We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, fun lazy river pool!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Inn Willow River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clarion Inn Willow River
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Sevierville
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, fun lazy river pool!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Nice for the rate we paid but room a bit stuffy. Staff very friendly,breakfast included cereals,hardboiled eggs, assorted bagelsans breads,make your own waffles, ok coffee. Outdoor pool very nice. Laundry room available.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Texmission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    142
    48
    14
    14
See reviews for
228
163
13
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

It all depends on expectations...but we found the Clarion Willow River to be nice for the price. It wasn't very expensive so I didn't expect the Four Seasons. Really enjoyed the pools, and breakfast wasn't bad (ate a couple times.) it could use some updating and room was a bit stuffy. Overall not a bad place to sleep and prepare for the next day's adventure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ehugo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Clarion Inn Willow River, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for your review of our Hotel. While we may not be "Fancy", we strive for Character, Cleanliness, and above all, Service. We try to treat all of our guests like family, and attempt to help them with any needs both inside or outside the Hotel proper. these last couple of years have been hard on us, as well as the rest of the country, and we have not had the resources to update as many of our rooms as we would like. As we speak, we are making many improvements as we can. You can expect positive change in the next year, as we take out the dated, and retain the historical. In the rooms, bedding and furniture take precedence. In our lobbies, we are working on a few new ideas to incorporate the modern with the existing decor. Thanks again for your help in making us better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

This hotel is uniquely-themed and quite attractive looking from the outside. The lobby is warmly inviting, and the front-desk staff is exemplary and organized.

Only a couple of things come to mind that could use improvement:

1) It's slightly dated in the upkeep of its components. The bathroom shower head didn't quite work; the bathroom door creaked; the air-conditioning unit worked but was hard to tell if it responded to your setting inputs; the bedding wasn't shabby, but definitely had a bit of wear. There were more bugs than I cared to see in a chain hotel of this level, but I think they're doing the best they can given the location. A few cobwebs here and there, but nothing that I considered to be "gross."

2) Unloading luggage was not as easy as most places. If you're traveling light and get a room with ideal proximity to the entrance(s), you'll be fine. However, if you're traveling with a family and have a ton of stuff to unload requiring a luggage cart, things might be difficult. Luggage carts are hard to come by, especially on a full night like the night that we checked in. Plus, they're not available in the front lobby -- only in the back entrance by the loading/unloading area. That is, if they're not all taken. So, this all depends on how much stuff you have and where your assigned room will be.

3) Parking is tight for a place with this many rooms. We arrived at about 10PM and there were only two parking spots remaining, one of which didn't really count due to a bad and inconsiderate adjacently-parked vehicle. The spots themselves are very small -- okay for sedans and other normal-sized cars, but extremely tight for vans and trucks.

However, these are minor considerations. The service was wonderful, the staff was exemplary, the breakfast was good, the price was reasonable (booked online directly on their website), and the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrington, TN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stay here every time we go to Dollywood and the Smokies. Every time I pull in I feel like I am coming home. The people are always the same, and they always seem to remember us! I love the huge size of the room and the people. My wife loves theiur Gone with the Wind pictures and decorations. The kids love the 3 pools. Great Stay Again!

Room Tip: We always try to get on the 3rd floor looking towards the Mountains. We have been on the river too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is very dated! Nonsmoking rooms smell like smoke! Cobwebs hanging from ceiling! Stained mattresses!! Very over priced for what we got!! Did not sleep well because just felt dirty!! Even my 9 y/o said it was yucky and didn't want to eat the breakfast! Lesson learned will not go back!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bee-cj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerZach, Owner at Clarion Inn Willow River, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
I sincerely apologize for your bad experience at Our Hotel. While it is literally illegal to smoke in the rooms, sometimes people do it, and it carries over. Unfortunately, this occurs a couple times a year, when Housekeepers either fails to report that a room smells like smoke, or our ionization air-cleaning machine did not have enough time to thoroughly cleanse the room of the smoke smell. Procedure often involves stripping everything down to the drapes and either dry cleaning or steam cleaning the entire room.
As for the cobwebs, this is a battle we fight every year. We sweep them down, and they return the next day. Since we are situated along the river, this makes our efforts even more drastic. This year, probably due to the mild winter, the spiders are very bad, and in the last week, we have been treating them with "Green" chemicals in order to try to keep them away. This has only been partially successful. The river side is always the worst, and we would have been happy to move you to the opposite side, where the spider webs are less of a problem.
We are currently updating all of the rooms in the Hotel with new bedding. It is difficult to do this during such a busy time, and when our rooms are so uniquely decorated. As it is now, some have been upgraded and some have not. We are dealing with several different color patterns for the different floor, and it is slow going as they are shipped in and matched to their particular room. I apologize for the delay.
I will be happy to make this up to you. Please email me at sales@innothesouth.com , and I will attempt to make amends. Again, I apologize for the disappointment, and will try to rectify your unique situation as best I can.

Sincerely,
A. Zach Wade, Clarion Inn Willow River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

This place is great. Decorated with a Southern mansion feel and the staff were friendly and helpful. Room was spacious and clean. Would highly reccommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The second floor has a nice large balcony for viewing the surrounding mountains. Breakfast area is l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1965stang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

We continue to be extremely satisfied with this hotel. Staff are always friendly and helpful. The entire hotel, including our room, was well maintained and very clean. I love the indoor and outdoor swimming pools and the lazy river feature is great.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cfloyd919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sevierville hotels
6.1 mi away
Resort at Governor's Crossing
6.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Apple Valley
Comfort Inn Apple Valley
#3 of 20 in Sevierville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Sevierville
Hampton Inn Sevierville
#2 of 20 in Sevierville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pigeon Forge - Sevierville
5.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#8 of 20 in Sevierville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites River Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Willow River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Willow River

Property: Clarion Inn Willow River
Address: 1990 Winfield Dunn Pkwy, Sevierville, TN 37876-5502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Sevierville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sevierville
#3 Family Hotel in Sevierville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Willow River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Clarion Inn Willow River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Willow River Hotel Sevierville
Clarion Willow River
Clarion Hotel Sevierville
Clarion Sevierville
Sevierville Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing