We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great inexpensive wines”
Review of Apple Barn Winery

Apple Barn Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Day Tour: Moonshine and Wine Tasting from Gatlinburg
Ranked #12 of 85 things to do in Sevierville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From our fresh cut orchard, we produce apple-based wine blended with other fruits, including grapes. Located on the banks of the Little Pigeon River in the Apple Barn Village, the Apple Barn Winery is next door to the world-famous Apple Barn General Store & Cider Mill, two great restaurants, a bakery, a candy store, an ice cream shop, and a Christmas shop. The Apple Barn Winery offers a unique twist on wine. Our wine is hand crafted in small lots on the farm to provide each customer the best possible wine from local fruit. Open daily for tasting and sales, our family oriented staff would love for you to stop by. Even if you are not a “wine connoisseur”, you will still take pleasure in browsing our gift shop full of unique items as well as wine accessories. Our video tour is a wonderful educational experience that provides the opportunity to learn more about the winemaker’s art.
Dunwoody, Ga.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great inexpensive wines”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very good selection, several of the fruit whites and the reds are well worth trying. Usually have a sample area.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank johnpitt11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    114
    59
    30
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Biloxi, Mississippi, United States
1 review
“Love the Apple Cranberry Wine”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I love this place. I had no clue about apple wines so was a little leary but we tried several and all were good and some were very good but I love the apple cranberry and wish I had gotten more than 2 bottles. I had drank both bottles within 2 weeks of getting home. I have no way of getting more b/c Mississippi doesn't allow mail order wine and don't know of any place that sells it on the Ms. Gulf Coast. Guess I will have something to look forward to next year when I get a dozen bottles.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GiGiM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best wine I've ever had!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The winery is a great little spot! Go next door and get some Apple Coffee Cake then taste all the wines and buy you a case! The more you buy the cheaper the wine is! We had a blast tasting the different wines and left with several cases. It's good, it's fun and the value is great! Will be back again!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bnkb1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Winery - not so great”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Visited the Apple Barn, winery, and candle store. Really liked the small Apple Barn sitting area and apple pie with ice cream. Did not care for the winery. We have been to many wineries and this ranks at the bottom, mostly because of the lackluster attitude of the help and the not so good taste of their various wines. We were not part of the tour, but I did get the feeling that if you were part of a paid tour you would get better service and better attitude regarding questions.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beepme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“WOW!!!!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

After sampling the wine and moonshine in Gatlinburg, we were VERY impressed with this wine. At the wine place and moonshine place in Gatlinburg, we were not impressed enough to purchase anything but here...we bought 6 bottles of wine! Our favorites were all the sweet wines and then the semi-sweet wines. Most bottles are only @ $15 a bottle which is still a reasonable price (the ones in Gatlinburg started out at $22 a bottle). When you buy 3 bottles it is cheaper and 6 bottles it's even better - only @ $11 a bottle! We debated on buying more! We are not avid wine drinkers - up until now, the only wine we like is from Olive Garden - the Moscato and Roscato wine. Now, we have added 8 more wines to our list. This is definitely worth your time to try it for free. Don't forget your ID and free gift coupon from local coupon books - we got a pen each.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BQsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apple Barn Winery also viewed

Sevierville, Sevier County
 
Sevierville, Sevier County
Sevierville, Sevier County
 

Been to Apple Barn Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing