We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average prices, average fun, below average food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wilderness at the Smokies Resort
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Sevierville
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Above average prices, average fun, below average food”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Good place to stop in if you have kids. If you don't have kids I can't imagine why you would visit.

Pricey accommodations, though rooms were large at the Stonehill Lodge. Tiled floors make for a noisy entry and hallway in the sleeping room. Overall rooms were just okay - almost the same price per night as a Disney luxury property, but without any luxury. Felt like a moderate/budget resort. Stonehill property definitely quieter and less chaotic than the main River Lodge. Shuttle service was quick and convenient.

Kids did have fun at the water parks. We traveled with 4 kids - ages 13, 11, 9 and 4 - and the 2 youngest were happy to use the Stonehill kiddie pools. Two oldest were happy at the River Lodge with the big kid slides. Hubby and I went on the Vortex and it was quite fun and terrifying at the same time.

Worst part of the stay were the food options - or lack of them. First night dinner at the main restaurant in Stonehill lodge was ridiculously salty and inedible. Waitress was told, but she did nothing about it. Service was slow, even though we were the only people there since we were eating early for the kids. Not a vegetable in sight on the menu unless you count fried green beans. Everything was fried - I think they would have fried the drinks if they could have figured out how. No salad options, either. Don't they realize adults have to eat, too?!? Room service menus were surprisingly affordable, but could not get anyone to answer the phone to place an order. Finally got through and was told it would be 1 hour for any order placed. Bottom line, we went out instead and ate off property for every other meal, too.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsGmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    819
    406
    226
    209
See reviews for
1,975
50
3
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed at wilderness of the smokies at river lodge. I had checked out the reviews first and thought maybe the waterpark would make it worth it for the little ones. Well, first off the vortex was not working, which was a little dissapointing. We then got to our room and seen a roach. It looked half dead like maybe they sprayed it. We packed our stuff up and told the staff there was a roach in our room. They didn't even check it out which made us think this was a common problem. We finally agreed to stay only if they gave us a room on a whole different hall. And they did as well as a 10% discount. Didn't see any roaches in our second room The lifeguards were very nice but the hotel staff not so much. The girls did enjoy the waterpark though. And I guess thats what matters, as long as they had fun. I can't really say whether we would stay here again or not.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aimee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sevierville hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My partner and I, along with his daughter went to the resort from Aug. 31 - Sept. 4. We stayed at the Stonehill Lodge where the Salamander Water Park is. There is a shuttle that runs every 5 minutes o the River Lodge which has the indoor waterpark and another outdoor waterpark. Overall thoughts. Hotel was very good. Great and friendly workers. Bed sheet came off every night so can use bigger ones but didn't complain. Stonehill lodge water park is definitely more kiddie. No fast rides, but good for a few slides, bucket watere drop, and pool with basketball hoops. Indoor waterpark was very good. Great wavepool, surfing, and 4 cool waterslides. They have a vortex slide for the outdoor waterpark at the river lodge which looked cool. Really nice lazy river ride, but not much outside of that. Restaurants on site were typical buffet style and pizza, chicken tender spots. Breakfast is a good deal for 13.99 with kids eating free. Dinner not so much for 18.99 with kids eating free. Just not worth 18.99. I would say the experience overall was good. Definitely always remind you of timeshare opportunities but just say no to whoever asks you and they will leave you alone. A pretty good resort for a long weekend. Just remember that it is more for kids, and sock away some money for the meals which will add up. Adventure forest is a gaming area that our 9 year old really enjoyed and the rope and wall climbing. Think chuck e cheese. About a 4 hour ride from Atlanta. Would we go back? Possibly with a great deal. But most likely we will try other options. Definitely worth a one time trip.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The hotel looks nice from the outside, but after checking in three elevators and a long walk we finally got to our room. The room smelled like body odor and had roaches in the room and bathroom. The kids enjoyed the water park, we sat at the tables and waited for the them to play the first evening at the indoor water park. After two hours we were drenched in sweat because it is so hot in there. We went to bed around 10:30 and were kept up by all the noise of the surrounding rooms especially the people walking around above us until midnight and then woke up again at 6:30am with the same noise. We went to the breakfast buffet the next morning, not alot to choose from and cost $30 for one adult and one child. The other child did eat free but drinks were not included. We went back to the water park after breakfast and it was cooler outside than inside but not alot for the kids to do at the outside waterpark. Overall, not impressed and would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshleyC790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is the best place to stay in the area if you have kids by far. We have stayed in the Whyndom part and hotel part and live both. the Whyndom rooms r very upscale and the hotel rooms are like log cabins. More room in the Whyndom rooms. Make sure if u are in Whyndom you stay in the main building attached to pool. Only one I would stay in. New game room bigger than Chuck E Cheese is amazing. Kids eat free at buffe but not worth $18 for adults, but lots of fast food choices and pizza, an many many restaurant to eat in as well as great outlets around. Staff was amazing everywhere.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura44444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

We booked our stay a little leery after reading some of the recent reviews on here- but like anything else you're taking a chance either way. We arrived at 12:00 and noticed some other people already getting their rooms although room check in isn't until after 4:00. Our room was not ready yet but said would be very shortly and gave us keys and said would txt the room # to us as soon as ready. Concierge did try to ask about timeshare presentation but wasn't pushy at all. That was last we heard of it the whole time. We went on to indoor park and within an hour got a txt our room was ready. When we got to room it was nice and clean and everything in working order. That night when went to make queen sleeper sofa up for son, the fitted sheet was a twin. Called guest services and had a queen set delivered within 10 mins. Yes, the water at base of storm chaser slide was a little "rusty" looking, but given how frequently it is used and in water constantly and doesn't allow for frequent maintenance, that's kind of a given. It's not necessarily attractive, but it's not harming you for the whole 5 seconds you are in it either. This was the only one that had that issue. The only raft slide my son was tall enough for was at salamander springs. It closed early Monday at 5pm and did not open at all Tuesday. (only indoor park was open due to low volume visitors on weekday- kind of stinks for people with younger children not of school age yet, but understandable from business viewpoint). Overall this was best value for our family as our child isn't tall enough to do all the thrill slides yet-- splash county would've been $140/day for the 3 of us (plus cost if a hotel) and one of us would have had to stay in kiddie area whole time while other rode alone. (we took turns doing this at the wilderness too but the lines weren't terribly long.) we ate outside the resort except for one lunch, which we purchased at grizzly grill. We figured by the time we drove out and factored gas, the price would have come out same and this way we didn't lose playtime. We are not big buffet eaters and couldn't justify $18/person for other meals even if our son ate free (like he'd eat enough to justify the jacked up parent price)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kdrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

2nd trip to Wilderness was Labor Day Weekend. It was crowded but not unmanageable. My only complaints are food is expensive (typical), the elevators are small and there are not enough of them (especially during check out time), they did not replace the towels in our room (said they ran out) and the pool towels are small and thin (bring your own beach towels). Kids (6, 8 & 18) had a good time. The ropes course is a great addition. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAR231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sevierville
4.1 mi away
Resort at Governor's Crossing
2.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Willow River
Clarion Inn Willow River
#3 of 20 in Sevierville
537 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pigeon Forge - Sevierville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites River Suites
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sevierville
Hampton Inn Sevierville
#2 of 20 in Sevierville
552 reviews
6.3 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#8 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness at the Smokies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness at the Smokies Resort

Property: Wilderness at the Smokies Resort
Address: 1424 Old Knoxville Hwy, Sevierville, TN 37876-1358
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Sevierville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sevierville
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilderness at the Smokies Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 713
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Wilderness at the Smokies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilderness At The Smokies Hotel Sevierville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing