We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful and Serene”
other travelers have booked this property
Spence Cove River Farmhouse Eastward View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spence Cove River Farmhouse Eastward View
View from Porch Swing Front Porch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Spence Cove River Farmhouse Eastward View
View from Porch Swing
Front Porch
Farmhouse hiding behind the brilliant Sugar Maple
Spence Cove River Farmhouse
House View from Up River
River View from Side Porch
Riverbank, Looking Down River
River with Picket
Looking Up River from Private River Bank
View from Up River (from the river)
Front Porch View at Sunset End
Westward View of Farmhouse and River
Smallmouth Bass
Rainbow Trout
Living Room
Sitting Area (part of great room that includes kitchen and dining areas)
Kitchen (All modern appliances)
Dining Area
Master Bedroom-Queen
Master Front Windows
2nd Floor River View (Master and Front Guest Rooms)
Master Bedroom Mountain View (above double vanity)
Jacuzzi Tub in Master Suite
River View from Jacuzzi
Mountain View from Jacuzzi
Front Guest Bedroom (double bed, 2nd Floor)
Front Guest Room Windows overlooking River
Twin Room Mountain View
Main Floor Bedroom (double)
Twins
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Sevierville, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Faye O
Pembroke, Georgia
1 review
“Peaceful and Serene”
Reviewed October 3, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at Spence Cove Farmhouse while attending the National Quartet Convention in Piegon Forge. The farmhouse was recommended to us by friends who had visited earlier this year. We could not have been more pleased. Diana was great, very helpful, even offered to escort us back and to because of the parking congestion. It was so peaceful and quiet. The sound of the river at night and while sitting on the wrap around porch was wonderful. We cannot wait to go back next year. Thanks Diana! We'll see you soon.

Faye Owens

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2014
Thank you for a great review. We are glad the good folks from your area are finding out about the Farmhouse. Thank you for passing it on. Looking forward to seeing you again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne E
Sugar Land
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful Haven”
Reviewed September 23, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Diana Spence is a great host and made sure we had a warm welcome. She was available to help with anything we might need. My Mom, brother and I wanted a quiet getaway from the hectic rush of our jobs. We found Spence Cove River Farmhouse a peaceful haven. The house is located on a small road where only local residents live. The river is just feet from the front of the house. It provides privacy and a quiet refuge but within 15 minutes we could be back on the main streets to choose between restaurants and entertainment. We chose fishing on the river in front of the house, scenic drives, good southern cooking, some home cooking and family time.

The house is large with 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms and everything you need for a great stay. There were 3 fishing rods provided along with some tackle. We bought some live bait and had a great time fishing. My favorite place other than the river was to sit on the front porch swing, drink coffee and listen to the river. At night, you could go to sleep to the cadence of the sound of the river and river frogs if you opened your window. We cooked at least 1 meal a day and the kitchen had everything we needed. We bought some locally made blackberry and blueberry wine and Italian pesto cheese at the Hillside winery and enjoyed that in the evenings.

There were a lot of thoughtful extras - blankets in the living room to curl up with, board games in the closet, an electric fire place with a heating option - all added up to a cozy and delightful stay. We are planning to come back. Thank you Diana for sharing your farmhouse with us! Yvonne, Betty and David

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Closeness to the river and the porch swing
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are so happy to know the Farmhouse was the right fit for your vacation. That River sure has a way of making the world go away!
You all are welcome back, anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth H
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Peaceful comfort”
Reviewed September 5, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely farmhouse updated to be very comfortable (central air conditioning that worked perfectly, full kitchen, hardwood floors) with a huge wrap around porch to sit and relax and just watch the river and enjoy the peace and quiet. Not your typical surrounded by a hundred other rentals. Other than locals on the same back road you are alone on the property. A convenient 10 minute drive to most hot spots in Pigeon Forge. Diana was a great hostess and willing to help in any way needed to make our stay great. The river is crystal clear and just a short walk up the street provides for a nice lazy river tubing experience with water shallow enough for almost any child. Bring your own tubes though.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, secluded property by the river
Liked least: Mosquitoes
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2014
Thank you for the review! We are so glad you were able to enjoy the river and porch. The house was built new with modern comforts in 1997, but designed to look like an "old traditional Farmhouse".

It was great to meet you. Please know that you are welcome at Spence Cove for future Smoky Mountain vacations!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxannnet...
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Diana met us at the house and discussed and discussed questions we had concerning our stay. She was extremely helpful. She provided us with a travel guide that was full of tips and shortcuts that the local use. The house was immaculate. It had basically everything you needed for your stay. If there were items that were lacking Diana had included them on her suggestion list of what to bring before you arrive. The house had 3 bedrooms upstairs and 1 downstairs. The largest room was upstairs that include a Jacuzzi. The only suggestion I would recommend would be bring your own pillow and maybe something to add for cushioning on the beds. The beds were not very comfortable. However, everything else was wonderful. The front porch was a great place to sit and enjoy your morning coffee. Several times I could hear the train whistle from Dollywood blowing during the day. Also, while we were there we enjoyed several trips down the creek on tubes. My 11 year old niece and 6 year old grandson spent a lot of time playing in the swimming hole in front of the house. My parents absolutely loved the house and have already requested we return next year. This was a great place for everyone. And ladies, we were close to shopping. I used the shortcut provided and were at the outlet in 15 mins. Before we left Diana appeared with some fresh picked blackberries and we made a cobbler for our evening dessert. :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large front porch and location
Liked least: The beds could use a pad to make them a little more comfortable.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2014
Thank you for such a thorough and glowing review!
We also appreciate the clarification (private communication) on the bed issue (upon first reading it appeared there was an issue with all the mattresses!). We have ordered a replacement for that one mattress we discussed and have also purchased higher quality pillows for those that were lacking.

It will be a pleasure to have your family return to Spence Cove; and, hope you'll find time to catch some fish!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BamaDad00...
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We enjoyed the big yard space.”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
3
people found this review helpful

The space available for our use was excellent. We enjoyed the big yard. It was great for the grandchildren and the pets. Most of the family enjoyed hiking up the mountain behind the house. The house itself was very spacious, and had everything we needed for our seven day stay.

The only negative we had was that the mattresses on the three bigger beds leaned into the middle of each bed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Size of the house was excellent for 6 Adults, two kids, and two pets.
Liked least: The three bigger beds.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure having your family stay at the Farmhouse. We're glad you took the hike up the mountain as well as enjoying the campfire on the river. You are indeed a hearty folk to brave the cold!

Thank you also for bringing our attention to the mattress situation. We will address that as soon as possible. Guest feedback is vital to our being able to provide a comfortable home away from home for you.

We hope you'll come back and experience the splendor of Spence Cove in warmer weather when the kids (and grown up kids) can enjoy the river more. You are welcome, anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toni b
Taylor Mill, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for family time..”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I really enjoyed my stay the farmhouse has a wonderful location if you love to fish and sit by a campfire .This is the place to enjoy family and friends. The cable tv doesn't have much to offer, you are in the mountains. We are the outdoors type so.We loved the place but the water system makes noise at night and the water seems a bit stinky in the A.M. but when you are at such a peaceful place with such a pretty view from the front porch you can overlook the small things. Diana is great she helped make our trip wonderful. She has a guide to town and directions for short cuts.I really enjoyed the fishing the relaxing and I will be down in late May.I loved the farmhouse and the river running over the rocks sounds so nice from the front porch swing. I asked Everyone, what they thought about the Spence Cove Farmhouse and All of them said loved it ..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to watch the river from front porch and being one with nature.
Liked least: The water in the hills smells funny. There is a filter machine .
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of your stay at Spence Cove. We are so glad that you were able to enjoy the porch, the river, the fishing, and that our special "back roads" lists were helpful.

Thank you also for bringing our attention to the water system issue; the sulfur filter system was malfunctioning. We apologize for that nuisance. As soon as you informed us, we addressed it immediately. We are grateful for such a reliable and safe purification system with the ultraviolet lamp.

Thank you for choosing to gather at the Farmhouse and we look forward to welcoming you back in May!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie B
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Just returned from a wonderful stay at the Spence Cover River Farmhouse. We had two young kids and it was perfect for them. It has such a beautiful setting right on the river with a wrap around porch complete with swing. So relaxing! The owner has so many extras in the house that you don't see in other rentals and the communication before the trip could not have been better. And talk about clean? I wish my house was this clean!!! She has really thought of almost everything! I hope our family can return to Spence Cover River Farmhouse every year!!! Thanks so much Diana!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful setting on the river, cleanliness, and the amenities supplied.
Liked least: Mosquitoes down by the river, but she warned us in advance to bring bug spray.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to do a review and thank you for choosing to gather at the Farmhouse! It was great to meet you and your wonderful family (good looking grandkids by the way!).

We are always searching for more ways to make Spence Cove extra special. Thank you for noticing and pointing that out to those who have yet to have the pleasure!

We look forward to your next vacation Up on the River!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing