We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveler rating
69
18
7
7
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
18
7
7
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheavenly sunriseprivate poolmountain manorbig hit with the kidshot tublarge potswhole familyprices are greatwaffle ironmountain viewstanporchcabinusablepansrefrigeratorgrandkids
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 113 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We held my parents 50th anniversary the 3rd week in July in the mountains this year,as we normally celebrate in St. Augustine on the beach. We wanted privacy and a pool. This cabin was huge.Plenty of space inside for all 20 of us and a well manicured huge back yard for us to play catch. During our stay the maintenance man came twice to clean the pool and to us ,it didn't need it. He also took the trash both times telling us the racoons constantly get in it. We did see them and they were definitely fat (and cute)!The owner Debra came over to wish my parents a Happy 50th and brought a cake. My mom was in tears over her kindness. Great people to deal with and a beautiful place for our whole family. We already reserved time for next July. The price was definitely less than any other large cabin to sleep 20 people, so it was well worth the money. Thanks Stan and Debra for making my parents memories here happy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We rented from Backhome Log Cabins and were extremely disappointed in the conditions of the cabin. The cabin had feces on the deck, food left on floors and kitchen counters from previous renters, a disgustingly dirty hot tub, trash left in cans, mold in closet, mold in tub, mold on ice dispenser of fridge, thick dust throughout house, stains on carpet, cracked window and the list could go on... The management was rude and full of excuses. I was told you know you are in the mountains-we can clean the cobwebs, spiders and feces, but they will just return the next day. I would never do business with them again. Do not waste your money! Rent somewhere else and enjoy the mountains!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JHope2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TnCabins, Manager at Backhome Log Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Within one hour of the renter contacting us we sent 9 people over to take care of any problems. The next day we sent someone else to the cabin and he was told they were not going to pay for their week stay so I offered them a 100% refund but they had to vacate. They refused the offer, stated they would stay the entire week and dispute the credit card charges when they got home. They also managed to find out the cabin owner's name and email. They contacted him in Chicago and tried to get him to send them money also. They put mutiple complaints on this forum showing they rented the cabin in July AND August, which isn't true. We did everything we could possibly do. Even offering a 100% refund, but they refused to vacate, stated they weren't planning on paying for their accomodations, and tried to shake down the cabin owner for money also

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed at the Heavenly Sunrise for our annual family reunion. The home was filthy, in bad condition, and the staff was argumentative and rude. They made multiple excuses and said we paid for a budget cabin. A few of our complaints were a broken spa on the deck full of mosquitoes and tad poles, mold on the barely working refrigerator, dirty pool, stains on the carpets, dirty oven and grill, many burnt out light bulbs, dust thick on everything in the house, broken TV's and furniture, cob webs and spiders on the windows, racoon poop on the decks etc. To many things to list but we took plenty of pictures to share. Please don't waste your money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mjbeason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TnCabins, Manager at Backhome Log Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Within one hour of the renter contacting us we sent 9 people over to take care of any problems. The next day we sent someone else to the cabin and he was told they were not going to pay for their week stay so I offered them a 100% refund but they had to vacate. They refused the offer, stated they would stay the entire week and dispute the credit card charges when they got home. They also managed to find out the cabin owner's name and email. They contacted him in Chicago and tried to get him to send them money also. They put mutiple complaints on this forum showing they rented the cabin in July AND August, which isn't true. We did everything we could possibly do. Even offering a 100% refund, but they refused to vacate, stated they weren't planning on paying for their accomodations, and tried to shake down the cabin owner for money also

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

The managers of this log cabin don't tell you that the house is separated into upstairs and downstairs. To get to the two bedrooms in basement you must go outside. 4 rooms in the main level share two connecting bathrooms. The cabin was clean just don't look under furniture or go barefoot on the carpet. The carpet just felt damp and unclean.
Overall the appearance is one of a rundown property. It may have been very nice in the beginning but no one has taken care of the place.
They were even doing construction off the back area while we were there. The view of the upstairs deck was of all the trash in the backyard from construction, oh and the xmas decorations in a pile (no kidding).

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jpllrgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TnCabins, Owner at Backhome Log Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

This cabin is advertised as "consisting of two rental units with no access between the units" as stated on the web site. The main level has 3 master suites each with private baths. What is stated here about 4 rooms with connecting baths is not true. We have spent 300K since 2006 in upgrades and the cabin is not rundown. This cabin has an 80% occupancy rate year round and normally books up a year in advance with many repeat guests. The 'Christmas decorations stated was a wooden reindeer behind the house. If we had known the guests were not satisfied we would have done what it took to make them satisfied, even 100% refund, but we weren't told of any problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Our family enjoyed the stay in Alexandra's Log Heaven very much. With ages 9 mo. to 65, we ALL appreciated what the cabin had to offer. Though there were places that could have used a bit of dusting and deep cleaning, everything was tidy and mostly clean. We had to call maintenance because of several issues when we arrived. The maintenance man arrived the next morning and we showed him the broken recliner, non-working phones, broken door on the popcorn machine and a couple of other small issues. He looked at the problem areas and left, not coming back. Nothing was fixed, so we had to use our cell phones the entire week.

Bears were an issue, and we had to pick up trash left in the outside trashcans most mornings, though housekeeping might have done that for us had we called them (unsure). We also had to clean up bear poop off of the hot tub cover where we had nightly bear cub visitors. Granted, you cannot expect management to control local wildlife on the middle of a mountain!

I would also say that while the pictures did not misrepresent the playground, but it certainly did show it in the BEST possible light instead of what it would normally be.

There were MANY wonderful aspects of the cabin as well. The woodwork, furniture, lighting, and accessories were gorgeous. Though I'd suggest bringing a few of your own pots and pans if you plan on doing a lot of cooking, the cabin was nicely stocked with average cookware and ample dishes/glasses, etc. The porch was amazing with a beautiful view of the mountains. The seating outside was comfortable as well as beautiful. The furniture inside was comfortable as well, though had we many more people, we would not have had enough seating for everyone. (More places provided for sleeping than for sitting.)

The jacuzzi was enormous, extremely comfortable, and the hot water heater was actually large enough to fill the entire jacuzzi without turning cold. The sizable hot tub provided a nice place to relax and listen to the wildlife in the cool mountain air.

Plenty of firewood was provided for a bonfire outside or for the inside fireplace. The heating and air worked extremely well, and the beds were comfortable (as long as you enjoy a firm matress). The steps to the basement were rather narrow, and with my own vertigo, I never attempted to go downstairs, but there was access from the outside as well.

Unfortunately, sounds from upstairs were amplifed if you happened to sleep in one of the rooms on the ground floor. But as long as everyone goes to bed/sleep at the same time. . . well, expect to hear everything above or below you.

My 9 month old had a wonderful time crawling around, but we did buy a gate to protect him from those steep stairs. Our 5 year old had a blast running around and playing both in and out of the cabin.

We plan on using the karoke machine sometime today, but we had a wonderful time listening to the neighbors in Bunny's Nest singing much of the day yesterday.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyCalliope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews