We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Fun!!!!

Great variety of animals that love to interact! Be sure to purchase some apples (50 cents each... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
LulunaMooMoo
via mobile
Great find

We came here as it was off the beaten path!! Kids thoroughly enjoyed their pony ride and being able... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
kimkimbles
,
Jackman, Maine
via mobile
Read all 1,124 reviews
  
Reviews (1,124)
Filter reviews
1,124 results
Traveler rating
896
170
42
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
896
170
42
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baby goats pony rides feed the animals horseback riding mini horses well taken care love animals animal lovers animals seem minute ride smoky mountain off the beaten path trail guide all ages an apple year old daughter staff was very friendly
Filter
Updating list...
979 - 984 of 1,124 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

After reading the reviews on here I was very excited. But came away very disappointed.
When you pull up they have a very nice area for the pony rides, but thats where the nice ends.
The deck leading up to the building is dilapidated and looks like it needed replacing 15 years ago. The petting zoo area is very overgrown and the building to refill your feed had no one in it and it was just disgusting. The area with the goats was fun, but some of the pens looked way too small to house some of the huge animals .
I was very disgusted by the upkeep of the entire petting zoo.
But if you are going to let your child ride a pony, then it would be perfect.

1  Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMDFDFRS, Internet Marketing Manager at Smoky Mountain Deer Farm & Exotic Petting Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for recommending our pony ride! It truly is a nice facility. We also appreciate you taking the time to express your concerns about our petting zoo. Our facility aims to provide a fun “barnyard experience” for our guests. Please understand we first and foremost plan everything around the needs of our animals while keeping them up close and personal with our visitors during the day. The smaller daytime enclosures that our animals inhabit are designed to encourage interaction with the public, and the “overgrown” areas that you may be referring to are our back pastures. These are the places that the animals spend their time after the park closes, where they can freely graze, play and sleep in a more natural environment. These areas are minimally maintained to preserve the integrity of their living space, as many of our pregnant animals use the tall grasses as protected spaces to birth their young. We also have many areas on our property that we purposefully do not landscape, especially near our ponds. This is to provide shelter and living space for the hundreds of native birds and mammals who make their homes here at the Farm. Although a few of our visitors may find these 'overgrown' areas aesthetically unpleasing, our top priority here is the happiness and well-being of our animals, and we strive to respect our petting zoo animal family as well as our native critters.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with the “upkeep” of our Farm, and we hope this explains why our natural areas are there, and why they are important. This review was a great opportunity for us to share a bit of our “behind the scenes” info about the Deer Farm, so thank you again for your time and your visit."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I found the site on Facebook. We were looking for a place that would allow doubles since we had a 2yr. old with us. It was the best experience we could have ever asked for. From the time we walked in the door to the time we left everyone was so very friendly. Horses were very gentle and our guide was great! Thanks Chandler! We went to the Petting Zoo afterwards and had so much fun. Our 2yr. old was so relaxed with feeding all the different animals. Of course the pony ride at the end just topped off the amazing experience. We all agreed that if we had our vacation to do over again we would skip some of the other tourist attractions and do the horseback riding and petting zoo again. Thanks Y'all So Much!!

1  Thank RobertsAda_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We loved the horse back riding. I loved the most is our 4 year old could ride his own horse with lead. It totally made his day. He was a real cowboy. The horses were very relaxed. We say several wild turkeys, deer and even heard several planes go over. It was a very short drive past Dollywood. The petting zoo could have been better with more animals. The little pony ride was just as fun.

Thank IHaveAnOpinion0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

A friend and I went earlier this week and had a blast! Even though it was extremely warm we wanted to stay and hang out with all the great animals. All the pens were clean, every animal had fresh water and shade and each animal looked very healthy as well. Being able to interact with everything from goats and deer to camels and zebra was very fun. Highly recommend this zoo for families and anyone looking to spend a couple hours of fun with animals. Admission and feed prices were very reasonable.

Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

It's fun to feed some big animals like camels, zebras, and horses. My son enjoyed very much feeding goats, deer, and geese. Fun place to visit if you like petting zoo. It just a little difficult to find. Follow the sign, and you will get to it!

Thank Viko0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews