We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful condo!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brookville, IN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful condo!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We just returned from the Great Smokies Lodge & it far exceeded our expectations. We're Wyndham owners so we were able to upgrad to a 2 BR presidential condo. It was beautiful with stainless steel appliances, granite counter tops, stacked stone fireplace & beautifully decorated. The waterpark isn't connected to the condo but it's a short 30 second drive or 5 minutes walk. They have a shuttle you can take too. They also have a nice fitness room in the building. They did try to get us to take a "survey" which we know turns into an hour long sales presentation but we said no & we still received a $25 gift card which they had promised. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoosiernana7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    82
    19
    14
    7
See reviews for
255
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a 3-bedroom the week before labor day. The room was spectacular, plenty of room for the 6 of us. The indoor/outdoor waterpark was so much fun! We can't wait to go back when the kids are a little older.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nurselady07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
163 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a typical nice Wyndham property to stay at. We are owners and have stayed at several different properties of theirs in the USA and have found this to be fairly true all over. Room was clean with all the amenities (Would have been VERY disappointed if I had been a Green Bay or Chicago football fan as they did not get NFL Network on their cable). Bed was very comfortable.

Kudos to Wyndham for their recycling effort!! Finally found a resort that pointed out the trash is first processed for recyclables in the community, thus we knew we could toss our cans and plastic bottles and know they would not end in the local landfill.

Also enjoyed not having to go to the other side of the check-in floor - they don't exactly have the space, since checkin is shared with the Wilderness Lodge folks - to "get your parking pass" (aka, get you to sign up for a timeshare meeting/update/survey). With only 3 days in the area, we didn't have the time or desire to waste time on this.

One oddity was no phone in the bedroom. With the proliferation of cell phones today, however, I don't see it as a problem and a great way to cut costs. Plus when the phone in the kitchen rang sometime after 8 am on two days (probably the timeshare update people since they didn't get us at checkin), it was nice to have only heard it in the distance.

One disappointment - we booked it thinking we could enjoy the waterpark, especially in mid-September when the weather was still warm. Upon checkin we found that the outdoor waterpark is only open Fri-Sat-Sun and we were staying Monday thru Thursday. Most of the indoor waterpark is geared for kids with the wave pool, surf area, kiddie pool and activity pool. We did enjoy the indoor/outdoor hot tub though.

Overall a very enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: If you are getting pool view, you probably want a room higher than first or second floor. If the ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Idreamof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We really enjoy it! At this time of the year, mid August to the end of August, It is really not that crowded. Love the water park, it was so much fun. The only thing I would complain about is housekeeping need to speed up their cleaning. When we check in and went to our room. The dirty laundry and trash was still sitting outside of the door.
Lots and Lots of things to do for the kids, they added more entertainment for the kids and you can really spend your whole time there and not leave the resort. It may be expensive but it is worth it, just to have fun!

Room Tip: If you buy a drink at the cafe, keep the cup, you get free refills!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinPinLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We are Wyndham timeshare owners and had choice between this resort and the Smoky mountain resort. We picked this one because of the water park. At the time of booking, only 3 bdrm delux was available, so we took it. This was our first visit to the Smoky moutains, and we had a great time.

First of all, check in was a breeze. We arrived later in the evening (10pm), so no delays. We got a top floor unit as requested. I noticed that the check-in at the Wilderness lodge was actually busier at the same time. Our unit was to the top floor of building 6, with a view overlooking the pool. Noice was not a issue at all. And the rooms have nice blackout curtains that we slept late (9am) everyday without beign awoken by the light or water park. We have two young children, 2 and 7, and shared the place with my friend who has a 4 and 1 year old. The kids had a blast going to the water park. There were also plenty of other actitives to do on property. The walk to the water park is somewhat odd, as you cannot directly access the water park from the marked water park entrace in the middle of building 6. There is chain linked fence directly outside of the door with an arrow telling you to go right, and you have to follow the fence walk almost ALL the way around to get to the park entrance. We soon figured out that it's much faster to go to the end of building 6 from inside and exit the door there, wich is adjacent to the park entrance. Be aware of this because the first route was the official route explained to us by the front desk.

We loved the resort. There are plenty of places to eat on property, but we ate out mostly. Since it was our first time to the smoky mountians, we didn't spend a whole lot of time in the resort. Having to drive to Gatlinburg and Pigion Forge everyday, I have to say that the Smoky mountain resort may be a little closer. But in general it's not an issue. Traffic was not bad. There is also a Kroger within short drive away.

As far as the "owner update". We had a bad experence with the "Marketing department". Tammy called and talked to my mother, who knows nothing about our timeshare, with a wrong check out date. It completly freaked her out and made her think that we have a delinquent account (there maybe some language barrier issue). She then called and talked to me and give us a reason of "$1800 maintanence" credit that she needs to discuss with us in person because of HIPPA concern. We ended up having things to do that morning and didn't show up for the meeting. How sneaky! In reality, every owner knows that this is part of going to a resor, and they should be more straight forward with it. Sure, I would have said "No", but at least it wouldn't give them a bad rep.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dfwrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We enjoyed our time here! Rooms, water park, indoor watermark all fun and nice. Very clean too! Cannot give it 5 because our rooms were not ready at 4. Said the were being inspected, which should only take 15-20 min. Basically they lied to us and we kept being delayed 20min at a time. 10 min before 7pm our rooms were ready. This was nonsense. We had 3 rooms, one ready at 2pm and ours at almost 7, we were mad. Drove 8 hrs and my son has severe autism. He was tired of waiting. We finally met up with the other family that had the room and let the kids change and go to the water at 6. Then we found out the next day that our rooms were supposed to be ready at 2 also. No comps, no extra services. The manager was supposed to come and check on us(Michelle) and she did not. Again lied to by the staff. Managers should be reprimanded for this Friday check in mess. It was just not us, saw at least 6 other families mad. It was not professional at all!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redlegwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

STAY HERE.
We made our reservations through Priceline for two nights while passing through to facilitate a day visit to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, and thought we were getting a king bed room for $150. We actually got a suite with three bedrooms (two with king beds and one with double beds), two bathrooms, a common room with two couches, a kitchen area with everything my kitchen at home has, a dining area for eight plus counter space stools for four more, a spa in the master bedroom, and flatscreen televisions in every room... at an amazing resort property with three waterparks (one indoors), and the absolutely most astounding staff I have ever seen at a hotel. If only I had known what we were getting, I would have planned a stay twice as long so that we could have had enough time to take advantage of the very cool looking water parks!
The property is part of a vacation condos timeshare type program, with vacant "units" rented out like hotel rooms when not being used. I was amazed to find that we were not "pitched" by a salesperson at any time (with our amazing luck, I thought for sure this would be the catch), although when we brought the topic up with service people in various situations, they were more than happy to talk to us about it, but not once any of them pressing us. In fact, this no-pitch-at-all turned out to be the best sales pitch possible - the surprise quality of our experience actually has my wife and I seeking to learn more about their program now.
A special word about the staff: this place clearly places strong value on staff quality. Every single person we came across, including lobby desk persons, information desk, housekeeping, a maintenance person fixing moulding on a wall, and a custodian shampooing a rug, were extremely friendly and stopped to say hello and ask how our stay was going. I really was floored when this happened with the maintenance person and the custodian, because we caught both of them completely alone, and they were seriously loving their jobs (the maintenance person was humming to self) and enthusiastic to interact with us; the custodian stopped his work just to help us find our room, without us asking for any help like that. This extends further to another item of evidence we found: in the welcome package, there was a sheet offering kids a "digital camera scavenger hunt", where they are challenged to find and take a picture of as many of the 40-something items around the property as possible to then turn in for prizes at the end of the stay; while many of the items were obviously meant to encourage kids to explore the variety of what the grounds has to offer, at least a third of the items were getting staff to do playful things for the camera, such as "a housekeeping person playing air guitar with a broom" and "lobby hosts making funny faces with you"... and from what I saw, I believe that this staff would totally do these things, do them enthusiastically, and make your kids have a WONDERFUL time as a result.
I cannot recommend this place strongly enough. It was a five star experience ($300+/night) at a three star rate ($150/night).
No place is perfect, of course. Here are our only three complaints:
(1) The cleaning materials used in the "units" have a strong flowery odor that we didn't find particularly pleasant; we noticed it every time we entered the room, and then quickly got used to it and forgot about it.
(2) It is a family resort. Thus, there are often kids running through the halls. This is not the fault of the resort, though.
(3) The wifi was not consistently available (on the second day, under cloud cover, the internet disappeared completely, even though the wifi network was still there and strong)
Do NOT let these three items scare you away, though. If I had to arrange this trip all over again, there is no doubt in my mind that I would choose this same place, and just adjust my trip to allow a longer stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GregJHipius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sevierville hotels
4.2 mi away
Resort at Governor's Crossing
2.0 mi away
Clarion Inn Willow River
Clarion Inn Willow River
#3 of 20 in Sevierville
536 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pigeon Forge - Sevierville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sevierville
Hampton Inn Sevierville
#2 of 20 in Sevierville
552 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites River Suites
2.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sevierville Pigeon Forge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge

Property: Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge
Address: 1425 Old Knoxville Hwy, Sevierville, TN 37876-1359
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Sevierville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Sevierville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Hotel Sevierville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing