We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loads of fun!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wilderness at the Smokies Resort
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Sevierville
Verdunville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loads of fun!!”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

The wilderness was a lot of fun! Kids had a blast! Hotel was really huge, a lot bigger than expected. Very clean rooms and comfortable. Everything was very convenient from the food, movie rental to shopping. The waterpark was a short shuttle bus ride away unless your in a closer building but was fine anyway. Would definately consider returning. Thanks.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NavonnaBrowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    819
    406
    226
    209
See reviews for
1,975
50
3
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

We had the privilege of staying on the first floor not far from the indoor water dome which was great! There is so much to do for the kids! The waterpark, arcade, laser tag, 9 hole indoor mini golf, etc.

The only two things keeping me from rating 5 stars was the size of the rooms (very narrow). We were in a room with Queen bed and full bunk. The other thing is the buffet price at the Thirsty Miner. Kids under 11 eat free, but the buffet is $18.99 for adults, so in essence you are paying for the kids. The food was just "ok", but it beats getting in the car and driving some where.

The staff was all American, so no language barrier issues to overcome.

Overall great experience and would definitely go back!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MsReviewQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The waterpark was awesome! The rooms were nice! One piece of advice, do not go to The Thirsty Miner. The food is terrible, and the service was worse! We complained and got only 10% off of our meal, which is unacceptable compared the comments that were made to us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kellt73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed here with my wife and two younger children (7 and 9) while returning from a vacation in Florida. The boys were excited seeing the waterpark as we pulled in and it grew once we got inside. Before you book, check their FaceBook page! We looked on here to show my wife some pictures and found that they had a great deal if you called by a certain time, which was only minutes away. We got a tremendous percentage off our second night stay by making this check. We stayed at a room close to the waterpark, which also includes a restaurant, so we did not have to talk very far. I would recommend staying close to the waterpark end for this reason.
We came during the week while school was in session so we did not wait in line more than a minute for anything, which was fantastic. The waterpark includes two "big" slides that the whole family can ride on and two "smaller" slides for one or two people, as well as the wave pool and bodyboard wave. Very fun!
The hotel room was clean and organized, had a small fridge and stovetop with flatscreen TV and DVD player. We were very pleased with the cleanliness and appointments of the room. Don't drink the water bottle left by the staff, its $4.00. You can bring coolers into the hotel, as usual, so save some cash there. The gift shop has an enormous selection, far better than any place I have stayed before. It is a lot more than a pop machine and candy bar rack. Try the fudge, they were all good. :)
I would recommend this to any friends looking for a fun place to stay to wear their kids out.

Room Tip: I liked staying close to the waterpark for a shorter walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
252 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is our second visit ever to this resort. This time we stayed in the Stone Hill Lodge. After staying at both the main lodge and now the Stone Hill, I would probably choose the Stone Hill. It is up on the hill and a little bit smaller, so MAYBE it would be a little less noisy when full??? (I am pretty certain that this place is CRAZY in the summer regardless of where you stay, but maybe if you stay on an upper floor you could avoid some noise for those that seek quiet.)
I was VERY impressed upon check-in that you had to initial that you would observe the quiet time from 11-7. I have NEVER seen this at a hotel, but I sure wish others would do this! They also have signs reminding you to be respectful of other guests and observe the quiet time as you start down the halls. THANK YOU FOR ATTEMPTING to remind guest to be considerate of others!
The other BIG plus for me on this trip was the air conditioning in the room. It worked so well that I actually got cold! (Doesn't happen often!)
Ok, the REAL reason you visit this resort...the waterpark. It was amazing once again. Some of the metal is starting to show some signs of aging (I'm sure due to the chemicals in the water), but everything was in great working order. My kids (9 and 7) had a blast. They were able to do everything. However, our final morning they were not heavy enough to ride the two big slides by themselves. We visited during a special Homeschool promotion the hotel was doing. I'm marking my calendar for this same week next year. There were not a lot of people, so wait times were VERY short...if any. We only did the waterpark, so we can't say anything about the indoor ropes course, arcade, golf, etc.
One other plus was the shuttle which picked us up at the front door of the Stone Hill and dropped us off at the door of the Waterpark. It ran roughly every 5-10 minutes, so very little wait time.

Room Tip: At the Stone Hill Lodge I would probably request a room on the same side as the parking garage and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MREA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ball, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This was my 5th trip to the Smokies but my first stay at the Wilderness. If you are traveling with children this is the place to stay! You will never have to leave. Sleep, Eat, and Play it has it all.

The rooms are very comfortable, with a beautiful view of the mountains.
comfortable beds, nice size refrigerator, microwave and coffee pot. The only down side is some of the rooms are a very long walk.

As for entertainment, you name it they have it no matter what the weather is. My 5 year grandson loved the indoor water park. Just imagine its 31 degrees outside and you are in a wave pool or zooming down water slides. Indoor mini golf and rope climbs, arcades and jungle gyms. You can even paint your own mug to bring home.

The barbeque buffet is very good and kids eat free! If you love ice cream you have to get a sundae in the huge martini cup but just remember to bring the whole family to eat it!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the east have beautiful views of the sun rise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlhmtl040404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Fantastic place...stayed in a Presidential Suite and it was over the top with amenities. Water park was great, even for an older crowd like us. We had a 2 bedroom unit with a full kitchen and living room. Each morning we could look down on the golf course and see golfers trying to play while wild deer ran on the course. Very peaceful and close to everything. We travel a lot... this place with the views, close to everything, and quite luxury would be in our top 5!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tombuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sevierville
4.1 mi away
Resort at Governor's Crossing
2.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Willow River
Clarion Inn Willow River
#3 of 20 in Sevierville
537 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pigeon Forge - Sevierville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites River Suites
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sevierville
Hampton Inn Sevierville
#2 of 20 in Sevierville
552 reviews
6.3 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#8 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness at the Smokies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness at the Smokies Resort

Property: Wilderness at the Smokies Resort
Address: 1424 Old Knoxville Hwy, Sevierville, TN 37876-1358
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Sevierville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sevierville
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilderness at the Smokies Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 713
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Wilderness at the Smokies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilderness At The Smokies Hotel Sevierville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing