We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soiled Bed Linens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wilderness at the Smokies Resort
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Sevierville
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Soiled Bed Linens”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Check your bed linens when you first get into your room. Both beds had soiled bed linens from the previous guest(s). Guest services stated they change linens every three (3) days. At $165 rates they could change them more often. If they are scrimping on linens the next place to look is food services and what are they doing to save money in that area?

Room Tip: Be prepared to wait a long time checking in. One clerk for 7 groups while other staff at other end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    823
    410
    230
    213
See reviews for
1,992
52
3
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (726)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lombard, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Stone Hill Lodge, which is not connected to the main lodge and indoor waterpark. We thought it would be easy to walk across the street, but it is not. There are elevation changes, and no convenient direct sidewalk or way to get there without walking a few blocks, effectively. (in your bathing suit!) Luckily, we had excellent weather and didn't mind taking the shuttle. It does come by often.

This resort and waterpark are MUCH smaller than the Dells property of the same name. No lazy river here (at least not indoors/in fall and winter months). It's definitely geared more towards families with small children. Hours were minimal, you basically had to go off-site to get food, etc. (again, just different from the Dells one that has restaurants).

However, it is in the heart of Sevierville and food and entertainment options abound nearby. We had a great time visiting the Gatlinburg area and the resort wasn't too expensive so we would consider staying there again.

In the area there are some beautiful cabin rentals - the Wilderness property did not have beautiful views.

Our unit was nice, and we did have a fridge, balcony, etc. which were nice amenities to have.

Watch out for the time share people - if you need to park your car, they won't give you the parking pass until they pitch their Windham timeshares at you! I hate this, why do they do this to us? It's really a turnoff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Undecided_In_VP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Took two grandsons during Fall Break in October. Wonderful recreation for a six year old and eight year old boy. Had a great time! HOWEVER....BEWARE! When leaving our suite, we locked up all valuables in the room safe that we thought might be stolen. Who would think that housekeeping would help themselves to $200 worth of perfume, makeup, etc.?! Reported this to security the next day. Jason assured me he would investigate and call me back. Still waiting. Also contacted resort through their web site. Still waiting. Disappointed in the lack of communication about this. Where is customer relations? Sadly, a great trip ended badly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MAnderson2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sevierville hotels

Franklin, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very nice for a winter trip of two to three days, plenty to do for young children on the site and lots to do off site too. We are thinking about a Friday through Sunday trip in January or Feb this coming winter. Good way to give the kids a break from the winter weather.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank THNunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

In serious need of a major remodeling and updating. Old, tacky fake log furniture. Overpriced. You can get a Hilton for the same price. The TV channels don't match the guide, the heat doesn't work, and the bedspreads are from the 1980s. The pillows are tiny and old. Poorly lit. Burned out bulbs. Oh, and because I reserved the night before (for three nights), I was told that if I cancelled I had to pay the full amount and the only way I could get a refund was as a credit to be used within the year. Unbelievable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank CindyLoohoooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had some bad experiences- including an evacuation due to fire alarm which would have been ok but it was followed with 2 hours where they couldnt figure out how to turn alarm off (all around 3am) and no response for weeks when trying to talk to someone about them. Finally got money off for next visit! Ha what next visit??!! Also got told by a manager that customers were not the only ones inconvenienced by alarm, employees were too! Really?? The layout of place is confusing and trash piled everwhere. Mattresses are in desperate need to be replaced also. Mainly custmer service while there and after is horrible and they are rude. Way too expensive for treatment like that and problems to boot! The waterpark is not even worth the hassle as my kids though teens had fun for about half a day and then they were bored.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DawnB9592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Took my Family for a weekend stay. Stayed in teh river lodge ( connected to the park). it is around 40 more per night but ou dont have shuttle back and forth in the cold while your wet. Taxes and fees are crazy. You will get the Wyndham resorts TimeShare/Condo sales pitch a couple time while there. which turned me off when paying 200+ per night. The food choices at hotel are very prices, and all activities other than the water park are sky high and you hav eto walk the kids through the arcade and everything else to get in and out of the water park.
Plan to spend some money while there. use your small fridge and microwave to save some money, we ate breakfast and lunch in the room and went out for dinner.
THE BEDS ARE HORRIBLE!!! DONT THINK YOU WILL SLEEP WELL!
My other problem was a little different. I know that the rest. had a bar in it, And I dont ha ve aproblem with that. But it seemed a little in your face to have a full open air (sports) bar in the water park right between the toddler area and the infant area. Small children running and playing while parents sit and drink all day. And im talking free pour liquor and beers on tap not even behind closed doors. Just didnt strike me as family friendly, and I drink beer at times. It was just weird.
Probably wont go again. unless for some reason its free.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sevierville
4.1 mi away
Resort at Governor's Crossing
2.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Willow River
Clarion Inn Willow River
#3 of 20 in Sevierville
547 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pigeon Forge - Sevierville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites River Suites
6.3 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#9 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
1,290 reviews
2.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sevierville Pigeon Forge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness at the Smokies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness at the Smokies Resort

Property: Wilderness at the Smokies Resort
Address: 1424 Old Knoxville Hwy, Sevierville, TN 37876-1358
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Sevierville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sevierville
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilderness at the Smokies Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 713
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Wilderness at the Smokies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilderness At The Smokies Hotel Sevierville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing