We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip!”
Review of Backbone Rock

Backbone Rock
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the trip!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We head to backbone rock every fall when the leaves are turning. It is one of the prettiest sites around and is almost never very crowded. There are nice picnic areas on both sides of the road and the river flows right through the picnic area. It is beautiful ANY time of year, but it is a MUST on our list EVERY fall!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KreativeKristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TN
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Neat place.”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Small park area that's a great stop on the way to Damascus or Shady Valley. The short hike to the top of the rock affords some nice treetop views.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TNAnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not at all what I expected it to be. Quite interesting.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I didn't know what to expect at Backbone Rock, but it was really a lovely spot, and the "backbone" is actually a bridge carved out of the rock . If you are brave like my daughter, you can climb up a carved out stairway to the top of the rock, and walk across the top of the bridge. This is part of a large recreational area beside a stream, with picnic areas and tables, and signs warning that bears are "active in the area"...we didn't see any, though. But the leaves were beautiful, and the weather was very nice for exploring around the area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kthywin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice surprise”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I were just driving looking at the fall leaves and came upon this place. What a nice surprise. We hiked up to the top and across to the other side. Very relaxing and a nice get away. Really pretty place and easy to climb.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

It is a beautiful, quiet park. Clear mountain creek. If you like nature, this is the place. get out and walk the trails. Great motorcycle trip.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backbone Rock also viewed

 

Been to Backbone Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing