We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and Rooms are Subpar” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderness at the Smokies Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wilderness at the Smokies Resort to your Saves list
Wilderness at the Smokies Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1424 Old Knoxville Highway, Sevierville, TN 37876   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Sevierville
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Rooms are Subpar”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Family of six stayed at Wilderness Resort to celebrate NYE.
Positives: waterpark amenities, nice staff, clean room. Trolley was always prompt and had kind workers
Negatives: NO hot water- none! I spoke to two other couples as I checked out. Neither had hot water. It was so cold that kids skipped a shower. Another family said their crew all skipped a shower because of very cold water.
Room tv only had 5 working channels!
Noisy , noisy, noisy! Loud noises ALL night long ... I'm a night owl. I have a large family. I'm used to loud people, but the noise level at the Wilderness was to the EXTREME!!!
Also, a man dressed in KFed gear ( pants sagging down to knees) played with his remote control car in hallway at 12:45 am and 7:45 am.
Loooooooong walk to lobby/ trolley from our room.
NOT WORTH THE $267 I paid for one night. I'll go to the other indoor water park next time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lfletch1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

do not choose the " Queen Murphy Room". the room was cramped with one queen bed that folds into the wall and a sofa springy bed. I requested a pack and play but got a broken one.
The housekeeping came in but did provide clean towels.
My only consolation was the fact that my Kids had a great time at the indoor water park.

Room Tip: do not choose the " Queen Murphy Room". the room was cramped with one queen bed that folds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momkkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOVER
Level Contributor
379 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Seeing this is my 6th time to visit, I am going to review it very detailed.
First the check in: They are not very good at checking you in earlier than 3:30, they usually make you wait so if you are going at a busy time of the year don't go early expecting they will have a room for you, cause they wont. You always want to ask for a room on the first floor, close to the waterpark, facing the parking lot! This way you are close to everything. We always request and we always get one, until this year. We ended up checking in and they gave us a room on the fourth floor, when we asked about our room request they said they did not have one and they already pre assign the rooms at another location so no changes can be made. We were very disappointed and did not like the location of our room. We were told that when you make a room request you must call back in to see if they actually got it
WaterPark: go right at 9 when it opens and get you a great table, also carry a little cooler with a few drinks in it, coolers are not allowed but as long as you are not flashing them around, they never say anything. I brought a little cooler and then sat it inside our beach bag with snacks too.
Room Service: Room service is not that great, they always show up right when you are getting in from the park, so one night we told them we were in the room so they skipped us, which was fine, then we called down to see if they could come make our beds and take the garbage out, because we had no service for 3 days. They never showed up!!
One last thing, expect the hallways to be loud, every year it is always someones kids running up and up and down the hallway screaming at all times of the night.
Adventure Forest: It is awesome, the arcade is clean and big, my daughter loved it!! The golf was fun, glow in the dark!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CAROL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a great trip - we spent 4 nights there. The room was decent, clean, etc but the waterpark and adventure resort were outstanding.

The life guards at the resort were ever present and watchful. I felt my 10 year old was safe there.

The adventure forest was fun, too. The ropes course was easy for him and he had a blast on the video games. I recommend the all stay pass.

Room Tip: We asked for a room near the water park - the front desk was able to make sure that happened.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JD H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed only one night at the resort but it was amazing.We had a wonderful time there. Our kids loved all kinds of water activities and water slides especially the wave pool and hot tub in this cold weather.Also had a great time at the arcade game area. Cant wait to visit this place again in summer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faria_khan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at the Wilderness on December 22nd as part of our children's Christmas gift. We had gone 3 years prior when the indoor waterpark was the only attraction, and we weren't super impressed then. However, when we took our kids for Christmas, we saw that they have added a tremendous amount of attractions. The indoor adventure park is like Gatti Land on steroids. There are several large scale games and giant sized claw machines. There is a ropes course above the video game section, miniature bowling, black light miniature golf, and lazer tag. My oldest daughter is severely autistic, so we did not stand in line for the lazer tag, but my husband and younger daughter said that it was fun. The kids got to meet and have their picture made with Santa, and later that night he came to the waterpark to swim with the kids. The restaurants are plentiful, but overpriced. I suggest driving somewhere else to eat unless you are very tired. We were extremely lucky and got the room closest to the waterpark, so we literally walked around the corner from our room. Definitely read the map of the resorts before you book your room. For our family, it is not worth the hassle of driving over from the other "wing" of the hotel in order to take part in the amenities. One last thing, there is a gift shop that also sells custom chocolates and Starbucks drinks that is totally geared toward kids. It is great! We also looked in the "paint your own pottery" shop before leaving, and we will definitely attempt it the next visit.

Room Tip: The rooms are average to small in size, so if you can afford it, choose a bigger room. There are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chamfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My family and I stayed at this resort for 3 days and 2 nights. We had an absolutely amazing time. The only problem we had was with someone charging drinks to our room, but it was handled in a timely manner. The indoor waterpark was a great way to get a way from the cold and rainy outdoors. We are looking forward to hopefully being able to come back during the summer to enjoy the outdoor waterpark as well!!

Room Tip: For a view of the mountains, get an even numbered room from the 4th floor up (if staying at Stone)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sevierville
4.1 mi away
Resort at Governor's Crossing
Resort at Governor's Crossing
#8 of 22 in Sevierville
4.0 of 5 stars 818 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Inn at Christmas Place
The Inn at Christmas Place
#1 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 stars 1,617 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Apple Valley
Comfort Inn Apple Valley
#2 of 22 in Sevierville
4.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#5 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 stars 572 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 22 in Sevierville
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites River Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness at the Smokies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness at the Smokies Resort

Address: 1424 Old Knoxville Highway, Sevierville, TN 37876
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Sevierville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sevierville
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilderness at the Smokies Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 713
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Wilderness at the Smokies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilderness At The Smokies Hotel Sevierville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing