We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice hotel for a family of small children” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Resort at Governor's Crossing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Resort at Governor's Crossing
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Sevierville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A very nice hotel for a family of small children”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I chose this resort because of the size of the waterpark. However after arriving, I discovered the pool is basically 3 to 4 feet deep. It is hard to get a powerful swim in that depth of water unless you are a small child. The slides came into 3 foot of water, so any adult of size may would hit the bottom of the pool. The infinity system worked but the water being four foot still made it hard to swim. The pool wasn't cleaned on Sunday and the lazy river was nasty. The towels were completely gone, and the young lady we asked about towels never gave us any. This is a condo resort, so very limited cleaning by maid service. We ended up with three days of dirty towels in our bathroom. On the good side, it has a great way to arrive outside of the traffic the back way. It is great pools and playground for small children maybe under 10. If you don't have children, I would suggest you find a more "adult" resort for a bit of pampering. The ladies running the desk were very friendly, so the stay wasn't bad. It just wasn't what I expected. I did enjoy walking to the Applebee's next door.

Room Tip: The room I had faced the road, so it was a nice mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ozzyfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THeResort, Guest Relations Manager at Resort at Governor's Crossing, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write a review regarding your recent stay at The Resort at Governors Crossing. We are very happy to hear that our location was convenient for you and our Guest Service staff was friendly and welcoming during your visit. Our indoor and outdoor water parks are designed to offer something for every member of the family from the small kids slide to the relaxing dry sauna. Because of our close proximity to many area restaurants the choice between cooking in your fully equipped kitchen here at The Resort and trying one of our many local restaurants is an easy one to make. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    250
    92
    66
    66
See reviews for
759
91
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here 9/6-9/8. We got in around 11pm & there were a few people checking in & the staff was very busy. We found out that our reservations were supposed to be for Nov (which was a mistake by the person who made our reservations b/c we were there for a weekend retreat). The staff was very helpful and courteous in resolving this small issue. They found us a room, even though it was Car Show weekend, and the price was not that much higher. While we were checking in, there was another person who was very rude and upset w/ the staff over an issue that I couldn't understand. The whole time the staff were professional and tried every way to help. I wish I could remember the staff's names, but I will say they were great. Even remembering our names every time they saw us & asking if all was good.
The room was really good. We loved having the washer/dryer in the room & there was enough space for us. Beds were good & comfy. Bathroom was big enough & we could not hear the outside from inside our room (just small running feet above us).
We especially enjoyed the location. There are times when you really don't want to stay in the middle of Pigeon Forge, especially on Car Show weekend. The Resort is situated close to the main outlet stores, just on the edge of Sevierville. There is enough activities at the Resort & around the Resort to fill a Saturday. If you want to venture into Pigeon Forge, just take Veteran's Blvd to bypass all of the red lights in Pigeon Forge. Plus it's easier access to Dollywood.
In all we were very pleased with our stay & would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rates change w/ season and events so find out before you make reservations.
See more room tips
Green Features: The Resort does many things to go green. The Resort has a listing of all they do to achieve this.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THeResort, Guest Relations Manager at Resort at Governor's Crossing, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us here at The Resort. Our central location is just one of our many positive attributes that guests love when staying with us. One of our top priorities is 100% guest satisfaction, so I am very happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable. We are so happy that we were able to get you into a comfortable room quickly even though your original reservation had been set for months away. We hope that you will be back in the area again very soon to visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

spent weekend of September 6 thru September 8 at The Resort, and once again had an excellent stay. The property is very clean and the staff are courteous, I was really impressed with the patience of one of the staff members, Jennifer, who was being told off by a customer, I never heard her raise her voice, or see her get angry. She handled herself very professionally. Also Herbie was very helpful in assisting with a future stay at one of the properties in The Rewards program. He was very detailed and went over everything with me and my husband. Plus we had interesting conversation, We look forward to many more stays.

Room Tip: my main advice is to be patient and understand the staff of the hotel are trying their hardest to ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ivygirlevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THeResort, Manager at Resort at Governor's Crossing, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for kind words about your recent experience at The Resort at Governors Crossing. We are very happy to hear that you chose to stay with us again this year and had an excellent time. Our guest service staff takes great pride in offering legendary customer service to every guest that we come into contact with and I know that Jennifer and Herbie will be so thrilled to hear your wonderful comments about them. As you are aware the Rewards Program allows you to earn extra rewards for staying with us. We hope to become your home away from home on future visits to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our recent stay at the Resort at Governor's Crossing was, well, pretty much perfect. I can't find anything negative to say about this place. I'll preface the review by saying we stayed during the week, which is likely a lot less crowded, but this place is still tough to beat. I got a great "negotiated" rate and we had a king studio room complete with a full kitchen and washer / dryer unit. The room was clean and well-maintained. It was also quiet, even with folks with small children next door. The staff was very friendly at each encounter. For families with kids, the pool / water-park area and the play-ground area are exceptional. There's both an indoor and outdoor multi-pool area. Multiple water slides are really fun! I've not found a hotel, even in Florida, with pool facilities like this resort. All of the activities in Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg are right at your door. There are plenty of places to eat, and a Super Walmart grocery store just a few blocks away. For us, we found this facility in a perfect location, with an unbeatable set of amenities. I don't think you can go wrong staying here. I'm pretty picky, and I would most definitely return, and recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ifindsnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THeResort, Guest Relations Manager at Resort at Governor's Crossing, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of The Resort at Governor’s Crossing. We are thrilled to hear that your stay was perfect! We find that when school is back in session the week days are less crowded. We are glad that your king studio condo was clean and well-maintained. Our staff truly has a heart of service and enjoys meeting our new and return guests so that we are able to personalize your stay. The indoor and outdoor water park are a big hit with families since there are so many things to do and it looks like you all got to use all of our activities while you were here. Again, we are so glad that you were able to enjoy your stay with us. Thank you so much for your recommendation and we look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay! We had a king suite and I have no complaints whatsoever. We have 3 children under 5 and they loved the indoor and outdoor pools. The pool areas were clean and tidy. I liked the location. It is close to the parkway, but feels private. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Every time I encountered a member of the staff, they went out of their way to ask if we needed anything and to make sure we were having a great time. The full size kitchen was very sufficient, and the in-room washer and dryer came in very handy! There was even a small dishwasher. There were 2 TVs and DVD players, although one DVD player was not working. That was not a big deal to us. The room was very spacious. Our 2 four year olds slept on the pull-out couch and they had no complaints, but I feel as though it would have been a little less comfy for adults being that the mattress looked a little thin (it is a pull out couch after all). The king size bed was very nice. The location seemed very secure (you needed a room key just to get in the outside door). Once again, no complaints! I was very impressed and will stay here next time!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erinjordan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THeResort, Guest Relations Manager at Resort at Governor's Crossing, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at The Resort at Governor’s Crossing. We strive to make sure that our accommodations are exactly what our guests need. We are so happy that the spacious king suite condo was a good fit for you and your 3 children, and that the children loved the indoor and outdoor water park. Our staff looks forward to meeting and greeting our guests so that we are able to get to know them and personalize their stay. We are glad to hear that our staff went out of their way to ask if there was anything you needed. We do try to think of everything to make the stay as convenient as possible and pleased that the washer/dryer and dishwasher were handy. Thanks for letting us know about DVD player, we will surely look into this. We look forward to your next visit to The Resort at Governor’s Crossing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We took our grandchildren ages 12 and 8 to stay at the resort for a nice holiday weekend getaway. We had a 1 bedroom condo with a fireplace.We stayed in a 1 bedroom condo without a fireplace in May. We now prefer the kitchen in the condo with the fireplace. It is a separate room and not a walk thru. We would suggest paying a little more to get a room with a fireplace and jetted tub in bathroom.The bathroom is a nice size with the sink inside of the bathroom. You have more privacy this way and you aren't cramped in a tiny bathroom. Our room was very clean and spacious. Our grandchildren loved the in indoor slides. They had a blast. We can't wait to return for another stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nananancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THeResort, Guest Relations Manager at Resort at Governor's Crossing, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay at The Resort at Governors Crossing. We are so happy to hear that you chose to spend your holiday weekend with us. Our large condos with washer and dryers and indoor and outdoor water park offer great amenities for everyone in the family. I hope that you were able to relax in your clean room with jetted tub while your grandchildren enjoyed racing down the indoor slides. Christmas time in the Smoky Mountains is absolutely beautiful. We hope to see you again very soon here at The Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtice
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The room smelled terrible and was very dirty. The beds were very uncomfortable and didn't even have blankets on them or in the room. The room was very outdated and the furniture was beat up so badly. That part I could even deal with - it was the pool/lazy river that got me. FILTHY. The water was so dirty. There was so much crap floating in it that I wouldn't even get in. The water was cloudy and the chairs around the pool were disgusting and most of them were broken. I cringed every time my nine year old went in the water. The indoor park was no better. I would never stay here again. Ever.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THeResort, Guest Relations Manager at Resort at Governor's Crossing, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us here at The Resort. One of our top priorities is 100% guest satisfaction, so it is very disappointing to hear that your stay was anything less than perfect. Our spacious condos with fully equipped kitchens are usually a big hit with families as they can save money by not eating out as frequently. Our large indoor and outdoor water parks also offer hours of fun that is included in your room rate. I would like to personally apologize for the lazy river having some debris in it during your stay. You can rest assured that it is cleaned daily but with the windy days we have been having lately it is an ongoing process to keep it clean. We would love to speak with you in more detail regarding your stay and hope to have another opportunity to serve your lodging needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sevierville
6.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Willow River
Clarion Inn Willow River
#4 of 20 in Sevierville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pigeon Forge - Sevierville
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Sevierville
Hampton Inn Sevierville
#2 of 20 in Sevierville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Apple Valley
Comfort Inn Apple Valley
#3 of 20 in Sevierville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
2.5 mi away
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
#6 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#3 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at Governor's Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Governor's Crossing

Property: Resort at Governor's Crossing
Address: 225 Collier Dr, Sevierville, TN 37862-6911
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Sevierville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sevierville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sevierville
#8 Family Hotel in Sevierville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resort at Governor's Crossing 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort at Governor's Crossing offers 165 units for the perfect vacation. Our guest units can sleep from 2 to 14 and are equipped with full kitchens, baths with jetted tubs, modern decor and DVD players. The whole family will enjoy our year round climate controlled indoor water park and our seasonal outdoor water park with 5 pools, two hot tubs, high speed water slides, sauna, and a 250 foot lazy river. Be it a family vacation, weekend getaway, or a business trip you can rest assured that you have made the right choice when selecting to stay at The Resort at Governor's Crossing when looking for accommodations in the Smokies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Resort at Governor's Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Governor`s Crossing Hotel Sevierville
The Resort At Governors Crossing
Governors Crossing Resort
Governor's Crossing
Resort Governors Crossing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing