We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new favorite in a historical place”
Review of Hale Springs Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hale Springs Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Rogersville B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Although only staying one night, the Hale Springs Inn will be a cherished memory for a long time to come. From the scenic drive we choose to get there, to the easy check in, I had a good feeling early on that this would be a much needed escape from the hustle and stress of our jobs and the Holiday season.
The Inn steps back to a more simple time, where you can connect with each other and have the opportunity to meet new people. Literally built in another century, this Inn bonds the revolutionary times of the 1800's to the visitors from our generations. The staff was more than helpful, they were genuinely friendly, not fake. The room we choose, overlooked the Main St. Through the four windows, you could see a town decorated for Christmas with greenery and red ribbons on the old world street lights. The room was very large, with an antique bed that required steps to climb in. We had a gas fireplace with a sitting area and more antique furnishings. The bathroom was clean and the shower, with it's curved shower bar, was a nice touch. The three floors of the Inn were almost like a part of a historic home tour that you could stay in. The location was perfect for us. We walked to local shops and purchased a nice bottle of wine from the town's wine and liquor store. At 4:00 PM, we returned to McKinney's Tavern and had a tall, cold domestic draught beer as we waited for our reservation for dinner in the Inn. The dinner menu was a prerequisite for a perfect dinner with excellent service. The dinner rooms were intimate, rustic and had a romantic, old world charm. See my review of McKinney's Tavern for details, but suffice it to say, it was excellent! We retired to our room early after a glass of wine in the lounge. The large, flat screen TV was a modern temptation that we also took advantage of as we fell asleep dreaming of a breakfast as good as the dinner. As we checked in, their were four breakfast meals to choose from and serving times of 7:00, 8:00 or 9:00 A.M. I chose the French
Toast with crisp, well cut bacon. My wife had the 2 egg and bacon breakfast with a home made biscuit. It was very good and again, excellent service. We will plan this trip again.
If you choose the travel route we did, take I 81 and get off at exit 23 (Bulls Gap). We stopped by Yoder's Amish Market on 11 E, then took route 66 into Rogersville.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room in the back side of the Inn. Main St is well traveled and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beatwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asher H, General Manager at Hale Springs Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

It was great having you all here and we look forward to your next visit! Thank you so much for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 63 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

What a beautiful inn with wonderfully kind staff! Upon checking in, you'll be asked to make your breakfast selection for the next morning along with the time you'd like to eat. The dining there is really second to none in town and the chef knows his business! The rooms are all fantastic, although if you have a special request (like not having a high bed), you should make that in advance. Parking is a bit odd as there is a lot in the back, but it's difficult to find—there is a rock drive to the left of the inn that you can take and then make a right after the end of the inn. It has wonderful history and it's reflected in all the furnishings and appointments. There is a small TV with cable although no internet/WiFi service. I stayed in the Hale room and it was fantastic! Free water and coffee, although there are no cups in the room—those are out by the coffee/cookie area near the elevator. The elevator only goes up to the 2nd floor, so be forewarned if you have problems walking up stairs. I would absolutely stay here again if ever I needed to visit the area.

Room Tip: If you have problems with stairs, stay on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asher H, General Manager at Hale Springs Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Great to hear from you and thank you for the feedback! We do have free wifi service available so next time you are here please let us know if you are having difficulty connecting to it and we will make sure it is resolved for you. Hope to see you back again, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We purchased a stay at the Hale Springs Inn through Groupon and actually went out of our way to stay in this one-road historic town and so glad we did. The Inn is everything you see on their website, the food was very good but what made it even better was the conversation we had with one of the members of the Board of Directors who happened to be dining next to us.

I would have rated it with 5 stars except that they need to pay a little more attention to the maintenance in the bathroom. The shower curtain was stained from prior mildew bleaching and should have been replaced.

I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCompton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asher H, General Manager at Hale Springs Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Hello and thank you for dropping by to give us the wonderful feedback! I was sorry to see that about the shower curtain but we have replaced all of them based on that feedback so thank you for bringing it to my attention! Hope to have you back with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My sister and I happened upon the Hale Springs Inn on a 'plan each day as it comes' road trip and were not disappointed. This elegant Inn dates back to 1824 and has been beautifully restored to that period. The James Polk Suite was very well priced and wonderfully comfortable with a king sized bed in one room and two singles in the other. The beds were quite high though, and even though I'm 5'10", I had to almost jump to get onto the bed!
The staff were friendly and courteous, and the restaurant was outstanding! Breakfast is included, and the buttermilk biscuits their chef makes are the best I've ever eaten. We thought about going elsewhere for dinner, but the food in the Inn's restaurant was so good, we ended up eating there every day.
Highly recommended.
For those who 'believe'....we both had experiences that led us to believe President Polk might still be staying in the suite (and my sister doesn't believe in ghosts!)

Room Tip: No tip for choosing a good room, cos ALL the rooms are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omaizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asher H, General Manager at Hale Springs Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

We are glad you feel the same about Hale Springs Inn as we do! Some people say they have had some paranormal experiences as well which, given the inn's age, would only stand to reason - if you believe in such things! Stop by and see us (and President Polk) again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Hale Springs Inn is a beautiful historic inn with excellent front desk and housekeeping services. Breakfast is also delicious. However, on the first morning of our stay, they were out out of sausage, an ingredient which appeared in all but one of their breakfast options. it also took fifty minutes for my husband and I to get our breakfast, even though we were the fourth and fifth people to order that morning. Unfortunately, the service was so terrible my husband had to open the kitchen door to find our waiter so we could get our water glasses refilled. Our waiter also never apologized for disappearing and never explained the long wait. Luckily, we had different wait staff this morning and the service was much better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asher H, General Manager at Hale Springs Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your experience both good and bad. I wanted to assure you that the breakfast service issue has been addressed and will hopefully never be an issue again. We now have a permanent innkeeper on site that is responsible for breakfast service and is committed to making sure you have a wonderful experience on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had the entire inn for a wedding and it was perfect..the staff was at our beck and call the entire weekend...the food was excellent.rooms are large and clean...they even have a bar..it's in town where you can do a walking tour if you wish...

Room Tip: only 9 rooms but all of them are wonderful..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilbert27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asher H, General Manager at Hale Springs Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

We loved having you all here and expect you to come back and see us soon! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I don't generally rate anything 5 stars. Nothing is perfect but this comes so close that the rating is valid. It is a place out of time and completely in character with the historic town of Rogersville, TN. The staff is great and very friendly making you feel at home. They have a computer with a printer so we were able to print our boarding passes for the trip home. There is coffee and cookies 24/7. We were fortunate to be there for Memorial Day and had the privileged of sharing in the community ceremony on the square. When I go back to Rogersville, the Hale Springs Inn is the only place I will stay.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms, all of them are great. The rooms on the 2nd floor have an elevator but to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wordstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asher H, General Manager at Hale Springs Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Such a review is always a pleasure to read! Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hale Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Springs Inn

Address: 110 W Main St, Rogersville, TN 37857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Rogersville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rogersville
Price Range: $114 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hale Springs Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn was originally built in 1824 by John McKinney, a local lawyer and businessman. During the nineteenth century, the Inn played host to many famous personages as they made their way into the thriving new state of Tennessee. Among them were United States Presidents Andrew Jackson, James K. Polk, and Andrew Johnson.When the inn closed in 1998 it was Tennessee's oldest continuously operated inn. In 2003 the Rogersville Heritage Association purchased the inn and, in cooperation with city government, launched a renovation effort which surpassed $2.1 million. The inn reopened in 2009 and continues to be a gleaming example of the rich history found in Rogersville, TN. Hale Springs Inn boasts 9 gorgeous guest rooms, massage services on site, as well as McKinney's Restaurant & Tavern. The restaurant offers a competitively-priced menu with a focus on fresh, local ingredients and creative twists on traditional southern fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hale Springs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing