We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place I have ever eat !!!!!!!”
Review of The Diner

The Diner
Ranked #28 of 199 Restaurants in Sevierville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: “One of a kind, locally owned, All American DINER”Timeless All American Great Food/Desserts/Poodle Skirts/JukeboxFood For Everyone in Your Party/Your Dessert DestinationGreat Fresh Salads, Tenders, Wings, AppetizersSteaks, Chicken Breast, Liver & Onions, Chicken & Dumplin’s, Meat Loaf, Chicken Pie, Spaghetti, More 20 Diff. Sandwiches, Club, Reuben (our own whole brisket, thin sliced), Bologna, Dagwood, Hot Dogs Loaded, Philly Cheese,etc.9 Children’s meals w/free drink, Fresh Char-Grilled to order Lean Beef, Elk, Bison, Turkey & Veggie Burgers*****THE DINER is Your Dessert Destination*****Best ever Milkshakes, Banana Splits, 8 homemade Pies & Cheesecakes, Tennessee Turtle, more.Breakfasts served all day.Great Pancakes & Waffles, Best Omelets, French Toast, Breakfast Skillets, Eggs to Order, Swaggerty Sausage, Thick-Cut Applewood Smoked Bacon.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I would like to pick the diner up and take it back to Kentucky with me!!!! We eat every meal here when we are vacationing!!! Do not want to eat anywhere else!!! The food is fantastic and people are so nice there!! Looking forward to next year already just to eat here!!! Best ever!!! Love, love, love it !!!! To us we give it a 100 stars!!!! Cheryl and Terry from Kentucky!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yrretzat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardOnHwy66, Owner at The Diner, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post. We really appreciate your comments and recognition of what THE DINER is. We take no shortcuts and work hard to earn your repeat visits for every meal from breakfast to supper. We are set up to serve you and everyone as we want to be served ourselves....or have our family served. We recognize we are mere morals, it you honestly feel you need something more, let us know. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

613 - 617 of 755 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife and I stopped in the Diner for a hot meal and we were very disappointed! We ate their frequently, but that stopped today. My meal, an open-faced hot roast beef sandwich, consisted of bland mashed potatoes, squishy/mildew tasting okra, dry roast beef with black crinkly edges, a dry Texas-toast style white bread. There was very little gravy on the plate! My wife ordered macaroni n cheese with a side of corn. The mac n cheese was dry and powdery. The corn was edible at best...The Diner owner defended her food and said other people liked these dishes. She also told us it, the mac n cheese, was a frozen product-not a powdered product! While paying the bill, the owner again asked if our meals were good. When I tried to explain the problems, she wouldn't listen! Once again, she only said we ordered what other people liked and defended her food. Perhaps she should listen and make an effort to correct the problems for future customers. Terrible food and horrific service from the owner herself...We will not be returning customers. In our experience: save your time/money and eat elsewhere!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hawk1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardOnHwy66, Owner at The Diner, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

We are certainly sorry you had such a terrible experience, it was the same for us. No one before your wife has ever called to curse at my wife and hang up. Life on earth is short, neither of us needs such events. Thankfully you have plenty of choices for dining out.
We have always listened carefully to customer feedback & take it very seriously. Almost anyone will affirm that.
For 6 or 7 years we have been serving that Mac & Cheese, for 10 years those same REAL mashed potatoes, that same okra, that scratch brown gravy, Texas Toast, that simple IQF corn. We take no short cuts in food quality or recipes and to make our food as healthy as possible. If we cannot buy a great menu item, we make it ourselves with recipes (Soups, Pies, Cheesecakes, Chicken & Dumplins', Meatballs, much more) that earn really positive customer comments. Like the corned beef, we slow cook our own, thin slice & portion it we can serve the best. None of these items are highly seasoned and are very lightly salted because that is what the vast majority of our customers want now. Health conscious customers have a wide selection. Salt & pepper, more butter can be added to taste at the table. We listened to a few comments (3 this year) and recently changed our scratch turkey gravy to have less salt. After 5 years we changed our meat loaf recipe because we wanted the vast majority to rave about it. That roast beef was changed a couple of years ago to a premium roast beef, one of the best we can buy. It took 2-3 years of different recipes & feedback to arrive at our cornbread recipe. These facts are all true and the same applies to most of our menu items, and what we serve has been validated by the positive comments of 99.5% of about 900,000 diners over the last 10 years. Mere mortals do work here and an item can be over cooked or undercooked on an order. We remedy such things from time to time and are ALWAYS happy to do so. You complained about not enough gravy and were promptly served more. My wife and I both tasted and tested the okra and it seemed fine and normal to us. That is a very popular side, I have never had a problem with the supplier. Again same source for 10 years. We had no other comments about your food that evening. It's really a puzzle why so many things can go wrong all at once. If ANY these things reoccur, of course, we would take immediate action to correct whatever it is. Always have, always will.

We wish you the best and sincerely hope & pray things will get better for you and that your next dining experience will be really great.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

First morning in Tennessee, so headed to The Diner on Highway 66 in Sevierville. Great choice of breakfasts and despite the stack of pancakes calling my name, I went for the 2-2+2 (2 eggs, 2 bacon & 2 toasts. Absolutely delicious. Great atmosphere, with the 50s jukebox and great decor. Lovely place to go & eat & I'm sure we'll go back during our next 2 weeks here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bridget C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardOnHwy66, Owner at The Diner, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Your post is appreciated. We trust ou had a great visit to this area/the Smokies. There is so much to do and enjoy! Thanks again, say hello on your next visit.....HK & SuzyQ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

On our way home from the mountains we stopped at this cute restaurant. Looks like old diner complete with black and white floors, red and white diner seats, silver tiled ceiling, and a jukebox.

Great chocolate milkshake! My son had a hotdog and smiley fries. I had a steak burger with cheddar and applewood bacon. Delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rsavell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardOnHwy66, Manager at The Diner, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thanks for posting. What you observed is how we set it up, serving you and your family like we want our family to be served. The best food ingredients prepared, cooked and served to please your family. Everyone at THE DINER REALLY appreciates your business and support. Blessings for your day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The diner was fun! The place was clean, and the employees were nice, cheerful, and happy to answer questions. We really enjoyed our food. All four of us got something different, and none of us were disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zedbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardOnHwy66, Owner at The Diner, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for posting. We work hard to serve all as we want to be served ourselves, for our family to be served. No shortcuts at THE DINER, for your benefit. Thanks again, we really appreciate your choosing THE DINER.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Diner also viewed

Sevierville, Sevier County
Sevierville, Sevier County
 
Sevierville, Sevier County
Sevierville, Sevier County
 
Sevierville, Sevier County
 

Been to The Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing