We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find..”

Smoky Mountain Deer Farm & Exotic Petting Zoo
Ranked #3 of 85 things to do in Sevierville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Welcome to the Smoky Mountain Deer Farm and Exotic Petting Zoo & Deer Farm Riding Stables. You’re going to love our unique barnyard environment, nestled on 143 acres of a beautiful mountain property. Bring the family to meet, pet and feed our friendly animals, including goats, deer, camels, elk, reindeer, emu, zebra, exotic cattle, watusi, zonkeys, and so much more! You can even walk amongst our tame fallow deer. After the zoo, the little ones can enjoy a ride on one of our gentle ponies, led by Mom or Dad. Or, the whole family can take a relaxing horseback ride through our wooded Smoky Mountain home, led by our courteous and experienced guides. We hope to see you soon!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Chicago
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great find..”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We had 2 hours to kill and this place definitely did the trick! $11 for adults, so the price was more than fair for what you get. I am 38 and my kids are 18 & 19 and they LOVED it!!! They both rated this better than the zoo. If you are looking for something to do, you can't go wrong with this place.

Helpful?
Thank LisaMikeBrookeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    659
    132
    36
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marysville, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“For all ages”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We initially took our daughter here because we thought she'd enjoy it and a pony ride, but it became much more. She rode a well-trained horse (19 years old!) and loved it. We then went into the petting zoo and even my husband I were having a blast. There is even a picnic table where we had a quick snack. I think this will be a place to visit each trip.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The camel has tickly whiskers”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Was a lot of fun feeding such a variety of animals. I squealed like a little girl feeding the camel. Kids will love it, but parents be careful.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollidaysburg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ah-mazing place!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We went on a family vacation and have a 4 year old. We have done all the big zoos and aquariums in several different states but this place...this place stole our hearts. The owner was lovely, it was delightful to hear her speak about the love she has for the animals. The staff was super friendly. The animals, so so friendly. To be able to feed a zebra, zonkey and camel out of the palm your hand...WHAT AN EXPERIENCE!!! People need to come and check this place out! We will be returning and telling friends and family about this place. Best petting zoo we've ever been. Well worth the money!




Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quite a variety of animals! Good for a family walk through, one or two.”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We went to Deer Farm with our two and a half year old and 4 month old. Our 4 month old was in a baby carrier, not stroller bound. There were quite a variety of animals: goats, zebras, camels, kangaroos, donkeys, zonkeys (a cross between a donkey and a zebra), turkeys, peacocks,reindeer, horses, and more. You have the option to buy animal feed and are given instructions on how to safely pet and feed the animals. We walked through the zoo-farm without animal food and many animals came right up to the fences looking for a snack. We opted not to walk into the goat pen. There is a hand-washing station within the area, bringing some wipes and sanitizer are handy. We walked around the farm twice.

There is the option for a pony ride at a reasonable price and if your child decides to opt out, you get your money back. We'll come back next year and try it.

The lady who runs the place gave us suggestions for lunch and also advice on driving to avoid traffic congestion. Thank you!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickels19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoky Mountain Deer Farm & Exotic Petting Zoo also viewed

Sevierville, Sevier County
Sevierville, Sevier County
 

Been to Smoky Mountain Deer Farm & Exotic Petting Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing