We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort with a waterpark that is an attraction in itself”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 10, 2010

This resort has two parts -- the Wilderness Resort which is a hotel and the Wyndham timeshare part which I think as of right now is only building 6. That building sits alongside the outdoor pool/waterpark with the river on the other side.

This is the best Wyndham Club resort that I've stayed in so far -- better than Bonnet Creek in my opinion which is their flagship.

GOOD
-- The building and units are practically brand new. They're modern and have all the amenities you need.
-- The water park is fantastic. The indoor part has four main waterslides, two kids play areas, a wave pool and a surfing machine.
-- The indoor park includes my all-time favorite water ride ever -- Storm Chaser. Don't read about it, just experience it.
-- There's a big outdoor pool with a long lazy river and a small wave pool. There are outdoor cabanas.
-- The water parks are free if you stay there. The outdoor pool closes at 8pm (summer) and the indoor park closes at 10pm.
-- Next to the outdoor pool is a mini golf course that is open at night.
-- The buildings on the hill have another outdoor water park with a free shuttle.
-- There are two grocery stores nearby -- Kroger and Food Lion.
-- Lots of fast food restaurants are also near.
-- Frozen drinks: Sno cones at the outdoor pool, Slush Puppies at the indoor store.
-- Free wifi and free parking!
-- Check in was fast and the front desk people were incredibly friendly. There was never a line.
-- The people in this resort were so friendly. The maintenance man in our building was constantly looking out for guests. The housekeeping people had smiles on their faces and jumped to help when needed. We can't say enough about how exceptional the people are at this resort.

BAD
-- It's far from Gatlinburg and most of the tourist attractions. It took about 30 minutes to get to Dollywood and about 45 minutes to Gatlinburg. You can take the Gatlinburg bypass to get to the mountains faster.
-- There's no real view. You can see the outline of mountains in the distance.
-- The resort has one store and it's for hotel guests, not timeshare people who want to cook. For example, we ran out of butter and couldn't get any. So plan in advance.
-- Food and service at Thirsty Miner were not good. You're better off driving 5 minutes to eat better and cheaper food.
-- The lines at the water park can get long.

UGLY
-- There's very little ventilation in the indoor water park. That is surprising because it's the middle of the hot summer. It gets sauna hot in there. But worse, the smell of chemicals and chlorine is overpowering. We had to take our kids outside several times because we felt dizzy. Then we all has slight nausea for the next 24-36 hours. I noticed that another reviewer posted something similar. It's really a dangerous situation that they should review. They should open doors or windows in the summer. And in the winter they should pump in fresh air. This is not a safe situation for an otherwise fantastic park and resort.

TIPS
-- Get there early when you check in. Even if your room is not available you can use the water park all day.
-- Take the back roads. There are a lot of them. If you have a nav system, you might want to look at alternate routes. The main roads get jammed.
-- Go to the water park first thing in the morning. There are no lines then and you can ride the "tube" rides over and over as many times as you can run up the stairs. The line later in the day is about 30 minutes for Stormchaser.
-- The Canyon ride and Stormchaser are on the same stairs but the line for Canyon is always smaller. If you stay to the left you can usually run almost all the way up.
-- Go on the tube rides at night. Stormchaser is a very different experience at night.
-- Be sure to stop at the visitors center to get maps and tips before starting out.
-- The Krystal burger outlet five minutes away is brand new and has lots of options.
-- If you're in building 6 there's a shortcut to the indoor water park. Go to the far end of the building near the water park. Then take the elevator down to the first floor. Walk straight out the door. To the right you'll see a small sidewalk that leads to the golf check in counter next to the pool. If you take a left you're inside the water park. You can do the same in reverse as long as you have your key to get back in. This saves about a ten minute walk.

I highly recommend this resort. If you're not a Wyndham timeshare owner, you're probably paying too much to stay on the other side.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank angmohgao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 386 of 386 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2010

My husband and I drove my three little guys to this resort all the way from Pennsylvania. I was a 10-12 hour treck and we were nervous about the outcome.

We had the best time in this hotel. I have seen reviews about this property and the length of the walk to the waterpark. All I have to say, unless your handicapped (And they will assist you), you cannot complain. Its an INDOOR walk of about 10 minutes. You have a water park ON the property. Really. I had to barely go anywhere unless I wanted to. We did a lot of sight seeing in the mountains, great aquarium, great little towns and unbelievable mountains.

The rooms were amazing, clean and efficient. My boys STILL talk about it. I cannot wait to go back!!

Oh FYI, rest on site....awful. Dont go!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TravelAgentGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We stayed here Spring Break, first week of April this year. We are Wyndham owners, our deed is at Governor's Crossing down the road. Wyndham's building at GS Lodge is Building 6. It's the furthest building from the waterpark but that was a good thing to us.
We were in a 3BR on the end of the 2nd floor, our door opened directly into the pedway to the main building and the waterpark. We noticed on the walk (less than 10 minutes) over to the park, there was a lot of traffic and noise in the halls. We didn't have that problem being so far away.

The unit was fabulous as usual and when we arrived, we called down to ask where the nearest ice machine was. They told us where it was (in the building across the pedway, a 2 minute walk) but immediately brought us two bags of ice! I was amazed!

The waterpark was crowded but the only attraction that the wait was too long for the kids to stand, was the surf board thing, sorry can't remember the name. Hubby and friends decided to go early in the morning and got right on, said it was worth the wait!
The buildings were extremely clean, most of the staff were very friendly. The only problems we had were we believed what we read on this site and tried to pay for extra wristbands for some friends. We were told that under no circumstance did they permit or sell entrance to anyone not staying on property. No big deal, just a little disappointed.
I have to say even then the young man at the desk was very nice about it and I noticed later he was still at desk after what had to be about 9 hours, still smiling and courteous, so we didn't have any of the attitude problems you read about.

The outdoor parks had just opened up that day we arrived,due to high temps but it rained and we didn't get to use them. There was a lazy river and cabanas outside I look forward to using on the next trip, there is a fee for the cabanas.

Parking was not a problem, we came and went throughout the day and always parked near the door, good for us, we had one with a broken leg:) The layout was such that nothing was very far.

Overall, the stay was perfect for us, a group of friends with 7 kids ranging from 5-17, mostly boys who couldn't get enough of the waterpark. The dads had a ball acting like kids and us moms were almost completely ignored, which was GREAT! There were enough things nearby to occupy us while the rest of our party played. There are all the usual shows, shopping, mani/pedi spas, restaurants. We WILL be back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank countrymusicgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Another great vacation! I was waiting to see some reviews before going, but since it was so new, there weren't any. I got home from there today, ran to the computer, and someone already beat me to be the first reviewer.
First, the facts: only part of the resort is Wyndham, with more Wyndham units to come. The rest is a hotel resort, which is physically closer to the water park (it was a hike to get to it from the Wyndham side), and the water park is not owned by Wyndham, which is why you have to pay for the mini golf ($6). This also means that when the park is closed, (only open 10-8), you have no swimming pool. (We tend to be busy during the day, and want to swim early, or late). The food was reasonably priced. There is an outdoor park that opens in warmer weather, and more outside water areas opening in May. It should get better as it matures.
The parking is convenient, the rooms magnificent, the beds comfy, the elevators prompt, and as always, there aren't enough carts to move your luggage. It didn't seem crowded, either in the water park, at check in, in the lobby when you wanted a computer, in the exercise room, or in general. They had a nice gift shop and convenience store in the hotel section.
There were stores nearby to stock up on things, just learn the back roads to avoid the LONG traffic lights.
Lastly: There were so many things to do in the area, and they weren't crowded either. (April 18-23). Visit Dollywood, Walden Creek Stables, Ripley's Aquarium, and Bryson City, NC Great Smoky Mountain Railroad. They all were memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 5inavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

My family and our neighbors, with their children, visited Wyndham's Great Smokies Lodge during the mid-winter school break, February 14 -18, 2010. We had a blast!!! I've never offered an opinion about any of the vacation that I've taken; but I always look at the comments of others on Trip Advisor before I go somewhere. When I looked up this resort there wasn't a lot of information probably because the resort (or at least the Wyndham side of the resort) is fairly new. Wyndham timeshares are connected to the Wilderness Hotel which includes a big indoor water park (you never have to walk outside once you get in your room).

This is just the place if you are looking for a nice family get-away with something for the kids to do all day long!!!. Our party included 6 adults and 8 kids. When you have that many kids traveling with you it's important to keep them occupied and the resort did. We only left the resort twice, venturing into Gatlinburg. The resort has all you need to have an enjoyable vacation. The kids were in the indoor water park everyday . There was also a nice arcade that kept them occupied. As a Wyndahm timeshare owner and hotel guest you automatically have access to the indoor water park without any additional charges. Big towels are provided by the resort so you really don't have to worry about bringing all of your beach towels from home. My recommendation is to go early when the pool opens (9:00 a.m.) and stay for about 2 hours and them go have lunch and come back later in the afternoon. The crowd tends to thin out a bit. Additionally, if you go down to the pool around 7:30 -8:00 p.m. the crowd thins out quite a bit then too. The pool is open until 10:00 p.m. All the kids said that this vacation was the best ever.

The accomodations at the Wyndam Great Smokies Lodge were excellent. Since the resort had just open, not too many months before, everything had that fresh, new look. Been a Wyndham timeshare owner since the late 1990's and I've been to a number of their resorts. This was the best one ever. We had a 4 bedroom presidential suite and a 3 bedroom deluxe room. Everyone in our party was very impressed with the rooms. Presidential suite had a fireplace (not real; but it still added to the "wintery" ambience). Everyone thought it was a nice touch. The colors were a soothing combination of light beiges and medium browns. Lots of nice accessories. Both rooms were spacious and very well appointed. The kitchen in both rooms were large especially the kitchen in the 4 bedroom. The kitchen had all stainless steel appliances with a very modern look. It was fantastic since each family (3 families were vacationing together) took turns cooking the evening meal. Kitchens were all decked out with every thing you needed to cook. All you had to do was go to the grocery store to stock up. We cooked in the room for the enitre vacation so I can't comment at all on the prices and/or quality of food in the restaurant in the hotel.

The Presidential Suite had two master bedrooms with their own baths which included a whirlpool tub and two bedrooms with 2 double beds. The bathrooms were right across the hall from each of these bedrooms. The living room space was large (lots of windows for a very light and "airy" feel) and the dining room space had a huge round table that all eight kids could sit down and eat together. The kitchen area also had a counter space with high stools where others could sit. There was more than enough room for everyone.

As I mentioned earlier, we did go out twice to Ober Gatlinburg trying to catch the snow tubing sessions. Both times we went out we missed the sessions (already full). Suffice it to say that if you want to go snow tubing you have to get to Ober Gatilingburg early and buy your session tickets quickly. We still had a nice time though ice skating. You can ski also, but you need to go early and spend all day if you are going to spend the money to ski. We had a nice outing even though we didn't get to go tubing.

I know that I've probably forgotten something but the main thing that I want to say is that you won't be disappointed if you vacation at this resort. I've already made my reservation to go back for February 2011.

4  Thank Ni4cole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015
Thank Xavier V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briana N, Manager at Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sevierville hotels
4.1 mi away
Resort at Governor's Crossing
2 mi away
Clarion Inn Willow River
Clarion Inn Willow River
#4 of 20 in Sevierville
584 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pigeon Forge - Sevierville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sevierville
Hampton Inn Sevierville
#1 of 20 in Sevierville
624 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Apple Valley
Comfort Inn Apple Valley
#3 of 20 in Sevierville
476 reviews
2.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sevierville Pigeon Forge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge

Address: 1425 Old Knoxville Hwy, Sevierville, TN 37876-1359
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Sevierville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Sevierville
Price Range: $153 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Otel, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Hotel Sevierville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing