We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I went there with my wife, daughter, son-in-law and 3 children ranging from 3 to 10. We stayed in a 3 bedroom presidential that was great. Everyone had a wonderful time. Two outdoor water parks and an indoor park. Great for all ages. Also an indoor arcade. Although the water parks were free, there was an extra cost for the arcade. If you are looking for additional entertainment, there's cplenty nearby. My grandkids loved bumper boats and go carts a short distance away. We also took a trip to the highest point in Tenn. and saw some bears on the way in the park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atslk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    82
    19
    14
    7
See reviews for
255
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
perry, ny
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We loved this resort! The whole family was together traveling from New York, North Carolina and Ohio. The grandchildren had a blast at the three waterparks! The adults enjoyed them also. The rooms are beautiful. The scenery of the mountains from our 6th floor 2 bedroom condo was spectacular. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sudanfarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chi-town
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We visited the Great Smokies Lodge at the end of July. The check in process was a breeze. There were plenty of front desk staff. The facilities were a joy to use & well kept. The Lodge is not that far from all the area attractions but depending on traffic can still take some time to get to. Overall great vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sol-Clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom presidential suite and it was beautiful. Everything top notch and check in was easy. The only warning id offer is that there are two wyndham resorts in the area and we just google mapp-ed wyndham sevierville and it took us to the wrong one. This one is better. The water park was small but fun. One group of slides were not working when we were there which was sad. There was never a big issue finding inflatable tubes to ride the lazy river in. The rooms were clean and beautiful and we had a great time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avesavei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rineyville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed in a 2 bedroom presidential and it was great. The nicest Wyndham room I've seen or stayed in compared to 5 others. The Wyndham rooms are night and day compared to the Wilderness side and I would never stay on that side again (did last year). The only real problem with the resort is it's proximity to other local attractions. Just about everything is in Pigeon Forge or Gatlinburg and the traffic is horrendous. It was an all day trip just to get to one of the closest trails to see a waterfall. Grocery store is close though and we saved several hundred dollars on a 4 day trip by cooking our own breakfast and lunch. Water Park is not over the top but it is great for kids under 13. As usual no real service from Wyndham to speak of good or bad, although I should note that checkin was the slowest I've experienced. I think most are satisfied to do a pre-checkin and head to the water park where as I would rather not have to wait until 4 in the afternoon to put my things in my room. All in all probably one of the better Wyndham's in the middle of the country.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FABKMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We are finishing our final day of a 10 day stay here. The resort is called "Wilderness at the Smokies" and about a quarter of the total resort looks to be Wyndham condos. The rest is a hotel that shares the resort facilities. We got a 3 bedroom condo, and really enjoyed our time. We've stayed in condos in different locations each of the last four Summers, and this has been our favorite. There were minor glitches, like they had the wrong checkout date for us at first, but generally everything was terrific. The handle on one of the toilets broke, and they were super-responsive, with a maintenance person fixing it within 5 minutes of when we called. We came with 2 adults, 3 teens, and 2 kids, and it was definitely an amazing time for all of us.

It's confusing online what all is here, with how things are named and shown. It also wasn't clear online what you pay for and what is included, but a nice thing is that you can save money by staying here and not doing some of the other local attractions. I should have searched for "Widerness in the Smokies" instead of "Wyndham Great Smokies Lodge" to understand what was actually here. The waterpark and the other attractions at the resort are quite impressive, and there was more here than I expected. For those staying at the resort there are three types of activities - free, pass, and paid. We did everything that was here.

Free activities: Salamander springs kids outdoor water play area, indoor whirlpools, outdoor whirlpools, indoor pool, indoor body boarding ride, indoor kids water play area with big bucket, indoor small kids water play area, indoor kids climbing maze, 2 indoor tube water slides for 4-person rafts, 2 indoor tube water slides for single or double tubes, indoor wave pool, outdoor lazy river, outdoor wave pool, 4 outdoor tube racing slides, "Wild Vortex" outdoor steep looping tube slide.

Pass activities (can buy pass for day or for entire stay for unlimited use): indoor ropes course, indoor climbing wall, laser maze, indoor kids drop / hopping ride, indoor blacklight mini golf, outdoor mini golf, indoor mini bowling. We got this for the full 10 days we were here.

Pay activities:
Laser tag, arcade games, pottery shop

For the kids, their top "don't miss" activities were:
1) Laser tag
2) Indoor ropes course
3) Kids indoor "dropping / bouncing" ride
4) Laser maze
5) Indoor kids climbing maze

Our teens top 5 favorite were:
1) Laser tag
2) Indoor ropes course
3) "Wild Vortex" steep outdoor water slide
4) Indoor body boarding ride
5) Indoor water slides for 4-person rafts

For my wife and I, our favorites were:
1) Lazy river
2) Indoor ropes course
3) "Wild Vortex" steep outdoor water slide
4) Indoor water slides for 4-person rafts
5) Outdoor racing water slides

The key for us was getting to the activities early. The indoor attractions open at 8am, and there is nobody there at that time, so you can bowl and do the maze and climbing without a line. The indoor water park opens at 9, and we were able to get on the big water slides and body boarding without a line. The lines were never as bad or as long as a regular water park, though.

Would recommend and come back if we vacation here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Harry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbeville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just home from a few days at the Great Smokies Lodge. We had a very nice room in the building across the parking lot. It was a short walk to the waterpark and the building itself was much quieter than the main building. Staff was friendly and helpful. Having been here before with the high food/drink prices, we loaded up before we went to the waterpark or went early then left for meals. We didn't receive the high pressure sales treatment...but maybe we were just lucky. My one negative was not against the lodge, but against the smokers that tended to huddle just outside the doors or on their balconies to smoke. But it is what it is. If you are looking for a nice resort that has great waterpark and recreational activities, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Rooms farther from the water park are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sevierville hotels
4.2 mi away
Resort at Governor's Crossing
2.0 mi away
Clarion Inn Willow River
Clarion Inn Willow River
#3 of 20 in Sevierville
538 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pigeon Forge - Sevierville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sevierville
Hampton Inn Sevierville
#2 of 20 in Sevierville
553 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites River Suites
2.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sevierville Pigeon Forge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge

Property: Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge
Address: 1425 Old Knoxville Hwy, Sevierville, TN 37876-1359
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Sevierville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Sevierville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Hotel Sevierville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing