We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably one of the worst Hampton's we've ever encountered”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Sevierville
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Sevierville
Certificate of Excellence
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Probably one of the worst Hampton's we've ever encountered”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We checked in rather late at about 11 pm and had a room with two doubles reserved. The Clerk looked like he has just woken up and pulled his shirt out of the hamper. None of the usual niceties of being a HHonors member. No welcome, no cookies, no water..

We got to our room and it reaked of cigarette smoke. I went back to the desk to see about getting another room and was told there were none. He offered us the "Whirlpool" suite what would work with the single bed. Besides, I checked out the "suite" and it was on the main floor next to the office and smelled as if had been closed up for weeks. Musty and very hot.

Our only option was to leave, however with the kids, we couldnt do that. This is when it gets good. The clerk handed me a spray bottle of "Odor Out" or something like that and told us to use that. Really? Too make matters worse, the bathroom wasnt cleaned. Small curlies on the floor from guests gone by...very disgusting....

Anyway, it was late and we didnt have any other options. When I checked out, the manager was on duty and I handed her the bottle the night clerk had given me. She was very surprised and asked "Where did you get that" almost scolding me as if I took it off a maids cart. When I explained that the night clerk gave it to us, she was very surprised. She comped the room under the 100% satisfaction guarantee. I dont think we will ever go back to that Hampton. I guess there is a reason it is the cheapest Hampton in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trintrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    135
    52
    26
    16
See reviews for
248
193
15
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Spent the last weekend of July here. The staff is very good. the only problem was the ac in the room never got the room cool.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homewood_traveler41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jefferson, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Welcomed like long lost friends, clean hotel, right at trolley stop and 2 good restaurants across the street plus star bucks. Room clean, bed comfortable, attentive and helpful staff. Sits right on the main road, so not pretty but its convenient. Breakfast average for the type, but was clean and kept stocked well. Indoor pool nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fshwmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

VERY CLEAN, COMFORTABLE AND QUIET and everything I expect out of a Hampton Inn!!! My husband, daughter and myself are from OK and had been on the road for 5 days enjoying a cross country vacation. I made my reservation at this hotel online while we were in Richmond, VA. Upon arriving, the men at the front desk were extremely kind, helpful and accomodating at getting us in our room. The staff had our air conditioner on and room cooled, the room was comfortable and very clean. I am an extremely particular person when it comes to cleanliness and this room was top notch! The breakfast was great as well. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel and its staff. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OK_Rancher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitsett NC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We were very pleased with our recent stay at this hotel to visit Dollywood. It is close enough everything that Pigeon Forge has to offer without being right in the middle of all the attractions. A very easy drive on a new road to Dollywood. The room was clean and nice, the staff was great and the breakfast is the typical offerings. The hotel staff was very responsive when extra towels were requested.

We will definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merle198360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2011

The staff at the hotel was extremely friendly and we were greeted with a friendly smile. The desk clerk had a batch of freshly baked cookies awaiting us as we checked in, along with anytime we went through the lobby. The lobby seemed newly renovated and was kept extremely clean. The cleanliness of the lobby was also transferred to how the rooms were kept as well. We walked into our room to the fresh smell of bed sheets and a clean room. The beds were EXTREMELY comfortable and made it quite easy to fall asleep. On those nights that I could not fall asleep however, the nice flat screen tv and free wifi were able to keep me occupied. The location of the hotel is optimal as it is not too far into the busy traffic, but is still surrounded by great restaurants, stores, a gas station and a movie theater. On nights I preferred to stay in at the hotel, I was quick to hit the heated whirlpo ol along with the indoor pool. The pool is also well maintained along with the workout facility located in the same general area. Overall, my experience with the hotel and it's staff were exquisite and I would gladly return to this location for another vacation.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Npatel1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gorgeous hudson valley
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Sevierville just happen to be on the route we were traveling while we headed to Texas. We picked this location as an overnight stop because it was 'close' to a Minor League Ballpark where the Tennessee Smokies play. We had no idea we were roughly 20 minutes (depending on traffic) outside of "DollyWood". The hotel is located up on a hill and adjacent to Smokies Park, some rooms have views of the ball park. Since we were also stopping here on our return trip, we requested a ballpark view on our return.
The hotel has 4 floors, and outdoor pool and exercise room. The business center is just off the lobby. The breakfast area is large and very accommodating. There is a fireplace/TV with a couch and some easy chairs that also makes for a great little get-together area. I liked the 'what to do' board in the lobby, it gave a weeks worth of where to go's and what to do's and offered some restaurants in the area.
Our room was a Jr Suite which included a wet bar and extra room in the living room. I've got to say, both times we stayed here (which was within 8 days of each stay), the staff was great. Special thanks to Sean who made sure we got the room we requested on our return trip.
There is no shortage of hotels around the area, especially with DollyWood being so close. The hotel is located just off the highway...comfortable, cookies waiting and attentive staff makes this Hampton Inn a 2 thumbs up!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2toots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sevierville hotels
3.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Willow River
Clarion Inn Willow River
#4 of 20 in Sevierville
554 reviews
2.9 mi away
Resort at Governor's Crossing
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pigeon Forge - Sevierville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites River Suites
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sevierville / Kodak
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#11 of 20 in Sevierville
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Sevierville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Sevierville

Property: Hampton Inn Sevierville
Address: 681 Winfield Dunn Pkwy, Sevierville, TN 37876-5521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Sevierville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sevierville
#7 Family Hotel in Sevierville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Sevierville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn by Hilton is a newly renovated property both interior and exterior. We offer a full hot complimentary breakfast buffet each morning, as well as, our On the GO breakfast bags for those guests who don't have time relax in our beautiful dinning room. We are located just .8 of a mile from the Sevierville Events and Convention Center. There is shopping along with a variety of restaurant choices all within walking distance of our property. We are only minutes for Dollywood and other area attractions. Our friendly and caring Guest Service Agents are just waiting to tell you all about the area and of course our Great Smokey Mountain National Park. Come stay with us and find out why we were 2015 Excellence in Service winner awarded by Trip Advisor and why we are the Best in Southern Hospitality. We look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Sevierville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sevierville Hotel Sevierville
Sevierville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing