We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great holiday break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderness at the Smokies Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wilderness at the Smokies Resort
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Sevierville
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great holiday break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for a night for a last minute getaway. We have 2 school-age children. The price was very reasonable, especially for two days of water park admission (if you stay one night, you get in the day before and the day after...that wasn't super clear on the reservation). We stayed in the Stone Hill Lodge (which is called the Sevierville conference hotel, or something?) and it was just fine. Very quiet, comfortable room, and what amounted to three queen size beds (two plus a pull out couch). We found the beds to be fine...not sure what the other reviews are talking about but we are kind of picky, and they were perfectly pleasant.

The waterpark was great! Our kids are perfect age for it and we rode everything too. You can't beat a waterpark in December, IMO. There are four big slides, a giant hot tub that's indoor/outdoor, a wave pool, a kids area, and a place where you can "surf." We pretty much loved all of it. It was a little cold inside....85 degrees would be a stretch...but it was in the 20s outside and snowing! There was an area for toddlers too that looked fun. The lockers and changing rooms were fine and available when we needed them even though it was a little crowded (the day after Christmas).

The shuttle buses from the sister hotel (which we took a couple times) were there almost instantly. We had to wait maybe 5 minutes one time.

We highly recommend this fun getaway and I hope we go back!

Room Tip: I'd stay in the Stone Hill Lodge again. It was quiet and comfortable and MUCH cheaper, and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethbirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    732
    350
    196
    176
See reviews for
1,731
42
3
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We loved the waterpark, the staff and the food. When you get to the accommodations - they rank on the poor side. The beds were extremely uncomfortable mostly because the sheet on the bottom of the mattress was not fitted and kept creeping up during the night. The next morning the staff was extremely helpful and fixed the issue. The next morning - there was no hot water for showers. I'm just not that impressed. I'd rather stay at a Holiday Inn for less $$ and have better sleeping accommodations, even if its more inconvenient to the waterpark - which was a fun time for all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ReneeValdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Family of six stayed at Wilderness Resort to celebrate NYE.
Positives: waterpark amenities, nice staff, clean room. Trolley was always prompt and had kind workers
Negatives: NO hot water- none! I spoke to two other couples as I checked out. Neither had hot water. It was so cold that kids skipped a shower. Another family said their crew all skipped a shower because of very cold water.
Room tv only had 5 working channels!
Noisy , noisy, noisy! Loud noises ALL night long ... I'm a night owl. I have a large family. I'm used to loud people, but the noise level at the Wilderness was to the EXTREME!!!
Also, a man dressed in KFed gear ( pants sagging down to knees) played with his remote control car in hallway at 12:45 am and 7:45 am.
Loooooooong walk to lobby/ trolley from our room.
NOT WORTH THE $267 I paid for one night. I'll go to the other indoor water park next time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lfletch1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

do not choose the " Queen Murphy Room". the room was cramped with one queen bed that folds into the wall and a sofa springy bed. I requested a pack and play but got a broken one.
The housekeeping came in but did provide clean towels.
My only consolation was the fact that my Kids had a great time at the indoor water park.

Room Tip: do not choose the " Queen Murphy Room". the room was cramped with one queen bed that folds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momkkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOVER
Level Contributor
379 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Seeing this is my 6th time to visit, I am going to review it very detailed.
First the check in: They are not very good at checking you in earlier than 3:30, they usually make you wait so if you are going at a busy time of the year don't go early expecting they will have a room for you, cause they wont. You always want to ask for a room on the first floor, close to the waterpark, facing the parking lot! This way you are close to everything. We always request and we always get one, until this year. We ended up checking in and they gave us a room on the fourth floor, when we asked about our room request they said they did not have one and they already pre assign the rooms at another location so no changes can be made. We were very disappointed and did not like the location of our room. We were told that when you make a room request you must call back in to see if they actually got it
WaterPark: go right at 9 when it opens and get you a great table, also carry a little cooler with a few drinks in it, coolers are not allowed but as long as you are not flashing them around, they never say anything. I brought a little cooler and then sat it inside our beach bag with snacks too.
Room Service: Room service is not that great, they always show up right when you are getting in from the park, so one night we told them we were in the room so they skipped us, which was fine, then we called down to see if they could come make our beds and take the garbage out, because we had no service for 3 days. They never showed up!!
One last thing, expect the hallways to be loud, every year it is always someones kids running up and up and down the hallway screaming at all times of the night.
Adventure Forest: It is awesome, the arcade is clean and big, my daughter loved it!! The golf was fun, glow in the dark!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CAROL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a great trip - we spent 4 nights there. The room was decent, clean, etc but the waterpark and adventure resort were outstanding.

The life guards at the resort were ever present and watchful. I felt my 10 year old was safe there.

The adventure forest was fun, too. The ropes course was easy for him and he had a blast on the video games. I recommend the all stay pass.

Room Tip: We asked for a room near the water park - the front desk was able to make sure that happened.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JD H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed only one night at the resort but it was amazing.We had a wonderful time there. Our kids loved all kinds of water activities and water slides especially the wave pool and hot tub in this cold weather.Also had a great time at the arcade game area. Cant wait to visit this place again in summer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faria_khan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sevierville
4.1 mi away
Resort at Governor's Crossing
Resort at Governor's Crossing
#2 of 20 in Sevierville
4.0 of 5 stars 969 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pigeon Forge - Sevierville
5.8 mi away
The Inn at Christmas Place
The Inn at Christmas Place
#1 of 93 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 stars 1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#7 of 93 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 stars 798 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sevierville
Hampton Inn Sevierville
#1 of 20 in Sevierville
4.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites River Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness at the Smokies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness at the Smokies Resort

Property: Wilderness at the Smokies Resort
Address: 1424 Old Knoxville Hwy, Sevierville, TN 37876-1358
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Sevierville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sevierville
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilderness at the Smokies Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 713
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Wilderness at the Smokies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilderness At The Smokies Hotel Sevierville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing