We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Wilderness at the Smokies
Ranked #19 of 85 things to do in Sevierville
Attraction details
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Long lines, limited rides - rude staff - dirty pools and spas -

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jayson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    110
    69
    26
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gordo, Alabama
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Need some pillows”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed a whole week here, should have stayed 2 or 3 days the room rates are not to bad if remember that you have a room and a water park all in one. But with that being said the food options are $$$, Your pillows you could fold a few times. indoor water park does not have enough room to chairs. If you are going to stay a week I would stay here a few days enjoy all that they had to offer then move on to a cheaper hotel because here along with the room cost is a resort cost and taxes which is daily.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineLambertGay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Indiana
Level Contributor
249 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Room are great. The only drawback is that you have to pay a 18% tip for a party of 7 even if the service is bad. I tried to complain but was told that the computer does it automatically and it can't be adjusted. The waterparks are great.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jerry6004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Water park was ok”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Nothing over the top or big about their waterpark.. We were expecting something more like what we have where we live and was gravely disappointed.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Go for the waterpark. Stay somewhere else.”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Pros = A lot to do, free tickets to Ripley's Aquarium
Cons = Too big, overpriced, not the cleanest, cold water

This resort is HUGE! We stayed in the Stone Hill Lodge which is not within walking distance of the indoor water park. We had to take a shuttle bus to the main building, but by the time we boarded there were no more seats left and we had to hold on to our 4, 3, and 2 year olds for dear life!

It was hard to find our way through the Lodge. The room numbers are confusing. Our room started with a 2, but we had to go up to the 3rd floor?!? There is an outdoor water park connected to this part of the resort. It would've been fun had the water not been freezing cold even on a hot day. Our kids seemed to enjoy it even though they shivered the entire time!

Our room was not the cleanest. There was hair in the bathtub, crumbs on the floor, and stickers on the couch. The lighting was poor.

Since we only stayed one night, and had to leave early the next morning, we didn't have time to take advantage of all the resort has to offer. Outdoor parks close on 8:00. Indoor park closes at 10:00.

If you love waterparks, indoor and out, consider the Wisconsin Dells if that's all you are going for.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mommy0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilderness at the Smokies also viewed

Sevierville, Sevier County
 
Sevierville, Sevier County
Sevierville, Sevier County
 

Been to Wilderness at the Smokies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing