought back to PA the sauce and the rub. Too bad we couldn't get our hands on Uncle Sonny!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank advntregrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful barbecue”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I have yet to have anything at Uncle Sonny's that isn't fabulous. Best ribs, pulled pork, and pulled chicken ever. We buy barbecue sauce to take home with us whenever we go. There is no real atmosphere, but the food more than makes up for it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gadfly18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best in Town!!!”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Wonderful BBQ and the BEST potato Salad I have had in a long time, just wish their hours were later and more days open! I refer guests of the hotel there all the time!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RCheramie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Sonny's Bar-B-Que also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Sonny's Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing