We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good show”
Review of Cirque De Chine - CLOSED

Cirque De Chine
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed October 15, 2012

It was very neat to see what the performers could do. was dissapointed that they didn't ride the dirt bikes in the cage because that;s one reason we went to see them. Also felt the tickets were to pricey for the show we saw.

Thank mes75Siloam_Nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirque_de_Chine, Guest Relations Manager at Cirque De Chine, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Everyone is disappointed, especially us at the theater, that the motorcycle riders were not present the entire year. Due to a contract obligation, we knew we could have them part of the year or not at all. We chose to have them part of the year. Each year we bring in a new troupe and we hope you will return and give us a second chance to entertain you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 85 of 309 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

Theater is rundown - multiple lights were out and sound system crackled throughout performance. Snacks are overpriced for what you get. The transitions between performances were delayed and ackward. The performers did make the show worthwhile though - they are very talented and fun to watch.

Thank minivacalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirque_de_Chine, Guest Relations Manager at Cirque De Chine, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

I am disappointed you were not pleased with our show. There were some technical issues around the time you attended the show. Our sound and lighting engineer had to resign due to a severe illness with his child. Understandable. Someone with his technical skills is hard to replace after the season begins. He was responsible for making sure all lights in the theater were working properly along with the sound system. Our concession prices are in line with the other theaters in the area and, I might add, cheaper than a movie theater. The performers are good. We will have a different troupe next year. I hope you will return and give us a second change to entertain you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Purchased tickets from groupon. Did not have any problems reserving tickets over the phone and tickets we waiting for us when we got there. Theater was nice. Seats were good. Acrobat kids were very cute. Show was okay, but would have been upset if I paid full price for tickets. Show was not worth full price.

Thank smperkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirque_de_Chine, Guest Relations Manager at Cirque De Chine, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

We are sorry the show did not live up to your expectations. I don't know what you were expecting but certainly we know people have different taste and opinions of the show. Our purpose is to give our guest a highly entertaining show they can't see anywhere else in the Smokies. Each year we bring in a different troupe of acrobats so if you come next year you will see an entirely different performance. Perhaps you will give us a second chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is TRUELY one of the best show's you can see in the Smokey's. The performer's defy gravity. Just as you think there is NOWAY they can fly that high, look out she's going to fall. They make to happen before your eye's! They make it all look so easy. Weather balanced on a stick no bigger then your finger 60 ft up, to racing a motorcycle around the inside of a steel cage. You get your money"s worth and then some!

Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirque_de_Chine, Guest Relations Manager at Cirque De Chine, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Truly gratified that you enjoyed our show. We offer something for our guest they cannot find anywhere else in the Smokies and have for six years. Come back next season and see the new production.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I wasn't blown away from the experience but it was enjoyable. We didn't see the motorcycle stunt as shown on the brochure or the much of what was shown on it period. Luckily the tickets were given to us for a hotel compensation because I would not pay $32 (adult) to see the show.

Thank DjarumBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirque_de_Chine, Guest Relations Manager at Cirque De Chine, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

We do miss the motorcycles. Due to a contract obligation on their part, we knew we couldn’t have them the complete year but chose to have them part of the year rather than not at all.
Like other theaters in the area, our brochures are compiled and printed before the current season is over. They are being distributed before the season begins next year. Since we won’t see the next troupe before they arrived in March, previous photos have to be used in the advertising. We have to do that as we are the only theater here that brings in its acts from China. We bring in new troupes every year as we have many repeat customers and it gives them a different show every time. Watch the reviews for next season and come back to see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cirque De Chine also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing