We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Diner

The Diner
Ranked #23 of 185 Restaurants in Sevierville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: “One of a kind, locally owned, All American DINER”Timeless All American Great Food/Desserts/Poodle Skirts/JukeboxFood For Everyone in Your Party/Your Dessert DestinationGreat Fresh Salads, Tenders, Wings, AppetizersSteaks, Chicken Breast, Liver & Onions, Chicken & Dumplin’s, Meat Loaf, Chicken Pie, Spaghetti, More 20 Diff. Sandwiches, Club, Reuben (our own whole brisket, thin sliced), Bologna, Dagwood, Hot Dogs Loaded, Philly Cheese,etc.9 Children’s meals w/free drink, Fresh Char-Grilled to order Lean Beef, Elk, Bison, Turkey & Veggie Burgers*****THE DINER is Your Dessert Destination*****Best ever Milkshakes, Banana Splits, 8 homemade Pies & Cheesecakes, Tennessee Turtle, more.Breakfasts served all day.Great Pancakes & Waffles, Best Omelets, French Toast, Breakfast Skillets, Eggs to Order, Swaggerty Sausage, Thick-Cut Applewood Smoked Bacon.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always Excellent”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

No matter what day or hour, you will have a great meal. The staff is always helpful, knowledgable of the menu, and treats you like one of the family. The food is always. Exceptional breakfast, lunch, dinner or just a desert. Homemade cheese cake is the absolute best around. They even make old fashioned shakes in the metal containers. Family owned and operated. Highly recommend the
Diner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ctrapper2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardOnHwy66, Owner at The Diner, responded to this review, August 14, 2015
Thanks. found a batch of reviews I never responded to over a year old. Sorry my bad.
We've been working hard for 12 years now to serve all as we want/want our family to be served. This is what we hear at the tables & register day in & day out. If you ever aren't served that way, tell HK, SQ or the manager on the spot, we always want honest feedback. We're thankful to be right here in Sevierville serving you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    163
    84
    31
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walhalla, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Really good burger!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Chose the Diner because we wanted a light meal. The cheeseburger was cooked to order perfectly and the taste was definitely spot on. The fries were hand cut and very good. The onion rings were huge and very tasty. Huge dessert menu, was too full to try any... A good reason to come back again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardOnHwy66, Owner at The Diner, responded to this review, August 14, 2015
Thanks. found a batch of reviews I never responded to over a year old. Sorry my bad.
That burger is the same 81-19 Angus char-grilled fresh to your order. No shortcuts then or now to serve you as we want to be served ourselves.
Have you been back for that dessert yet? Those cobblers, pies, puddings, cheesecakes, shakes, banana splits, etc. are being served or packaged for take out all day.
Thanks for the post, a lot tardy, but thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good food.”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

My wife and I stopped in for breakfast. The service was good and attentive. The food is great home cooking. Will return next time in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 11STW24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardOnHwy66, Owner at The Diner, responded to this review, August 14, 2015
Thanks. found a batch of reviews I never responded to over a year old. Sorry my bad.
Don't know if you've been back but there are still no shortcuts in our breakfast. Xtra lg eggs even with today's very high cost, 14-18 thick cut applewood smoked bacon, Swaggerty sausage, omelets loaded with fresh ingredients, great pancake & waffle batter, corned beef hash, etc.
Of course we would love to host you for sandwiches, salad, supper or dessert also.
Thanks again for the post, sorry this took so long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Mixed review”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

I got the Bacon Cheeseburger with fries and it was excellent. My wife got tenders, potatoes, Mac n Cheese and it was all very bland. The atmosphere is excellent but not worth the price, we paid more at the Diner than we did Olive Garden. One big positive, the pie is excellent!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardOnHwy66, Owner at The Diner, responded to this review, August 14, 2015
Thanks. found a batch of reviews I never responded to over a year old. Sorry my bad.
We surely know everyone has different tastes. We do not add salt to anything, there is no MSG in THE DINER except in the sausage. Our food and recipes are very traditional southern & mid-western food for the most part. So chicken tenders are plump, either grilled or rolled in a simple all purpose breading and fried. All of our potatoes, straight cut french fries, hash browns, home fries (new red, cut up) are unsalted & unseasoned because so many people watch their salt and want them that way. The same processes for 12 years. Folks can add salt at the table. Very occasionally we have a request for seasoning after cooking, like cajun or Montreal, we are happy to oblige.
The burger was great because it is 81-19 Angus char-grilled fresh to your order, since day one, even now. That pie, our cheesecakes, puddings, cobblers are all scratch and loaded with the committed ingredients.
Our recipes have no food coloring, preservatives, extra salt, no MSG for your health.
Our prices are clear on our web site menu, etc. You can eat frugal with the specials, suppers, breakfasts, smaller sandwiches, burgers are 1/4 lb, 1/3 lb or 1/2 lb, .etc.
Kids have 9 different meals to choose from, all very reasonable.
The average cover at Olive Garden is in the $13-$17 with beverage. The average cover at THE DINER is around $10 with beverage, most days a bit under. I would love to have their average.
You and your party have lots of options at THE DINER.
If you are ever back in, I'd love to help you choose your pleasure so we can prepare exactly what you are looking for, at a fair price.
We always appreciate honest feedback it's how that menu and everything on it came into being and of course the vast majority so that determine what's on the menu but requests have prompted change when we recognize it's really valid.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“50's style”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

My family & I stopped by for dinner tonight. Good service and great food! The only thing that was lacking was the taste of the fries. Tasted bland and needed more salt. But other than that, the overall experience was fantastic!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gracesparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardOnHwy66, Owner at The Diner, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thanks for the post, you are really appreciated. We should have told you that we minimize salt, put very little salt and no MSG in anything, actually we put NO salt on the French Fries as most people want to cut back on salt..... Everyone can choose their own level of salt at the table. We also have sea salt available, just ask your server.
Thanks again, we really appreciate your dining with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Diner also viewed

 
Sevierville, Sevier County
Sevierville, Sevier County
 

Been to The Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing