We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Oak Haven Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sevierville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oak Haven Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

First time staying at this resort. Stayed in Cabin #35 (2 BR). Upon check-in, the front desk person offered to upgrade us to a 2 Bedroom w/Gameroom, but our reserved cabin was within walking distance of the pool, so I opted to keep it. Just the same, I was impressed by the generous offer. Our cabin was clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated--rustic, but with all the amenities. Housekeeping services (trash & linen pickup) were efficient and reliable. The resort was quiet and well maintained, and I would definitely come back again--even scoped out another cabin to try for next time. I liked the fact that it was further away from all the local attractions, so not alot of traffic to contend with getting there. That said, most activities are a short drive away. Would highly recommend Oak Haven Resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RBfromDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    32
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
149
67
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville KY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Staying in Cabin 89. I have nothing bad to say about our cabin or the resort. We arrived and the cabin was immaculate! The jacuzzi was already hot and ready for us. The staff was friendly. The rooms are very quiet. We have a 3 bedroom with fooseball, ping pong, pool table, Arcade games. We have 12 year old twins;they love the games and the WiFi works very well. My only negative (just a slight mention) is the location of the resort. Yes, it is farther away from the sites in Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg, but, honestly, Sevierville has many attractions and restaurants, so we arr not lacking for things to do outside the cabin area. Thanks to the owners for a very nice family vacation. We will stay at Oak Haven Resort again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ilovegwtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We love staying here. You have privacy but still feel safe.(some places your out in no mans land and worry about being safe.) We have stayed here about 5 or 6 times. Nice pool, spa, and can just relax. Some have great views. You feel like your away from the city but it doesn't take long to get anywhere. I was given my 50th surprise birthday party in #76. Great views and wonderful place. www.oakhavenresort.com We have stayed in # 17 (next to spa) , #35, 65, 76 , and 99. Loved them all. # 17 is next to spa and close to the pool, gameroom, basketball courts so its great it you have kids. The others had better views if that's what you want.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sliver008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

First impression - Cabin #5 was 5 STARS- looked like the pictures. This particular cabin has no views but does have privacy. Decorated nicely. Closer look - all the switches were dirty (I cleaned them). No room in the closet - only about 4 in to hang items (see photo). Poor lighting - bring a flash light to see into the washer. Salt & pepper left by previous renters - really need to toss them. Broke glass, chipped dishes. Only one clicker for the two TVs, missing back to DVD control. Little things but still. That brought it down to 4 STARS. Then I sat on the bed. I thought at first it was a water bed I sunk down so much. This was the worst bed - NO support. We took turns sleeping on the sofa. Which by the way the pull out was nothing but springs. A new mattress would bring my opinion way up with this particular cabin. But then the interaction with the staff - Dave at check in was friendly. But the ladies at the front desk and the women at the spa. What is with people and the lack of customer service skills. When I called about some problems with the grill or hot tub. Just so lack luster. Train your staff - good morning, how are you, hows your stay, state your name...learn some manners if you are going to answer a phone or work the front desk. Inform your guest at check in that the pool is CLOSED. Kudos to maintenance for address our problems and the grounds crew for a well maintained property. A new bed and no interaction with the staff - you will like it. But for us at this time - not coming back.

Room Tip: Bring a flash light or lantern if the lights go out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nitesky014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Oak Haven over Memorial Day weekend, in Cabin 56. This was our first stay at Oak Haven, and I hope it will be the first of many stays.

One advantage of staying with them is the services provided because the management company is on-site: not only is this nice with check-in (it probably takes no more than 4 minutes to get to any cabin from the office, as opposed to driving to a rental company for check-in and then having to drive to an offsite cabin that could be up to 30 minutes away), but they also pick up trash at 10-noon-2 every day if you leave it on the curb outside your cabin, and they also provide linen pickup/drop-off at the cabin each day as well.

The office staff was a pleasure to work with, during the reservation process, check-in/check-out and calling on them for questions/requests. They obviously understand how to work well with their customers.

Cabin 56 was spotless upon our arrival. There were plenty of towels, and the kitchen was well-stocked with just about all the utensils, bowls, ect. that anyone could need. Even the gas grill outside had four or five grill utensils hanging next to it. The grill and hot tub had directions next to them for how to use them (especially handy for the grill, when you're used to using the charcoal variety).

The only small criticisms that we had with the cabin during our stay were that they only gave us two trash bags for three nights (one per night would have been nice, since we did a lot of cooking), we couldn't figure out how to work the upstairs shower (the bath worked just fine, but it looked to be lacking any way to divert the flow to the shower head), and there were two rather large rips in the screened-in porch screens--but big enough to have a couple bees/wasps fly in and not figure out how to get back out. We notified the office about this; hopefully, they'll be repaired. There also wasn't much room for storing groceries in the cabinets (do we need 20 mugs for 2 bedrooms?). Again, these were small issues, though.

The hot tub has a nice view looking into the sunset and the Little Pigeon River in the distance and was a great way to relax. We really appreciated the screened-in porch, as we've stayed in other cabins with other companies that didn't have them and you have to fight off the bugs. Not only was this rarely an issue (other than the two bees/wasps that flew in through the screen rips), but there was a Fooz-ball table, a dining table with room for six people and the grill, with an exhaust fan you could turn on to blow the smoke outside). On the side of cabin was a wrap around porch with a swing and 4 rocking chairs, and two more rocking chairs in the front.

Despite being surrounded by other cabins, it is pretty private. Trees block the cabins in the front and back (the one in front is 25 feet higher, the back one is 40 feet lower), and the cabin to the left of the house is probably 150 feet away and blocked by bushes. The cabin to the right of the house has 6 bedrooms and is huge (see my tip below). This only becomes a privacy issue if you want to sit in a rocking chair on the side porch (which faces their cabin) and the screen door from the screened-in porch faces their house--I found if I hung up a beach towel over the door, they could not see in toward the hot tub. Easy solution.

Our last morning, we did visit their small lake, which is stocked with fish. They have a catch and release policy and we did manage to hook a trout in 20 minutes of casting.

The community is gated. You are given the code to open the gate when you check in. However, the gate to the main entrance was never closed--and two of the nights we got back to the cabin between 10:30 and 11, so we were somewhat surprised about this. I was wondering if this might be because of all the in-and-out traffic due to the busy holiday weekend.

The grounds are nicely landscaped throughout the resort, the roads are wide enough for two cars, and although there are short stretches of steep inclines, it's nothing scary--and we've rented cabins in places that made for white-knuckle drives and lots of praying.

We did make use of their spa services. The staff was pleasant and professional and we were pampered.

Finally, the location is really ideal, especially if you aren't planning on spending a lot of time in Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg. The resort is located right on the parkway, less than 15 minutes off of I-40. If you take Chapman Highway through Seymour into Knoxville, it's under 40 minutes. There's a Food City and Kroger about 3 miles north and south on the parkway from the resort. In good traffic, it's probably about 40 minutes to get into the park. In bad traffic, like on the weekend that we were there, it's probably 90 minutes.

We were very happy with our experience at Oak Haven and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends and fellow travelers.

Room Tip: Check their website's map to see the properties that are nearest to the cabin you are interested...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank detroithawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed for three days during April 2013 in a one bedroom cabin. If you look at Oak Haven's Website, they show photos of the interior of each cabin. I stayed in cabin 53 and the cabin was as nice as the photos. The cabin was extremely clean. This cabin was cleaner than any lodging where I have stayed. I will stay there again when I am in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Celebrated our 39th wedding anniversary with a few days at Oak Haven. This was our first stay at the resort and it was perfect. Located in Sevierville, it was easy to get to from I40, and a short drive to attractions, restaurants in Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg.

This is a gated resort community, 24hr security, and "quiet" is observed from 10pm - 8am. We had experienced loud, rowdy stays at other cabin rentals, so this really sold us on Oak Haven.
This is a well maintained resort, with a day spa, pool, fitness center, arcade, hiking trails and much more.

There are over 100 cabins on this property, and some of them are located on higher, steeper land. A 4-wheel drive vehicle is required to reach some of these cabins. I was advised of this when we were selecting our cabin. Important to know.





Definitely plan on returning in the fall.

Room Tip: The website map of the resort is very detailed and virtual tours are provided for each cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hutzpoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sevierville hotels
6.3 mi away
Resort at Governor's Crossing
1.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Willow River
Clarion Inn Willow River
#3 of 20 in Sevierville
536 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Sevierville
Hampton Inn Sevierville
#2 of 20 in Sevierville
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pigeon Forge - Sevierville
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Great Smokies Lodge
6.9 mi away
Appleview River Resort
Appleview River Resort
#1 of 36 in Sevierville
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Haven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Haven Resort

Property: Oak Haven Resort
Address: 1947 Old Knoxville Hwy, Sevierville, TN 37876-0457
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Sevierville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Sevierville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Oak Haven Hotel Sevierville
Oak Haven Resort Pigeon Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing