We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“August is considered off season and water parks with reduced hours”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
134 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“August is considered off season and water parks with reduced hours”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The rooms at this resort were great, but really we didn't come for the room. It was a bad surprise that the water parks have reduced hours. I even checked the Wilderness website the day before we left and it indicated great hours. The indoor park had long hours, but there were really only a few slides there, and three 16 year olds were shortly tired of them. We did get a chance to use the outdoor park for a few hours. My other major disappointment was the internet. I'm self employed and count on the internet to keep me connected to my business every day- even on vacation. They give you password with you check in, the reality is that the internet is essentially non - existent. I asked the staff and they said things like- "Oh yes, it really doesn't work. On a good day it's about 5% operational." I was told that in the future it would be really great. While that is great news for the guests of the future, it didn't help me at all. I asked if there was anywhere else on the site where the signal is better and was told no, and advised to go to a fast food place with internet. Later I discovered that the Wilderness part of the resort has great, free, fast internet. Why didn't they just tell me that in the beginning? I'd probably come here again in the future but I would have lower expectations for the water parks. If you're not coming for the parks, then go down the road to the other Wyndham Smokies resort. It's less expensive in regard to points and $$. Don't get me wrong, this is a lovely resort, but the amenities fell a little short.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtripper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    83
    18
    13
    7
See reviews for
254
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 3 bedroom presidential and it was perfect.

We brought another couple so we totaled four adults one four year old, one three year old and one one year old.

The room was spacious and well appointed.

It was 20 degrees outside and we went swimming in the indoor watermark. If you got bored there was an amazing indoor adventure land area for kids five years old and up.

Found a quaint restaurant downtown with a nice wine list for one dinner and were really impressed. This will be a place we go back to.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennandadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenup, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had a extended family vacation taking 12 people with us on this trip. We had a 4 bedroom suite at this resort overlooking the golf course. The kids and adults all enjoyed the waterparks / water dome. Very nice place and plan to return next year with all the kids voting YES! It was nice to have transportation between the water fun.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our extended family of 12 (5 adults and 7 kids ranging from 10 to 19) stayed at this property. The condos were clean and with modern decor. The location was perfect. We were about 30-45 minutes from hiking in the national park. About 30 minutes from downtown Gatlinburg, less than 15 from outlet malls and attractions, and 5 minutes from several strip malls that had groceries or other necessities. Easy!

The water park FAR exceeded my expectations for size, cleanliness and variety of things to do. The park included a lazy river, wave pool, several types of high adrenalin sides, ropes courses, miniature golf, bowling, arcades,etc -- plenty to do for all ages. The kids never tired of it, and we didnt' have to drive around and pay for these activities off property. For golfers, the course that sits behind the property is in great shape and the club house shares a parking lot with the property. Very convenient.

This property is really something special for kids, but probably not the ideal atmosphere for a romantic get away.

Room Tip: Golf course views were pretty and had a nice sunset. Pool view was nice but I would avoid that becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I are vip members, and we were treated like someone who just got started with timeshare. We had our timeshare for 14 years. The front desk people wasn't helpful at all. There's no incentives for owners. Only good thing is the water parks, the bad thing is the outside water park open at 12 and close at 6. I wasn't happy with this resort. Guest service sucks.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dongloand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

A fun resort for elementary aged kids! The property is the expected excellence of Wyndham timeshares...clean, spacious and very comfortable units. We simply get spoiled with the quality of the facilities. Staff were exceptionally friendly! There was plenty to keep the grandkids busy - indoor and outdoor water parks...however, having to pay for the arcade was frustrating. If you don't like CROWDS, though, then you might want to pass...everywhere you go in the area is unbelievably crowded/traffic/people, people, people. What my adult kids missed was an actual swimming pool for adults...everything was more water park, shallow - not lap pools, etc. The golf-course view was beautiful...the parking lot view - not so much. Definitely noisy from units above...but we just took a fan with us for white noise. Would do it again with grandkids - but not with adult kids (they got bored after 3 days)

Room Tip: ask for golf-course views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank txstransplantnomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamaroneck, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Seems like a nice idea, but all you can do is visit the waterparks or expensive indoor game park. Nice location , but some problems -no wi- fi or very very slow lobby computers.. Movie rental machine did not work.

Room Tip: ask for upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newman369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sevierville
4.2 mi away
Resort at Governor's Crossing
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pigeon Forge - Sevierville
2.0 mi away
Clarion Inn Willow River
Clarion Inn Willow River
#4 of 20 in Sevierville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#8 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sevierville
Hampton Inn Sevierville
#1 of 20 in Sevierville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Apple Valley
Comfort Inn Apple Valley
#3 of 20 in Sevierville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge

Property: Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge
Address: 1425 Old Knoxville Hwy, Sevierville, TN 37876-1359
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Sevierville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Sevierville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Hotel Sevierville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing