We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Million Mile View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Preserve Resort
Picayune, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Million Mile View”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Love this cabin! This fall will be our third year to stay at the Preserve Resort. We go there to relax, get away from the hustle and bustle of life and just enjoy the scenic views. The cabin is great and well furnished! All of the amenities are great as well. We have traveled all over the world and find this get-a-way to be one of the most relaxing places on earth. Very quiet and private.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SouthernGal574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    66
    30
    31
    53
See reviews for
183
90
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carbondale, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

A group of friends with multiple children stayed in a 6 bedroom cabin. To start we had one shower head that was broke, one shower that would not drain, and the kitchen ceiling was leaking from the above bathroom. The second day we were there our water quit working and we called many many times with no response as to why or when it would be back on! Over 12 hours later still no response or water with a house with multiple children under the age of 4. The water finally came back on with still no response from management and then it went out again later that night! Still no response from management. Have never experienced such horrible customer service in my life!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jturini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The Ugly:
Background: our hot tub broke on the day 2 during our 1-week stay. We called repeatedly but did not get any follow-up until our day 6.

- Customer service did not follow-up to any calls/requests -- we called 4 days in a row
* No urgency from management to help us
* Management lied to us and took away the apology credit
** After complaining 5 days in row (with *no* follow-up), a manager (Steve ?) noted that we would receive a $75 credit for our problems. Upon checkout, they said that was an error apparently and we weren't supposed to be offered that.
* Did I mention we called 5 days consecutively and did not receive any follow-up from the management.
* When maintenance finally showed up (on day 6 of our 7-day stay) they claimed they would most likely have the hot-tub repaired -- but instead we found it still broken and NO note/call or any follow-up communication

The Bad:
- Maintenance did not show any sense of urgency / heightened level of customer service
- Bugs from the dining room chandelier (new bugs found daily!)

The Good:
* Cabins are spacious
* Playroom (air hockey & pool table) and home theatre are good
* Kitchen was great for 13

The Not-so-good:
- mini fridge was not in good working condition when we arrived
- Main floor did not have separate temperature controls for living room and bed rooms
- sofas in the basement are in fair/poor condition
- not enough bedding for all of the foldouts, and for it to be stored/placed somewhere logical
- fitness center and pool/hot tub hours to be extended until at least 10:30pm; perhaps 7:30am start time (currently 9a-5p, absurd)
- No recycling program whatsoever

Would I recommend this to my friends: No
Would I recommend this to my enemies: Hell no

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, IL
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

This was the second time that I stayed at a cabin in the Preserve Resort. Two years ago, we stayed in a 3 BR cabin and had a fantastic time. We loved the cabin and location and that's why we decided to bring friends back. This time, we stayed in a 5 BR cabin (Greenbrier Grace II). The cabin was beautiful, clean, and generally what we expected upon arrival. The view was gorgeous once again. The bedrooms were large with every bedroom having its own bathroom (although one BR on the 2nd floor has shared bathroom access and there is a 1/2 bath on the lowest level--media room). Overall, we had a great time in our cabin and appreciated the comfort of the cabin.

Unfortunately, we had a few problems with the cabin as well, resulting in the 3/5 rating. Our hot tub stopped working on the 3rd day of our stay. We ended up calling maintenance or the front office 5 times before anyone came to look at the hot tub... on the day before we were leaving. He diagnosed the problem, said he might be able to get someone out that afternoon, and then we didn't hear from anyone after that. We understand that things break and that it could have happened to anyone. However, when we asked for some compensation for not having a hot tub for the majority of our week AND having such a poor/slow response from maintenance, we were told by the manager and general manager that they could not give us any compensation beyond the $25 hot tub cleaning fee. Since one of the reasons that we chose the preserve resort was the hot tub amenity, we were very disappointed in management's response. Again, we had a great time overall and enjoyed many aspects of the cabin, but, after spending nearly $4000 on the cabin for the week, you'd think they'd offer a little more than $25 for a broken hot tub and poor response by maintenance.

There were a few other issues of note... there's only one refrigerator which is difficult for 13 people, and the hideaway beds were not comfortable (one friend opted for a couch instead). These were not deal-breakers, but The Preserve Resort's poor customer service is a deal-breaker for us. When we return to Pigeon Forge, we will choose one of the other, better-rated companies for our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cubsfan_1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We had been referred by our friends regarding "romancing the clouds", Theatre system, very clean, new bedding, nice not tacky furnishings... Kitchen well stocked. We stayed a week in July and booked another time this fall... we see some of the reviews... the key to preserve resort is to book thru Majestic vacation rentals, NOT thru the preserve. Managment company superb!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nettie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

To name a few of the problems we had at this so-called "luxurious" The Preserve Resort...
1. Broken hot tub. When we reported it, they offered no help.
2. Closed pool for the entire week. They did nothing to try and fix the pool claiming "we signed an agreement that the amenities could change at any time." Family of 16, 6 of which were children, were promised a pool & offered zero help/compensation when told it was broken.
3. Filthy bathroom floors with hair, dirt, and dust.
4. Deceptive photos of resort. The house, both interior and exterior, is not at all as big, spacious, and "luxurious" as they lead you to believe.
5. Filthy wood floors and trash on carpet when the house had supposedly been "cleaned" before our arrival. Bugs and trash were on the floor in various places around the house.
6. Dirty dishes in kitchen cabinets. Bowls with grease in them.
7. Pillows upstairs & downstairs had the stuffing falling all out of them, looking as if they had been eaten by rats.
8. For 2 so-called "sleeper sofas", there was 1 fitted sheet and zero pillows for them. The beds were the lamest "beds" as one would be lying down feeling nothing but springs.
9. Tv in downstairs bedroom was broken.
10. Dishwasher rack was broken.
11. Telephone number advertised for the house had been disconnected.
12. Disgusting hair on walls of shower.
13. Best of all- there was ZERO customer service. TERRIBLE. They were not apologetic, helpful, remorseful, competent, or caring. They offered NO HELP.

When you're paying that much money for a family vacation at a so-called "luxurious resort", you expect the resort to provide the advertised amenities, some quality customer service, support, and help- none of which was done.

I would NEVER recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HandJc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We just got back from a 5 day stay at the Morning Breeze cabin. The whole family of 24 had a great time, everyone enjoyed the hot tub and the kids loved the pool table, air hockey, and foosball. No major complaints a couple ot the bedrooms' comforter was missing but when reported to management it had already been reported by previous renter. The bedrooms all had king size beds everyone sleep comfortably. The cabin was clean, bathrooms were clean no complaints on cleanliness and our group is a very clean family. The location of cabin was excellent because it is across the street from the pool, that was a plus everyone could just walk to pool, be warn though you have to walk up hill to entrance of pool, not a bad walk about 2 minutes. The cabin is very roomy with 24 people including children that was a plus. The 2 refrigerators, 2 dishwashers, 2 stoves was a blessing because we saved a lot of money on food by cooking breakfast and dinner. There was enough plates and supplies for everyone no shortage. The view is fantastic. The only thing I did not like was the drive up the narrow road leading up to resort the narrow road needs railings because of the steep dropoff, that can be dangerous if you try to drive up the mountain too fast, take your time when you drive up incline. Overall great cabin family of 24 enjoyed it.

Room Tip: take your time when driving steep dropoffs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southernlady41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sevierville
9.4 mi away
Resort at Governor's Crossing
9.4 mi away
Baskins Creek Condos & Vacation Rentals
7.7 mi away
Appleview River Resort
Appleview River Resort
#1 of 37 in Sevierville
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Smoky Mountain Cabins
Smoky Mountain Cabins
#30 of 37 in Sevierville
14 reviews
6.0 mi away
Accommodations by Parkside Resort
9.3 mi away
Starr Crest Resort
Starr Crest Resort
#11 of 37 in Sevierville
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Preserve Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Preserve Resort

Property: The Preserve Resort
Address: 3031 Hickory Lodge Dr, Sevierville, TN 37862
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Sevierville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Sevierville
Hotel Class:3 star — The Preserve Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
The Preserve Hotel Sevierville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing