We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love planes and was memorabilia this is the place!”

Tennessee Museum of Aviation
Ranked #22 of 85 things to do in Sevierville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Tennessee Museum of Aviation is an independently operated non-profit 501(c)(3) foundation dedicated to preserving aviation history, maintaining and exhibiting historical aircraft, advancing aviation education, and to honoring those who have made extraordinary contributions to aviation and aerospace. The Tennessee Museum of Aviation opened in Sevierville on 12/15/2001. The 50,000 sq ft facility is located beside the runway of the Gatlinburg-Pigeon Forge Airport (KGKT). Airworthy "Warbirds" are the foundation of our collection, making this a very unique location for visitors to enjoy unscheduled flight demonstrations. Docents are available to assist visitors on a leisurely walk through our 35,000 sq ft hangar, observing a variety of magnificently restored Warbirds and offering a glimpse at some future projects waiting for restoration. We are a "living" museum, therefore our exhibits and aircraft change frequently. Browse the museum's air-conditioned exhibit gallery. A 52 foot "Wave Wall" not only traces aviation history from before the Wright Brothers, it includes the timelines of Military Aviation History and Tennessee Aviation History.
Bethpage, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you love planes and was memorabilia this is the place!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The main reason I went...look at my nickname for this site....AIRWOLF! This museum has a full scale replica of Airwolf (a TV show from the 1980's), When you get there you go through a exhibit hall which has displays of the first planes through the Iraq war. Very informative and educational! Then the hanger! So many planes each with a full description. To get to see these planes up close like this was amazing. Now I have read other comments about the price to get in. While it was not cheap it was still under $15 a person and I spent over 2 hours there. I thought that was fine.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Airwolf94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    45
    15
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great "find" I did not expect”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Kim and I had driven to the Sevierville/Pigeon Forge area for Christmas, 2005. The map to our rental cabin led us right past the Museum. I saw the Warbird sign on the building and thought it could be am interesting place for us to visit. We were so surprised by the number of well- maintained and well-displayed aircraft and the cleanliness of the faciity. The staff were helpful and friendly. We visited again during our next visit,and have returned to S/PF many times since, each time including at least one visit to the Museum. We love the place and the people. Our most recent visit was for a special event on June 1, 2013 which included flight demonstrations by 6 different warbirds.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank USAF-refueler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WAY TO EXPENSIVE!!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

A lot of great exhibits (hanger was very crowded with the planes & jeeps), very informative displays, and very knowledgeable volunteers!! However, the cost was $30 for two veterans!! I would have rather spent that at the aquarium in Gatlinburg, which I'd not that far away!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hockeyfan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN_Museum, Public Relations Manager at Tennessee Museum of Aviation, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We appreciate the time you have taken to offer your opinion. We are very proud of our facility and the collection of our FLYING WARBIRDS. The well-designed exhibits encompass a vast array of memorabilia. The comment concerning our admission price is rather disappointing. The Tennessee Museum of Aviation is an independently operated 501(c)(3) foundation, receiving absolutely “no” funding from the State of Tennessee or any other type of government funding . The museum depends on admissions to support the day-to-day operations. When comparing other similar venues, in the Smoky Mountain area, the museum comes pretty close to being one of the least expensive venues in the Smokies.
Titanic Museum-adult-$24.05+tax
Hollywood Wax Museum-adult-$17.95+tax
Hollywood Stars Car Museum-adult-$12.99+tax
Floyd Garrett’s Muscle Car Museum-adult-$9.75+tax
**Tennessee Museum of Aviation-adult-$12.75-tax included**
Ripley’s Aquarium of the Smokies-adult-$24.99+tax(M-T-W-T) - $26.99+tax(F-S-S)
As with most area attractions, we value the service of our Veterans, and when brought to our attention --offer discounted admissions.
We appreciate your business and hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
209 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“OK But Expensive”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I took my young son to the museum a few weeks ago and I thought the planes and exhibits were OK but not great. The cost of admission for the 2 of us was almost $26 which was just too high. Nice staff, OK items, but bring a lot of cash.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN_Museum, Public Relations Manager at Tennessee Museum of Aviation, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We appreciate the time you have taken to offer your opinion. We are very proud of our facility. Our exhibit gallery is an excellent area to explore the impact aviation has had on our country. The Tennessee Museum of Aviation is indeed small compared to the other government funded aviation museums; such as the Smithsonian Institution's National Air and Space Museum, which has the largest collection of historic air and spacecraft in the world. However, we're very proud of the collection in our facility and our FLYING WARBIRDS. Often enough, our museum is compared to the larger government financed facilities ... we are an independently operated 501(c)(3), receiving absolutely “no” funding from the State of Tennessee or any other type of government funding . The museum depends on admissions to support the day-to-day operations. The comment concerning our admission price is rather disappointing. When comparing other similar venues, in the Smoky Mountain area, the museum comes pretty close to being one of the least expensive venues in the Smokies.
Titanic Museum-adult-$24.05+tax
Hollywood Wax Museum-adult-$17.95+tax
Hollywood Stars Car Museum-adult-$12.99+tax
Floyd Garrett’s Muscle Car Museum-adult-$9.75+tax
Tennessee Museum of Aviation-adult-$12.75-tax included

The museum tries to add and change exhibits regularly. Hopefully, you and your son will have an opportunity to make a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice, but costly”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I enjoyed looking at the planes and Amelia Earhart's custom car. It is rather costly to go with a family.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank cga70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN_Museum, Public Relations Manager at Tennessee Museum of Aviation, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We appreciate the time you have taken to offer your opinion. We are very proud of our facility. The exhibit gallery is an excellent area to explore the impact aviation has had on our country. The well-designed exhibits encompass a vast array of memorabilia. The comment concerning our admission price is rather disappointing. The Tennessee Museum of Aviation is an independently operated 501(c)(3) foundation, receiving absolutely “no” funding from the State of Tennessee or any other type of government funding . The museum depends on admissions to support the day-to-day operations. When comparing other similar venues, in the Smoky Mountain area, the museum comes pretty close to being one of the least expensive venues in the Smokies.
Titanic Museum-adult-$24.05+tax
Hollywood Wax Museum-adult-$17.95+tax
Hollywood Stars Car Museum-adult-$12.99+tax
Floyd Garrett’s Muscle Car Museum-adult-$9.75+tax
Tennessee Museum of Aviation-adult-$12.75-tax included

We certainly appreciate your business and hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tennessee Museum of Aviation also viewed

 

Been to Tennessee Museum of Aviation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing