We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far, the best Wyndham we've stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
158 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“By far, the best Wyndham we've stayed”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Our experience was fantastic - room was ready upon check in at 4pm, staff was VERY friendly and everything was in working order.

We had a 2 bedroom suite for 2 adults and 2 kids - it was VERY spacious for the 4 of us and was a great break from the action.

This place is like vegas for kids...Few things we learned that may be helpful.

-> The Wyndham timeshare shares the waterpark/property with a regular hotel (like a Great Wolf Lodge-type, but different name). Not a bad thing, just interesting to see the property is shared.

-> Ask for an upper floor (third or above). The indoor walkway to the arcade and waterpark spans at the second floor so there appears to be a ton of foot traffic in those hallways

-> Walk can be long between rooms and the waterpark/arcade - be prepared with comfortable flip flops or other walking shoes.

-> Food - we ate in the room and off campus - we did not eat onsite other an a sandwich the first day. We were surprised at how expensive the food was on site, but off site grocery store was cheap compared to where we live. 4 of us ate (Two kids/adults) ate 1 meal a day off campus and we stayed way within budget

-> Get to the waterpark before 1030am. It fills up quickly.

-> You may want to wear sunscreen in the water park - you can get sunburned inside - it's a cool concept, just be careful - we saw some very red people by the end of the day...

-> Ask about happy hour at the bar - they don't advertise it, but there were some good 2 for 1 specials that we learned about the last day

-> Sevierville is a dry county - there are places to get drinks, but not a liquor store - come prepared if you enjoy adult beverages

Overall, great vacation spot - lots to do both on and off the resort. Extremely clean and nice. Best of all, the staff was extremely and helpful. A+ in our book and we would return!

Room Tip: ask for an upper floor in building 6, higher numbers - those appear to be off the beaten path from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Elmcityboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    82
    19
    14
    7
See reviews for
255
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Current Wyndham Owner; overall a good location with good kitchen amenities but nothing too exciting. We were placed in a basement unit with zero view. What was most disappointing was they made us wait to check in even though our unit was available/unused (according to our neighbors). To me, as an Owner, this is poor PR/customer service to the people (like me) who are paying the maintenance fees (Wyndham owners) yearly as part of our Wyndham 'ownership' . Wireless internet kept crashing but was resolved over time. Pools were littered with several children so there was no where adults could go.

Did enjoy the Smokey Mountains.

Room Tip: Wyndham onwers should call ahead to see what exactly they're getting into.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southpugetsound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hixson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Negatives
#1 Check in - had to wait as they said the room wasn't ready and they would call when ready. I had to ask the front desk at 5 pm, never got a call. Management needs to revamp the check in process.
#2 Room key - did not work, we had to wait for security to open the door and he could not open the door until he pulled on the door with all his weight and used several keys. The room keys never worked on a consistent basis the three days we were there. With the five keys they gave me I could get one to work in a manner similar to using a slot machine.
#3 Wi-Fi - slooooooooooow when it worked.
#4 Safe - At first the safe would not work (no power) The maintenance man promptly replaced the batteries and I placed my valuables in the safe. The next morning again no power with my wife's and my wallet in the safe. The maintenance man promptly replaced the door but the procedure took about an hour.
#5 Room Cleaning - Beds not made, no new towels the two nights we were there.
#6 Price - Extremely overpriced.
Positives
The maintenance and security staff was prompt when responding to the faulty door locks and safe.
The shuttle bus driver was pleasant.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel, plenty to choose from in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Owen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed at the Wyndham Great Smokies Lodge 3/17/12 to 3/24/12. We had 2 units (our daughter and her husband are owners also) and they accomodated us by putting us next door to each other. All 4 of our grandkids were there (ages 8, 6, 5 and 15 months). This resort was the perfect place for our vacation. The water park was a huge hit with the kids - even the baby had a place to play! They do have height requirements for the rides, though, so kids have to go with adults. The indoor arcade (Adventure Forest) outside the water park is remarkable. It has a rope course where you get harnessed in and are able to climb 3 stories high attached to a complex steel structure. There's also a climbing wall, laser room, mini golf, etc. The best part was the price, believe it or not! Kids could get an all day pass (which included all the climbing things - not the arcade games) for $10.99. We found out at the end that they also have an "All Stay" pass that we could have gotten for $13.99 for kids!! What a deal - wish we had known.
Sevierville is a great location, too. We spent a day going to the national park and drove to Cades Cove for a picnic lunch. Kids got to play in the stream that flows through. Also visited Gatlingburg one day and tasted moonshine :)
Our visit wouldn't be complete without a visit to our favorite restaurant in Pigeon Forge - the Applewood! The food is outstanding - it's a great place!

Room Tip: If you are going during cold weather, you might want to opt for a poolside room. There is an enclos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fljane51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We are currently staying in a 2 bedroom presidential suite in building 9 of this resort. Although the Wilderness at the Smokies Adventure Waterpark is right on the property, where we are is so quiet, you'd never know it. Over looking the Sevierville Golf Course, it's very peaceful to be able to look out and see the ducks in the pond, the occasional golfer or maybe a passing squirrel across the course.
This suite itself definitely has all the comforts of home, and more. With GE Profile appliances and Cuisinart small appliances, marble countertops and so much more, it's very comfortable.

Room Tip: If you want to be away from the kids and crowds, ask for building 9 on the golf course side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JakesmomNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Spent spring break here with 4 kids. New indoor play area had just opened and the outdoor pool area opened this week also. Rooms are very spacious. Rooms had everything we needed. Location to pool and waterpark was great...don't walk the entire length of the wilderness you can go thru exit next to waterpark. Arcade kept kids entertained but we spent alot of money on games. You can get an entire stay pass for the ropes course, climbing wall, lazer tag, and black light putt putt. Water park is great but it wasn't crowded during our stay. I would imagine during the summer there would be long waits for the slides. Outdoor pool is a wave pool and lazy river and we spent most of our stay there. The resort is located within about 5 miles of plenty of restaurants and attractions in pigeon forge. Overall this was a great place for our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stones112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I reviewed the wrong place. Put my review under the Wilderness Smokies instead of the Wyndham. We stayed 4 nights during the last week of October. There was next to no one at the waterpark.....it was great! I imagine this place would get pretty packed in the fall/winter when it operates at capacity. Our 2 bed/2 bath condo was in the Wyndham building on the North end of the parking lot, it is NOT attached to the main building with the waterpark. But, while we were there it wasn't so cool that we couldn't make the short walk outside. The condo was just beautiful. I've come to expect nothing less from Wyndham resorts and this one really delivered. Check in was a breeze, staff was friendly and we lucked out and went during an "off season" week as there may have been 70 people in the entire waterpark on each of the three days we went there. Plenty to do. Great waterslides, good sized wave pool and the Flowrider (surf machine) was the biggest hit of all. The staff took the time to teach my 7 year old to knee board. If you are not a Wyndham owner I suggest checking out the Knoxville Craigslist for deals from timeshare companies at this resort. You will not be disappointed with the accomodations.......plush bedrooms, full size washer/dryer, fully stocked kitchens (utensils/plates/glasses/cookware), granite countertops, stainless appliances, gas fireplace and flat screens in all of the rooms. I find it difficult to stay more than one night in a regular hotel room after being spoiled by Wyndham resorts around the country.

Room Tip: Great views from the back of the "unattached" Wyndham building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Reagansmom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sevierville hotels
4.2 mi away
Resort at Governor's Crossing
2.0 mi away
Clarion Inn Willow River
Clarion Inn Willow River
#3 of 20 in Sevierville
537 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pigeon Forge - Sevierville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sevierville
Hampton Inn Sevierville
#2 of 20 in Sevierville
553 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites River Suites
2.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sevierville Pigeon Forge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge

Property: Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge
Address: 1425 Old Knoxville Hwy, Sevierville, TN 37876-1359
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Sevierville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Sevierville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Hotel Sevierville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing