We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time, go camping instead!”

Wilderness at the Smokies
Ranked #19 of 85 things to do in Sevierville
Attraction details
Kingston, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't waste your time, go camping instead!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

For the outrageous price you pay you would expect the food to be good ad the service excellent. You would be wrong. The food is terrible and the teenagers they use for service personnel are rude and belligerent. The crowds are unbearable. This is Chucky CheeseII. I hated it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    110
    69
    26
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Indoor Water Park in TN”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

water parks are free to registered hotel guests and may only be used by them. indoor park is 84 degrees, open year round and lots of fun. very exciting!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rhondakt49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good for two day trip”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We planned a family vacation to Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge and opted to do the water park the first two days of the trip. There's plenty to do for all ages - we had a 2, 4, 7,and 9 year old and all were kept entertained. The two large waterslides were a blast and had a height limit of 48". The little ones had small pools and slides to keep them entertained as well. We didn't eat at the restaurant. We opted to get a suite with a kitchen and bring food in and dine out. The park includes life jackets for all ages and limits the towels at the water park. It can be overwhelming at first because there's a lot to do, a lot of people, and the hotel itself is rather large. I'd recommend you request a room close to the water park. Otherwise, you could be looking at a 10 minute walk back and forth to your room. After two days, we all had enough and were ready to move on.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kasil74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pell City, Alabama
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun for kids but way overpriced, horrible food, too loud to sleep!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

First of all, the line was wrapped around and out the door to check in and took forever. Then, you're given not just key cards to your room but cards for each and everything you do even a towel exchange card. With 3 children, it's impossible to keep up with 15+ cards. Why not add everything to room card? Not only is the food incredibly expensive, it is HORRIBLE! Pay a fortune to stay at The Wilderness but have to drive into Gatlinburg for good food. Sleep, what sleep? That didn't happen. You can hear every single step, stomp, running, banging, screaming, etc ALL NIGHT!!! Overall, slides were fun for the kids but may have been our first and last trip to The Wilderness.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nonna1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“fun place indoor water park”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My 7 year old and I went here last week. The indoor water park was so much fun. Slides, wave pool, hot tub / sauna, surf ride were all so much fun. The outdoor water park was not open yet (still March) but we have been to it before too and it's alot of fun also. Perhaps due to spring break it was very crowded, but we still had a good time. The arcade and rope course inside (adventure forest) is fun for the kids too.

The only bad thing is how EXPENSIVE everything is. But most resort places are. It's the typical $7 for nachos and $5 for shaved ice kind of thing. Best deal for the adventure forest is to buy the all in one package because it was REALLY expensive too to do inidividual pricing. I guess when you are on vacation though, you expect to spend alot of money.

All staff were friendly and helpful. gift stores and lots of food choices.

Definitely will go back sometime.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank carebear0173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilderness at the Smokies also viewed

Sevierville, Sevier County
 
Sevierville, Sevier County
Sevierville, Sevier County
 

Been to Wilderness at the Smokies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing