We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opted out on this last 2 times at Pigeon Forge, Got a deal this time, decided to stay 1 night”

Wilderness at the Smokies
Ranked #19 of 86 things to do in Sevierville
Attraction details
Cumberland, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Opted out on this last 2 times at Pigeon Forge, Got a deal this time, decided to stay 1 night”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

From the reviews- just didn't think we would enjoy our stay for the price. However, this is one thing our son had been wanting to do is go to a water park. We got a really good deal on the room and so we thought we can do this for one night. I am going to review on several different levels

Time Share Presentation- Not to much pressure to do it but it is an obligatory few minute talk that you receive at check in time. We were able to turn it down nicely but firmly and no back lash.

Room- great- reviews had listed rooms as small- they are but still very nice to relax in
Food- Children eat free- We thought that they had a breakfast buffet but in Sept it is only on the weekend. Ordered from the meal. Plenty to eat on the plate, price for 2 eggs, meat, potatoes and toast was around $8 plus drink.

Shops- Pricey very pricey but you don't have to buy something if you don't like the price.

Adventure Forest- extra price for arcade, climbing and other activities but you don't have to do them if you don't want to. So it 's all in how much you are willing to spend. We didn't miss it

Water Park - only the inside was open due to the time of year but we had a blast. Plenty of life guards and helpful staff. To us it was well worth it all.

In the end, we were glad that we chose to go there. With a note - we still would not pay the normal room price - with a special rate- it's all good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobErickKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    111
    69
    26
    24
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Mississippi
2 reviews
“Wilderness in the Smokies”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We took a "girls trip" to the Wilderness in the Smokies in September 2013. It was such a wonderful place to stay. We had everything imaginable to do right at the resort. The facilities had an awesome golf course, waterpark, goofy golf and also had restaurant and gift shops. Easy access to Pigeon Forge, Gatlinburg and the Smoky Mountains. Rooms were beautiful and extremely clean. Employees were friendly and professional. Would highly recommend. This facility is a Wyndham Resort and I would recommend purchasing a time share to Wyndham.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“So much fun!!!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We took our family to Wilderness for the second time in December 2012. So much fun, yet again! We have a 4 year-old and a 2 year-old and they LOVED both the small kid area and the bigger kid area. The only issue was that the kid slide in the area adjacent to the surf rider got a little dark for them. We stayed in the river lodge so that we didn't have to pack to go back and forth. Wen we checked in we simply asked to be as close to the water park as possible and our wish was granted to the tune of being 3 doors down from the indoor water park.

I highly recommend this for one or two nights, but more than that could get to be a little much. And bring your own fod and drinks as it can get VERY expensive to eat on site.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BeckyD423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nunnelly, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bev's view of The Wilderness”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband had training for his job in Knoxville and a friend recommended that we stay @ the Wilderness. We stayed @ the Stone Hill Lodge. We loved it. We loved the rustic feel of the lodge & our room. We also enjoyed the spacious room we had. The water parks also carried out the rustic feeling and being kid friendly was wondeful. It was great to have a shuttle between the 2 lodges. We hope to bring our whole family back for a vacation soon. Beverly Smith

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice, indoor water park”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This water park is relatively small, but has all the typical rides.
Most of the park is indoors, but a few rides are outdoors.

The tallest water slide has a loop. This is the first time I've seen one like that. But often people don't gather enough speed to clear the loop and they have to exit through a hatch in the lower part, which requires them to stop the queue. I guess that's why they're not that popular.

For the big slides with rafts, the actual slide is outside, but the entrance and exit are inside the building. Pretty clever.

The kids (teenagers) had a lot of fun. There are other non-water activities in the building (climbing, bowling, arcade, etc.) but we didn't try those.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheKnightWhoSaysNi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilderness at the Smokies also viewed

Sevierville, Sevier County
Sevierville, Sevier County
 
Sevierville, Sevier County
 

Been to Wilderness at the Smokies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing