We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the entire family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wilderness at the Smokies Resort
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Sevierville
Old Fort, North Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great for the entire family”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

From the oldest child (9) to the youngest (15months), there was something for each of the four kids! They were entertained for the entire week we were there and wanted to stay longer!! We loved it and will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3 level does not require elevator rides, I loved not having to wait for an elevator to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    835
    418
    234
    215
See reviews for
2,025
53
3
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (733)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Wilderness at the Smokies Resort is awesome. There are two water parks. An indoor water park and an outdoor water park. Both have a wave pool. The Storm Chaser was the favorite in the indoor park. You ride in a raft that will takes you down a huge tube and then into a giant funnel. At night the ride is illuminated with colored lights. The kids loved the Surf rider. It's a stationary wave that you boogie board surf on. Totally cool. The best ride outside has to be the Wild Vortex. Not for the faint at heart. You fall straight down and then shoot up a hill and back down. The heavier you are, the faster you go. Great place to take the family if your in the Smokies. Nice rooms and they let you go to the water park the day you arrive and let you go even on the day you check out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaltR62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Wilderness at the Smokies Resort is like no other. This place is huge! But who cares about that. The main attraction is the water park. The indoor water park has two giant water rides, two tube slides, a surf rider, a multi-level play area and a wave pool. The Storm Chaser was our favorite. Five people can ride in a raft that will take you into a giant funnel. It's even better at night. Outside is the best lazy river I've been on. It's long and half-way thru you enter a wave pool. A new feature is the water drag strip. Four tubes with a starting countdown be put to the test who truly is the fastest tube rider. Now the best part about the outdoor park is the Wild Vortex. Have you ever wondered what it was like to be flushed down a tube? Here's your chance. First, you climb in an upright tube. The door shuts (don't worry it's clear). 3...2...1... and the floor drops out from underneath you. You feel like your falling straight down! They say it's a 2.5 G drop in two seconds, I say... it's cool! If your not weight challenged like me, you will fly. The weight limit is 100 lbs to maybe 250 lbs. Something like that. If your too light or too heavy, you won't be able to get over the "loop." Don't fret, there's an escape hatch.

O.K. here's the big plus... the wonderful people at Wilderness at the Smokies let you go to the water park before your check-in time AND you can stay till closing even after you've checked out! Two days of a cool water park for only one nights stay. That's awesome when your a big family on a budget. I guess I should mention that the rooms are great. Comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't take the time away from the water park to eat at the resort, but I heard it was good.

Wilderness is a must stay if you're visiting the Smokies.

Room Tip: There are numerous choices for room sizes. Rooms up to 15 guests and villas up to 16.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We went last October and had alot of fun however there were some disappointments. Pillows are awful(def bring your own), coffee pot still had coffee from last guests, food is awful and seriously overpriced (go out to eat), old beer but the worst was the fire alarm that went off for HOURS in the middle of the night on our last night there. Our kids had a blast though so that was our main goal.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mere5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our family was Very impressed!This is our second stay here. Kids loved the water parks. Adults too! Buffet was good, lots of choices, kids ate well. All facilities were Clean and very affordable!We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Stay in main building if possible. 3rd floor balcony overlooking lazy river is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

First visit to this Resort, the kids loved it! Very clean and well kept units. Water park staff was well trained and areas were clean. Very reasonably priced. We are adding this to our yearly vacation list!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was the best vacation our family has ever had ! Our kids had a blast ! The staff was excellent and professional ! We are going to book again soon . I highly recommend this to any one desiring an excellent vacation!!!!!.....*****

Room Tip: All the rooms are great ,however we would prefer rooms on 1st floor that have a patio looking @ the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sevierville
4.1 mi away
Resort at Governor's Crossing
2.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Willow River
Clarion Inn Willow River
#4 of 20 in Sevierville
554 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites River Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pigeon Forge - Sevierville
2.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sevierville Pigeon Forge
5.9 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness at the Smokies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness at the Smokies Resort

Property: Wilderness at the Smokies Resort
Address: 1424 Old Knoxville Hwy, Sevierville, TN 37876-1358
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Sevierville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sevierville
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilderness at the Smokies Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 713
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Wilderness at the Smokies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilderness At The Smokies Hotel Sevierville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing