We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“PERFECT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wilderness at the Smokies Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wilderness at the Smokies Resort
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Sevierville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PERFECT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in June of 2010 and it was AMAZING!!! The staff were friendly the rooms were great.the reaturant/buffet was kinda too expensive for my taste. Over all great for a family and honeymooners :). I will be returning as soon as possible

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meg37343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    758
    380
    205
    183
See reviews for
1,815
45
3
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birchleaf
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We just returned home from a 2 night stay. The overall stay was great. The resort cleanliness was excellent in both the resorts and the waterpark. As for the food the Thirsty Miner has a decent selection. Would love to see a few more items on the menu. As far as the overall quality, it was great. We love the resort and due plan on returning in the future. The water is a bit chilly though even for the high temperature of the dome. If you love water, putt putt, good food, and an overall great time without having to leave the property then this is the place for you. We will be returning in the very near future.

Room Tip: Travel during the off season months such as Jan and Feb and you will save roughly $100 a night compa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iresons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel right after Christmas to celebrate our son's 6th birthday. We are a family of 5 and the grandparents came too! Due to staying during the Smokey Mountain's most busy weekend, the rate was very high and therefor our expectations were set even higher. Reading some of the reviews made me a bit uneasy, but we went with great expectations. We have traveled extensively to various all-inclusive properties, 5 star hotels, cruises, etc. Even our little darlings have had the bar set high. Our expectations were met and we had a WONDERFUL time. Our children are 7, 6, and 1. Each one of them had a total blast! Even the grandparents enjoyed it.

We stayed in the main lodge that is connected to the indoor waterpark. I HIGHLY recommend staying in this building. This building is large as is, and traveling from one of the other buildings would be very inconvenient, in my opinion. Also, the indoor waterpark is very warm, so I feel like this is a great spot for Fall/Winter travel. It might feel a bit too steamy in warm weather. I am sure that they adjust the temp. for the season, but still...something about an indoor water park in the summer doesn't sound appealing to me. This property does have an outdoor watermark. We did not look at it; no need to in December. For the price of this place, I really like the novelty of visiting a waterpark in the Winter, so I feel that chose the right season. The room was scrupulously clean and simply adorable. We loved the wilderness decor. The room has a mini fridge that was VERY cold (we turned it all the way and it kept the baby's milk frozen as desired!). It also has a microwave and stove-top burner. The beds were not comfortable, at all, but seriously, who cares? That is a minor inconvenience to me.

The waterpark has a wave pool that is plenty sizable, but obviously not as large as the one you would find at an outdoor, large waterpark. There is a small little kiddie area w/ swings where the baby's feet dangle in the water, and there are a few sprinklers in this area as well. Very cute for children under 4! There is a surf simulator that was a big hit w/ the big boys (great for ages 5 to adult), and one of those water playgrounds w/ the splash bucket on top. This area has a child size water slide. This area is best suited for children ages 2-10, in my opinion. The big features of the waterpark include 4 tube slides. 2 of the slides require you to carry a 1 or 2 seater tube up a couple flights of stairs (no biggie) and the 2 "family" style slides have a nifty conveyor that brings up the big, round rafts for you. The one family slide as the same height requirement as the 2 tube slides, but there is a thrill ride that has a height requirement of 48 inches. Both our boys were just a pinch too short for it. The waterpark also a swimming pool w/ activities like basketball and volleyball that is in a heated, enclosed porch area. There is also a large hot tub that is partially outside, which was a fun experience! The hot tub allows kids, so our children really enjoyed this.

Despite the fact that the hotel was very busy during our stay, we never felt as though the waterpark was too crowded. We did have to look closely for chairs, but always found some, no matter the time of day. Plus, who needs a chair for your whole family? 1 or 2 will do! The lines were too long on the "thrill" slides, and there were plenty of floats for the wave pool.

The indoor arcade area is fun too. It adds something extra to do after you are finished swimming. The arcade was larger than any other hotel arcade that we have seen and had lots of interested, unique games. There was an indoor play structure (similar to what you would see at a nice McDonalds) that was free to use. For a small fee, there was laser tag, a laser maze, a few bowling lanes, and an elevated ropes course. We felt that the prices were OK.

We at at the Thirsty Miner once for dinner and once for breakfast. We did so purely out of convenience and since the kids were free. We wanted to eat dinner and head back to the water park. The buffet was bleh, but the kids liked it (fries, chicken nuggets, cheap pizza, corn, typical kid food). Likewise, we returned for breakfast again out of convenience and the breakfast buffet was so-so. There was an omlette station, make-it-youself-waffles, cereal...the typical hotel breakfast. I would have less of a complaint if the prices were lower, but again the kids were free so it balanced out.

There was another little eatery that had a wide selection of ice cream, gourmet candies, and snack-like foods. I noticed that they also made sub sandwiches. We did not try it, but this might have been a better option than the dinner buffet at the Thirsty Miner. We also tried the food at the snack restaurant inside the indoor waterpark. It was your typical over-priced "bowling alley" style junk, but our we came for the waterpark, not the food so it wasn't a disappointment. On the upside, there is a bar inside the waterpark! :-)

The only complaint that we have, and this the reason for the "very good" rating rather than "excellent," was the service. It was just "eh.." No one was rude or provided poor service, but the staff was not exactly friendly or helpful. We noticed this at check-in, from the room cleaning staff, and in the restaurants. Again, no one was rude, but no one stood out as really caring about providing a memorable level of service either.

Lastly, an observation that we noted (as did the grandparents) was that the fellow tourists were quite lovely. All of the children that we encountered throughout the property were positively delightful. Never have we seen so many lovely families with well-mannered children in one place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lactamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie Valley, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We took advantage of some amazing deals that the Wilderness Resort was offering and am so glad we did! Our room with the bunk bed for the kids was wonderful, with a half-wall to allow privacy and 2 separate tv's (although to the two tv's so close together was a cacaphony and we decided it was better to just watch the same thing). The kids loved the bunk beds, and all the beds were VERY comfortable. The water park is unbelievable fun and the staff were all awesome. We also went to the indoor wilderness adventure and had a blast - even got my timid son up on the ropes course! The lazer tag was great fun, as was the mini-golf, arcade, lazer maze, bowling - it was all FUN, FUN, FUN!!!! My only regret was we couldn't stay longer!

Room Tip: If it's winter it is definitely worth it to be on the River Lodge side so you are right at the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LSG93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We took four girls ages 6-8 to the resort this past weekend. The first night they were beyond excited! The water park was laid out well, lines were not bad, and the staff was friendly and helpful.

We ate dinner at 'The Thirsty Miner'. The food was very tasty and hot with a nice selection. It was pricey at $18 for the buffet, but the kids ate free. It was a little annoying as a party of 8 to have to pay 18% gratuity when we all had the buffet. The 2nd night we ate less expensively off-site. The plated breakfast at 'The Thirsty Miner' was good and reasonable, with a lot of food.

Our two rooms were both very nice and clean. We were extremely impressed with the rooms and layout.

The only problem, which was a BIG one, was the water park was certainly not the warm 85 degree environment advertised! The adults were ok, but the girls were very cold, and by the 2nd day, just wanted to stay in the warm "hot" tub. In fact, the warm tubs were packed with kids all trying to get warm and we saw lots of little ones shivering with blue lips.

Overall, this was clean, well run, and a lot of fun, but the water park was too cold for the kids to fully enjoy it for long.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Volgrltn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Typically, I do not like water parks and am very picky about hotel accommodations. My family of 4 just returned from a 2 night stay at the Wilderness Resort in Sevierville, TN. Of course, it was too cold to partake in the outdoor activities; however, the indoor water park and arcade were both great. The outdoor area had a few water slides, lazy river, and putt-putt golf. The water park was very clean and everyone we encountered was very helpful. The resort is family friendly and easy to navigate. We had a typical hotel room with 2 queen beds; however, the added bonus of a microwave (full size), refrigerator, and cook top stove were great. As other reviewers have mentioned, it is loud at night until around 11pm and begins around 8am. The food is over-priced, but you should expect that when going to any park type atmosphere. Tip: drinks have free refills. Overall, my kids 10 and 11 had a great time and we will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed from december 21-24 on the wyndham side of the resort and couldn't have asked for anything more! Our two bedroom condo was extremely spacious and comforably slept our family of five. Our entire family enjoyed the indoor waterpark. Our two older teenage boys got tired of it after about an hour but our younger 8 year old daughter could have stayed there all day. The rest of the resort/hotel reminded me of a small city almost. It is huge and they have just about anything you need. We could have done most of our grocery shopping here if we had watned to. The outdoor water park looked like a lot of fun and would definitely be worth going to during the warmer months. All of the staff was extemely helpful and friendly and check in was a total breeze. Our kids all had a great time at the arcade, although the prices seemed a little bit steep. However overall, we had nothing to complain about durng our stay, and this being our first stay, we are definitely interested in returning and would recommend this resort to anybody who is interested!

Room Tip: Stay on the wyndham side. It was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sevierville
4.1 mi away
Resort at Governor's Crossing
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pigeon Forge - Sevierville
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sevierville
Hampton Inn Sevierville
#1 of 20 in Sevierville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Willow River
Clarion Inn Willow River
#4 of 20 in Sevierville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites River Suites
11.8 mi away
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness at the Smokies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness at the Smokies Resort

Property: Wilderness at the Smokies Resort
Address: 1424 Old Knoxville Hwy, Sevierville, TN 37876-1358
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Sevierville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sevierville
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilderness at the Smokies Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 713
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Wilderness at the Smokies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilderness At The Smokies Hotel Sevierville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing