We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first visit to the Air Museum”

Tennessee Museum of Aviation
Ranked #11 of 92 things to do in Sevierville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: WHERE HISTORY LIVES! Airworthy "Warbirds" are the foundation of this 50,000 sq ft facility, located on the Gatlinburg-Pigeon Forge Airport in Sevierville. This unique location helps to bring aviation history to life with unscheduled flight demonstrations. Aviation enthusiasts will appreciate the professionally designed Exhibit Gallery, containing artifacts tracing aviation and military history, uniforms, aircraft models and hundreds of aviation memorabilia. The 35,000 sq ft Aircraft Hangar features aircraft engines and cockpits, military vehicles, and magnificently restored vintage “Warbirds.” The collection of trainers, fighters, helicopters, jets and amphibious aircraft will definitely satisfy the interest of any “Warbird” fan. Whether you’re a seasoned pilot or just have a passing interest in flight, this is a must-see while visiting the Great Smoky Mountains. Travel off the beaten path and explore the fascinating realm of flight at this hidden treasure.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I found about this museum for the Sevierville Chamber of Commerce. I am so glad I went, there is so much to see and learn about aviation, They also have a great selection of planes to see and learn about.

1  Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN_Museum, Public Relations Manager at Tennessee Museum of Aviation, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for the compliment. The Tennessee Museum of Aviation is definitely a hidden gem in the Great Smoky Mountains. Our facility is wall-to-wall history. The collection of vintage aircraft is varied and well maintained. We hope you make a return trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"on display"
in 16 reviews
"military vehicles"
in 3 reviews
"nice display"
in 3 reviews
"historical information"
in 3 reviews
"different eras"
in 2 reviews
"actual aircraft"
in 2 reviews
"excellent history"
in 2 reviews
"vietnam war"
in 2 reviews
"gift shop"
in 12 reviews
"a bit off the beaten path"
in 2 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 4 reviews
"my husband"
in 14 reviews
"interesting artifacts"
in 2 reviews
"wealth of knowledge"
in 2 reviews
"own pace"
in 4 reviews
"two hours"
in 4 reviews
"rainy day"
in 4 reviews
Filter

148 - 152 of 171 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

It's not the Air and Space Museum, but it is worth the time for air buffs like my son and me.

1  Thank mjmcg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN_Museum, Public Relations Manager at Tennessee Museum of Aviation, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

The Tennessee Museum of Aviation is indeed small compared to the Smithsonian Institution's National Air and Space Museum, which has the largest collection of historic air and spacecraft in the world. However, we're very proud of the collection in our facility and our FLYING WARBIRDS. Often enough, our museum is compared to the larger government financed facilities ... but, for an independently operated 501(c)(3) ... we're topnotch.
The museum tries to add and change exhibits regularly. Hopefully, you and your son will have an opportunity to make a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

went here may 17 in an attempt to find an alternative to the mind numbing drivel on the strip.
All i can say is AWESOME. I have been to Pima/davis-monthan, dayton, and others and in terms of scale and numbers of aircraft this is smaller, but in terms of quality this museum shines. many of their planes are airworthy and flown on a regular basis. The day i was there two of them were being flown for some aerial photography. We were allowed on the ramp during startup and taxi and i got some awesome pics. I did not find the admission price to be cost prohibitive and i would wholehartedly recommend that anyone interested in aviation attend. Dont miss the albatross!!!!

1  Thank ramduallydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN_Museum, Public Relations Manager at Tennessee Museum of Aviation, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Thank you for your compliments. One of the better experiences at the Tennessee Museum of Aviation – the FLYING WARBIRDS. We do have several airworthy aircraft. When visitors hear one of those big engines fire up … it’s definitely a memory to take home. Often enough, our museum is compared to the larger government financed facilities, and hearing you think we “shine” is a huge compliment. We hope you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Our spouses were in the USA Air Force and Army. They really enjoyed it. The little boys in our family had a blast. Would go again.

1  Thank mrschaplaincoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN_Museum, Public Relations Manager at Tennessee Museum of Aviation, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Thank you for your comments. Military families always enjoy visiting the Tennessee Museum of Aviation … “big boys” and “little boys” too. Parents that take the opportunity to pass along stories from their past, and connect it to our exhibits makes the experience must more memorable for their children. We hope you return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2012

As a retired Air Force aircraft mechanic, I can really appreciate the time spent keeping these aircraft looking as nice as they do. Keeping them in flying condition is even more amazing. Unusual variety of aircraft and displays makes this one of the better museums that I've been to, and I've been to a lot. Worth a visit to anyone in the area, even if you aren't really into aircraft. There are lots of history displays to take in.

1  Thank neongary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN_Museum, Public Relations Manager at Tennessee Museum of Aviation, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Thank you for your compliments. The Tennessee Museum of Aviation puts forth an effort to show visitors a memorable experience, not only with the aircraft, but in our exhibit gallery as well. Our goal is for our visitors to walk away with a better understanding and appreciation of aviation and military history. We hope you return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tennessee Museum of Aviation also viewed

 

Been to Tennessee Museum of Aviation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing