We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome vacation!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Appleview River Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Appleview River Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Swanton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome vacation!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Accommodations were great! Awesome view!! Lots to do, in just minutes away. Quiet and very peaceful location. Barbara, the office manager, was just wonderful. She was very helpful and most accommodating. Would definitely go back. My kids, ages 16, 20, and 23 loved it. They kept busy doing something everyday.

Room Tip: The higher floors give you a more scenic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AppleviewResort, Manager at Appleview River Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at the Appleview River Resort. We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We thank you for sharing this review and we look forward to you returning to Appleview River Resort and the Great Smoky Mountains again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    51
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
225
123
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Although we have been married for 41 years, I chose the Honeymoon Suite to spend four days and nights in; It was beautiful! Everything was in its place, and extras were included in the kitchen (set of knives, toaster, towel paper, dishwasher detergent, dish detergent, etc.). I wanted to stay where I would be really safe and comfortable in alone just in case I didn't want to go anywhere which happened a couple of mornings. Everything was nice and clean when we arrived. The king size bed was very comfortable. The main problem we encountered because of my health issues was the toilet being so close to the floor which is the only reason I didn't rate it "excellent." It looked like it should be in a first grade classroom. Everyone (9) agreed when they finally came to our suite and saw the toilet. The other reason I chose the Honeymoon Suite was that I could connect with WIFI; however, I was very disappointed that I couldn't connect with WIFI on my laptop, but thankfully I could with my iPad. We loved the two balconies, and we even grilled on the gas grill one evening. Barbara, the manager, was very nice and friendly, and she suggested places for us to visit and eat. We stayed in the corner suite which was very quiet most of the time.

Room Tip: Our corner suite was very quiet. The resort wasn't crowded since we didn't go on a holiday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AppleviewResort, Manager at Appleview River Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at the Appleview River Resort. We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We thank you for sharing this review and we look forward to you returning to Appleview River Resort and the Great Smoky Mountains again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewton, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at Appleview Resort for seven days. It was wonderful. Very clean with large windows. We just love this place. It is convenient to every place on the Parkway. You can go out on the town and go back to a great, peaceful hideaway. Barbara is a gem!!! She can help you find whatever you need. Our a/c went out, but we were moved to another condo just as nice. This is where we will stay when traveling to that area. We were late checking in. We had trouble with the door code, and Barbara came right away and helped us. Thanks to Appleview for a great vacation! !!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AppleviewResort, Manager at Appleview River Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at the Appleview River Resort. We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We thank you for sharing this review and we look forward to you returning to Appleview River Resort and the Great Smoky Mountains again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our first "condo rental" experience and after staying at Appleview I don't think we can go back to the hotels....We stayed in Bldg 3.. a three BR unit....We arrived at 6pm to get our key from the box, we were greeted by Barbara (complex Manager), who, even though it was after hours went out of her way to help us locate our unit and bring us a luggage cart...she was very professional and helpful......We opened the door to our unit and it was very fresh smelling, clean, and in very good condition...we had a very nice view of the river and mtns and we even got to watch the fireworks from our third floor balcony...The resort is very nicely landscaped and kept clean. Noise from the area and from neighbors was extremely low if any at all. Our unit had plenty of towels etc..everything in the unit worked as it should have...there were four of us (two adults and two kids) and everyone gave appleview two thumbsup...The location was also great as it was close to the strip, but off the strip just enough to have a peace and quite when desired.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluelava99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AppleviewResort, Manager at Appleview River Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at the Appleview River Resort. We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We thank you for sharing this review and we look forward to you returning to Appleview River Resort and the Great Smoky Mountains again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

When we arrived it was easy to find the check in area. It's the yellow farm house with the gravel driveway. I'm not sure how other's that reviewed this placed missed it. The check it was fast and easy. We had 3 different forms of payment (due to who was going with us) and they were happy to oblige us. We pulled into the lower garage area, there was plenty of parking above and below ground. Our first impression of the place was that it was well kept and beautiful. We took the elevator to our condo on the 4th floor. We open the door and we all thought the place was beautiful. My grandmother came with us and is still saying that it was the nicest place she had ever stayed. We all claimed our rooms and got settled in. We stayed two nights and wished we had the time to stay longer. Below I'll list the good and the bad.

Good:
Location
Size
Value
Amenities
Quiet
View
Furniture
Tanger Outlets are less than 5 minutes away, along with Starbucks, McDonalds, Walgreens, and several other places that you could possibly need.

Bad:
Lock was a little difficult to open
Place really needed a good dusting
Some remotes didn't work (even when changing the batteries)
Beds were a little hard
No pillow cases for the extra pillows
Master bath/shower was hard to get in/out of (I can understand why the shower rod was pulled out of the wall some after trying to get in and out)
Water pressure in 2 of the 3 bathroom showers was very poor.

Over all we loved our stay and we will be staying again. We might try a different room next time. Next time I will probably be taking my cleaning supplies with me (I'm a bit OCD about being clean). I hope they don't mind that I rearranged some, well most, of the décor throughout the condo (I'm very OCD about the way things look). Honestly I think it looked better when we left. :)

Room Tip: This was for unit C442, a penthouse with 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. The 2nd bedroom on the first fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brandon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AppleviewResort, Manager at Appleview River Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at the Appleview River Resort. We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We thank you for sharing this review and we look forward to you returning to Appleview River Resort and the Great Smoky Mountains again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at Appleview in 2011 and in 2012 decided to try a different resort which is very close to Appleview. That was a mistake! Back to Appleview in 2013.

We stayed in C433. As always, Barbara in the office is great to deal with. She's friendly and helpful.

Our unit was very clean. After our experience last year at a different resort, this was a huge deal for us. Yes, the place needs painting, but it's not a deal breaker at all. The decor was lovely as well. Beds are VERY comfortable! Also, my 5 year old loved the pool.

We had a few minor complaints - we have to have wireless internet for my husband's work (yes, he still has to do work on vacation, unfortunately). This unit has DSL which only worked for a few hours our first night there. The rest of the week it didn't. The box would just click off and on repeatedly. We unplugged it, plugged it back in, several times with no luck. We also tried the reset button on the back. Nothing. That was disappointing.

Also the shower heads have hardly any pressure which made rinsing long thick hair time consuming.

Our first night there I left the ceiling fan on in the master bedroom. I woke up around 2 AM to a strong burning rubber smell. I turned off the fan and by morning the smell was gone. The next time I had the ceiling light on (which is a part of the fan), the smell started again. The rest of the week I did not use the fan or the light.

All of that being said, we still love Appleview and will definitely stay here again on our next visit. You just can't beat the cleanliness and location. It's quiet, but not way off of the parkway. Also, the view of the Little Pigeon River is fantastic!

Thanks, Appleview!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spdracr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AppleviewResort, Manager at Appleview River Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at the Appleview River Resort. We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We have addressed and resolved the issues you mentioned. We thank you for sharing this review and we look forward to you returning to Appleview River Resort and the Great Smoky Mountains again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have stayed at Appleview River Resort in the past. Having been in 3 other units we unfortunately had to settle on 441 again this time (3rd time in this unit to best of my recollection). Each time we were met by filth. Filthy dirty carpets, mildew on shower curtain, dust, sticky laminate floors, marks on walls, cobwebs, soot on fireplace facing, soot on ceiling, same dirty bed coverings. This last time we had originally scheduled another unit to give one last try as the other 3 units we had stayed in before were acceptable except only 1 and 1/2 tv in unit called "serenity", but once we had to change date unit 441 was only one left. Desperate at last minute knowing we would lose a percentage of deposit went ahead (though dreading) unit 441. Sure enough it was as bad if not worse than before. Multiple pictures are now on our I pad. When my son complained the manager told him she had done us a favor by even renting to us as we had complained in the past....because the unit is deplorable. Now we are "banned" from ever returning................although wouldn't even think of trying this again to ruin another vacation in the dreaded unit 441 at Appleview River Resort. Manager less than helpful and when asked when last time she inspected unit she said about a year and a half. She offered nothing but defense of cleaning (or lack of) and said she would report to owner. That was it. Seriously? Whatever happened to customer service? None shown at Appleview River Resort unit 441.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank volsfansinohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AppleviewResort, Manager at Appleview River Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for sharing this honest review of your stay in unit 441. My wife and i recently took over the management of the Appleview River Resort and found your review and wanted to respond. We are so very sorry that your stay at the resort was not up to your or our standards and you received no customer service from the previous management. We can assure these types of issues will not occur under our watch. We are a family owned business and we take pride in offering clean, comfortable and luxurious accommodations here at the Appleview River Resort. We are working with the owners of 441 to insure the unit is brought back up to luxury standards. All the carpets have been cleaned, one of the first things we had done in all the units upon us taking over. The cleanliness issues have been addressed and the owners are working on getting the entire unit repainted. We would truly appreciate the opportunity to provide you with accommodations on your next visit to the Smokies and allow us to prove to you how nice our resort can be and how clean our properties are. If you choose to give us another opportunity to earn your business in the future please give us a call anytime so we can help you find the perfect condo or villa for your next stay. Thank you again for your honest review and we hope you have a blessed day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sevierville
1.0 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#3 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Christmas Place
The Inn at Christmas Place
#2 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
1.7 mi away
Resort at Governor's Crossing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
#6 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
1.6 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#7 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge On The Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appleview River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appleview River Resort

Property: Appleview River Resort
Address: 460 Lonesome Valley Rd, Sevierville, TN 37862-5405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Sevierville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Sevierville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Appleview River Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are nestled on a quiet peninsula along the Little Pigeon River in Sevierville, Tennessee near the Apple Barn Village. Appleview River Resort is one of the few properties in the area offering both spectacular MOUNTAIN VIEWS and WATERFRONT accommodations. Convenient to dining, entertainment and outlet shopping we offer 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom luxury condos and villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Appleview River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appleview River Hotel Sevierville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing