We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Springbreak - will visit again soon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wilderness at the Smokies Resort
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Sevierville
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Springbreak - will visit again soon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

We just left the Wilderness earlier today (3-10-2011). My kids were in the waterpark from check-in to check-out! It was an awesome trip. The rooms were very clean - the room looked new - very well maintained. The waterpark was not very busy - there was a constant flow of visitors, but never crowded. There were life guards visible at all times - 3 to 4 in the wavepool area. We had snacks at the pool from a near-by restaurant. You are not allowed to bring outside food into the facility. Once you purchase a soda or tea - you are allowed free refills. The food was average priced - the kids enjoyed the items offered. You will definitely need a GPS to get around - there is lots of construction going on in the area outside of the resort - so good luck with venturing out. Once you're on the main strip (Parkway) there are tons of restaurants to choose from. We took a short drive to the aquarium - a very nice ride and beautiful views in Gatlinburg. We were given a free adult pass to the aquarium at check-in. TIP - purchase your aquarium tickets online to save a few bucks. We had an awesome time - my kids are 8 and 13 - they are ready to go again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randerxxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    799
    402
    222
    201
See reviews for
1,929
47
3
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (706)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

This hotel was very nice. It is not nearly the high end facility as the other Wilderness property in the Wisconsin Dells, but stil nice. It was sort of pricey for what you received because in the winter time all of the outdoor area waterpark is closed. I have a 17 year old son and he enjoyed the waterpark immensely. The part that I liked the best was that the lines in the waterpark were not very long. We did not wait more than 15 minutes maximum for any slide. If we went early in the morning the wait was much less.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GTechMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamson, West Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

The hotel is large, they do have elevators, but you have to walk a long way to your room. The rooms were awesome and the beds too. There are lots of kids because of the waterpark, but it was ok. There was a Starbucks inside too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouAnnJustice11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

I was so worried after reading the reviews! I almost changed our reservations! So glad I didn't! Our room is very nice and clean. We are staying in the riverlodge in a room w 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa. I was very surprised at how nice the room is. It is small but perfect for 3. They only do limited housekeeping unless you pay more but they explained that to us at check-in. The check-in people were great and service has been very good. The food is not that good so far. My 3 year old loves the water park and there is a great toddler area! And my hubby loves the slides. And very safe. Lots of attentive lifeguards. March is a perfect time to come, I think! Not at all crowded and good rates! We're having a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbm1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

We were also there for a gymnastics meet. This is our second year at this meet, and our first experience last year was so-so at best. This trip kept in line with that one. Nothing has improved.

For this trip, the check in staff was quick and efficient. The room is a huge problem just like last year and had maintenance issues. We had an executive suite with two bathrooms. It had a separate bedroom as well. There were two heaters. The one in the bedroom worked, the other did not. It was not that cold luckily. Once we got the refrigerator to turn on, it barely kept things cold. The suite floor was so uneven that the bathroom door would not close all the way. The balcony door would not close all the way for the same reason. There were a couple of broken door locks. The room was extremely dark. Both showers in each bathroom had no lighting at all above them or even near them so it was very very dark. The rooms are just not maintained and the layout not well thought out for the ridiculous prices you pay.

The restaurant prices were extremely high for adequate to poor food.

The water park was really the highlight of the trip. My kids LOVED it and spent many hours there.

If there was the option of staying somewhere else and buying water park passes we would have definitely done that and not wasted our money at this resort. But you must stay on site to use the water park, unfortunately.

Will only attend the meet next year if we stay off site. The problems at this resort outweigh the good and it is not worth the money.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deeniebop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEDAR BLUFF
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

This was our 2nd stay at this resort and we had a great time. This time we stayed in the same building as the waterpark. Much more convenient with small children and worth the extra $$. Our 3 and 6 year old loved the waterpark. The check-in staff were all friendly and efficient, except for the guy (I think Bill was his name) who gave our parking pass. He was extremely rude and very offensive. If I stay at this resort again, I will refuse to talk with this man. To nice of a resort to have someone like this man working there. Anyway we refused to let his attitude ruin our weekend and had no other issues during our stay. We highly recommend this resort, especially during a bad winter for children and parents with cabin fever.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed in the River Lodge February 25-27 for a gymnastics competition. Overall we had a good experience, but some aspects of the stay were better than others.

CHECK IN: We arrived on a Friday evening about 7pm, which I'm guessing was probably the busiest time to get there given the large group attending the gymnastics meet. The wait to check in was long but moved at a reasonable pace. The front desk staff were doing a great job but there just weren't enough of them. Seems like this could have been better planned for, since the hotel knew how many people were checking in.

ROOM: Our room was clean but stuffy when we arrived. We were never able to get temperature and air flow quite right and ended up with the balcony door open most of time. Bathroom was very clean and I appreciated that the sink/vanity area was in the main room - made showering/getting ready faster for our family of four. We were in a double queen room and it was adequate but very narrow - not a lot of space to store bags, shoes, etc. for four people. Beds were comfortable - even pull-out sofa sleeper.
We knew the room had a fridge, but were surprised to find a small cook-top and cabinet space as well.

RESTAURANTS: Big thumbs-down here. We ate dinner in the restaurant the Stone Hill Lodge after checking in and it was AWFUL - overpriced buffet with school-cafeteria quality food, sad salad options, soggy vegetables and dry desserts. Kids were free with an adult buffet purchase but this meal was still nearly $50 for four of us and SO not worth it. Breakfast at The Thirsty Miner restaurant the next day was not much better, though at $30 was at least less expensive. We gave up on hotel restaurants after that and picked up a pizza for dinner the second night. There's a small cafe near the River Lodge lobby that was also terribly understaffed. We stopped in for coffee on Saturday morning (which was Starbucks, a nice surprise). LONG wait to order and just after we placed our order, the surly woman pouring coffees announced to the cashier - "Tell everyone that it'll be 15 minutes for coffee!" Really? How do you let yourself run out of coffee on a Saturday morning? Again, they KNEW how many people were in-house for the weekend and should have expected some number of them would want coffee.

SERVICE: Restaurant service was great at the Stone Hill lodge; terrible at The Thirsty Miner. Front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful. Shuttle drivers were great.

WATER PARK: The water park was exactly as you would expect - crowded, noisy and a blast for the kids. Chlorine is STRONG (think eyes and lungs stinging within minutes - even if you're not actually in the water) but I figure this was a good thing given the number of kids. I'll take irritated eyes over e-coli any day. Water park life guards were very attentive and the "surf ride" staff was great with kids.

Overall we had a good stay and would go back - but would definitely plan to bring groceries and/or eat off-property.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leen46911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sevierville
4.1 mi away
Resort at Governor's Crossing
2.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Willow River
Clarion Inn Willow River
#4 of 20 in Sevierville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pigeon Forge - Sevierville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sevierville
Hampton Inn Sevierville
#1 of 20 in Sevierville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
6.3 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#7 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Inn at Christmas Place
The Inn at Christmas Place
#2 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness at the Smokies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness at the Smokies Resort

Property: Wilderness at the Smokies Resort
Address: 1424 Old Knoxville Hwy, Sevierville, TN 37876-1358
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Sevierville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sevierville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilderness at the Smokies Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 713
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wilderness at the Smokies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilderness At The Smokies Hotel Sevierville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing