We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food in Town”
Review of The Diner

The Diner
Ranked #22 of 186 Restaurants in Sevierville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Description: “One of a kind, locally owned, All American DINER”Timeless All American Great Food/Desserts/Poodle Skirts/JukeboxFood For Everyone in Your Party/Your Dessert DestinationGreat Fresh Salads, Tenders, Wings, AppetizersSteaks, Chicken Breast, Liver & Onions, Chicken & Dumplin’s, Meat Loaf, Chicken Pie, Spaghetti, More 20 Diff. Sandwiches, Club, Reuben (our own whole brisket, thin sliced), Bologna, Dagwood, Hot Dogs Loaded, Philly Cheese,etc.9 Children’s meals w/free drink, Fresh Char-Grilled to order Lean Beef, Elk, Bison, Turkey & Veggie Burgers*****THE DINER is Your Dessert Destination*****Best ever Milkshakes, Banana Splits, 8 homemade Pies & Cheesecakes, Tennessee Turtle, more.Breakfasts served all day.Great Pancakes & Waffles, Best Omelets, French Toast, Breakfast Skillets, Eggs to Order, Swaggerty Sausage, Thick-Cut Applewood Smoked Bacon.
Sevierville, Tennessee, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Food in Town”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The Diner is a local restaurant with some of the best food, I've eaten...
The locals know where the good food is. And this is it....

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardOnHwy66, Owner at The Diner, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Really....thank you for posting. It's hard to express how thankful we are to be able to serve and meet so many honest, hardworking, responsible Americans every day. This is a great place to be, still and we all need to appreciate that and strive to make it better....recommitting to the values that have made America such a great place. No shortcuts here, we'll work hard to serve all as we want to be served ourselves. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    174
    89
    35
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

The food is great and well priced. The desserts are AMAZING! The peanut butter pie and hot fudge cake were delicious. Would definitely recommend to others and will go back.

Helpful?
Thank Smiller525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardOnHwy66, Owner at The Diner, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Buckeyes are beautiful. As I say, even barely buckeyes, from that extreme southwestern corner at the river. We understand that drive south in the winter and really appreciate it this winter with all the snow, ice & cold. Are we ready for spring or what? Thank you for taking the time to post. SuzyQ & crew take that dessert destination label seriously, no shortcuts anywhere including our scratch pies like Peanut Butter & Cheesecakes. Thanks again & say hello next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, TN
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food, good value, take it from a local resident.”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is an excellent place to stop for breakfast, or lunch. Haven't had the pleasure of having dinner here yet. Staff is always courteous and prompt. Great breakfast and the best pancakes in town. Food is always tasty and served hot. The restaurant is always clean, and the atmosphere is fun and relaxed. I prefer to eat here because it is so clean and better than most. Worth the stop.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank valleylass03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardOnHwy66, Owner at The Diner, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thanks for taking the time/making the effort to post. We really appreciate sincere & honest posts. Not shortcuts here to serve you like we want/we want our family to be served. Looking forward to your next visit & Thanks again. The Cat & SuzyQ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice family diner with integrity”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Always a friendly smile and dependable good food. The owner is a true gentleman and the staff is friendly. The pies are homemade and if you're too full take a slice home with you!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank letstravelTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardOnHwy66, Owner at The Diner, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thanks for the honest post, they're always appreciated. Make sure you say hello to HK & SK next time you're in. We're generally are around unless our kids & grandkids have our attention. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Decided to try this place for the first time...ate there twice over our stay!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We drove by this place often over the last several years and just hadn't tried it until recently. I was impressed upon entering that they obviously don't mind letting you know they are Christian! (COMPLETELY FINE WITH ME!!!) They had copies of the Ten Commandments typed up and free for the taking. Our table had a little ceramic nativity on it.
The food itself was good although some might find it to be a little bit pricey. I had a bacon cheeseburger. It was great, but a little smaller than I anticipated for the price. I also ordered pie. I saw several pretty good size pieces in the cooler when we walked in. I ordered the peanut butter pie. It was very good, but SMALL compared to what I saw in the fridge! (AND it was more expensive!) The second time we visited on this trip I just asked what pies were $3.99 and chose from those. My kids loved their meals and the kids sundaes. The atmosphere is great. Service was nice. We will definitely be back many times from now on!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MREA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardOnHwy66, Owner at The Diner, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thanks for the post and the honest feedback...all of it. There are no shortcuts here so food costs can be slightly higher. The Angus burgers are all 81-19 Angus, lower fat than most folks serve and are char-grilled fresh to your order, you can order a 1/4, 1/3 or 1/2 lb Angus Burger. Of course we also have Elk, Buffalo, Turkey & Veggie Burgers that are much leaner. Also no injected fat, chemicals, salt/MSG etc, in any of them, better for all of us. All soups, cheesecake, banana pudding, chicken & dumplin's, meatloaf, slaw, much more are homemade and again free of such things, including extra salt.

ALL bacon in THE DINER is 14-18 thick cut, applewood smoked, even on the bacon burgers. Our customers tell us this is the best burger they can get so we have not compromised these things.
You uncovered a menu pricing error that we did not know about/catch, even our servers were not aware of. The Peanut Butter pie should be $3.99. We owe you. It is very rich, so it is a 7 cut, vs the 6 cut for most of our pies (homemade). You should know that so our servers need to point that out. We work hard to disclose/price clearly as you can hopefully see on our web site or printed menus.
There are daily specials & smaller portion suppers that are also helpful.
Again, Thank You for the honest feedback.
HK & SQ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Diner also viewed

Sevierville, Sevier County
Sevierville, Sevier County
 
Sevierville, Sevier County
Sevierville, Sevier County
 

Been to The Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing