We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls weekend!”
Review of Eagle Springs Winery - CLOSED

Eagle Springs Winery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us just off of Exit 407, the gateway to the Great Smoky Mountains! Eagle Springs Winery is proud to offer honey wines along with its limited selection of dry and semi-sweet wines. Free tastings are offered daily and the intimate winemaking area is also open for public viewing. Whether you are looking for some local fudge, honey, gift items, or wine to take home, we are the stop for you! Come visit us.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Girls weekend!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

This was our last stop on the wine trail. By far our best tasting experience! The most friendly folks! We loved the wine too!

Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    38
    13
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barbourville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Girls Trip!!!!!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

THis was our first stop on the wine trail but my 2nd time I enjoyed the wine trail. It is my favortite out of all 5 stops. The wine tasting is so much fun at Eagal springs. Kasey was so helpful and fun!!!! I will definnatly be back. If going ask for Kasey!!!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Renia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati, ohio
Level Contributor
224 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Just Like Everybody Else”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Trust me, I'm not going to be the first one to break ESW's perfect rating of excellence on Tripadvisor because, indeed, it was a most enjoyable experience and worthy of 5's across the board - keeping in mind that wine is like fish - some measure up and can be kept while others come up short and need to be thrown back.
ESW wines are unique in that they are vinted with honey as a flavoring. This tends to make them on the sweet side, considerably sweeter than a dry wine drinker may enjoy. They also tend to use more Muscadine grapes, a grape that tends to make sweeter wines, primarily because this variety grows exceptionally well in the altitudes of the Appalachians hereabout, so you tend to find more muscadine based wines because of a plentiful supply of grapes.
Since my taste tends to sweeter wine(Niagara, Catawba, and Concord), my preferences here were the: Blushing Eagle, a blend of red and white Muscadine; Nectar, a very sweet wine infused with honey and mango; and, Pride of the South, a honey infused Muscadine.
Just remember, likes are an opinion and opinions are like noses, everybody's got one - so, try them all and then decide what your personal taste enjoys.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank bassbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A stop along the wine trail”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Eagle Springs Winery was our last stop on the Rocky Top Wine Trail. It's a beautiful setting and like the others on the trail, we very much enjoyed our wine-tasting. Eric, our host, did an awesome job pairing our wines with chocolate and honey and showing how they enhance the flavor of the wines. We'll be back in the fall and will make Eagle Springs our first stop on the much loved wine trail. Thanks Eric !!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erwin, tenn
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a must stop on the tour”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

one of my fave on the rocky top wine tour. JD and Kacy were very knowledgabe and helpful. will definatly be going back. love the honey flavor that they have added.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kimmie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eagle Springs Winery also viewed

Sevierville, Sevier County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing