We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Inn”
Review of Hale Springs Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hale Springs Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Rogersville B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We purchased a stay at the Hale Springs Inn through Groupon and actually went out of our way to stay in this one-road historic town and so glad we did. The Inn is everything you see on their website, the food was very good but what made it even better was the conversation we had with one of the members of the Board of Directors who happened to be dining next to us.

I would have rated it with 5 stars except that they need to pay a little more attention to the maintenance in the bathroom. The shower curtain was stained from prior mildew bleaching and should have been replaced.

I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCompton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asher H, General Manager at Hale Springs Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Hello and thank you for dropping by to give us the wonderful feedback! I was sorry to see that about the shower curtain but we have replaced all of them based on that feedback so thank you for bringing it to my attention! Hope to have you back with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 63 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

My sister and I happened upon the Hale Springs Inn on a 'plan each day as it comes' road trip and were not disappointed. This elegant Inn dates back to 1824 and has been beautifully restored to that period. The James Polk Suite was very well priced and wonderfully comfortable with a king sized bed in one room and two singles in the other. The beds were quite high though, and even though I'm 5'10", I had to almost jump to get onto the bed!
The staff were friendly and courteous, and the restaurant was outstanding! Breakfast is included, and the buttermilk biscuits their chef makes are the best I've ever eaten. We thought about going elsewhere for dinner, but the food in the Inn's restaurant was so good, we ended up eating there every day.
Highly recommended.
For those who 'believe'....we both had experiences that led us to believe President Polk might still be staying in the suite (and my sister doesn't believe in ghosts!)

Room Tip: No tip for choosing a good room, cos ALL the rooms are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omaizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asher H, General Manager at Hale Springs Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

We are glad you feel the same about Hale Springs Inn as we do! Some people say they have had some paranormal experiences as well which, given the inn's age, would only stand to reason - if you believe in such things! Stop by and see us (and President Polk) again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Hale Springs Inn is a beautiful historic inn with excellent front desk and housekeeping services. Breakfast is also delicious. However, on the first morning of our stay, they were out out of sausage, an ingredient which appeared in all but one of their breakfast options. it also took fifty minutes for my husband and I to get our breakfast, even though we were the fourth and fifth people to order that morning. Unfortunately, the service was so terrible my husband had to open the kitchen door to find our waiter so we could get our water glasses refilled. Our waiter also never apologized for disappearing and never explained the long wait. Luckily, we had different wait staff this morning and the service was much better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asher H, General Manager at Hale Springs Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your experience both good and bad. I wanted to assure you that the breakfast service issue has been addressed and will hopefully never be an issue again. We now have a permanent innkeeper on site that is responsible for breakfast service and is committed to making sure you have a wonderful experience on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had the entire inn for a wedding and it was perfect..the staff was at our beck and call the entire weekend...the food was excellent.rooms are large and clean...they even have a bar..it's in town where you can do a walking tour if you wish...

Room Tip: only 9 rooms but all of them are wonderful..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilbert27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asher H, General Manager at Hale Springs Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

We loved having you all here and expect you to come back and see us soon! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I don't generally rate anything 5 stars. Nothing is perfect but this comes so close that the rating is valid. It is a place out of time and completely in character with the historic town of Rogersville, TN. The staff is great and very friendly making you feel at home. They have a computer with a printer so we were able to print our boarding passes for the trip home. There is coffee and cookies 24/7. We were fortunate to be there for Memorial Day and had the privileged of sharing in the community ceremony on the square. When I go back to Rogersville, the Hale Springs Inn is the only place I will stay.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms, all of them are great. The rooms on the 2nd floor have an elevator but to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wordstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asher H, General Manager at Hale Springs Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Such a review is always a pleasure to read! Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Had a great time at the Inn. Rooms were large and very nice and period decorated and the staff were friendly and helpful. The food in the dining room was delicious and the chef is great. Would have loved to have stayed longer. The spa was a great experience had a massage and facial and both were well worth the money. Would recommend this Inn to anyone. Great experience. Excellent.

Room Tip: The Hap Hale room was nice. It has two queen beds in it and is a very large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asher H, General Manager at Hale Springs Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your visit and we sure hope you come back through soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Hale Springs Inn is a beautiful Inn with impressive amenitities. Our room was quite tasteful and comfortable. It feels like you have stepped back into a little window of history (but in a good way). The creeky floors, high beds with step ladders and art work add to its charm. The on-sight food offering is also quite impressive. I highly recommend the parmesean trout and french toast; there is also a nice bar/wine selection.

A few things that I think the Inn needs to improve to easily make this an Excellent rating in the future: more experienced staff (while friendly and eager to please, our young staff were not as polished as they should be; while the breakfast was wonderful, I think the back of house person should not be the same as the front of house person --- he did okay but again suggestions to bring HSI to excellence; styrofoam cups outside the spa... what a shame. Such a nice little nook and offering and they do not have ceramic mugs (or a napkin / plates for the jar of cookies)?

All in all... HSI is gorgeous, worth every penny, and a wonderful stay. I hope the Inn keepers continously improve this fine establishment.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quello21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hale Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Springs Inn

Address: 110 W Main St, Rogersville, TN 37857
Location: United States > Tennessee > Rogersville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rogersville
Price Range: $114 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hale Springs Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn was originally built in 1824 by John McKinney, a local lawyer and businessman. During the nineteenth century, the Inn played host to many famous personages as they made their way into the thriving new state of Tennessee. Among them were United States Presidents Andrew Jackson, James K. Polk, and Andrew Johnson.When the inn closed in 1998 it was Tennessee's oldest continuously operated inn. In 2003 the Rogersville Heritage Association purchased the inn and, in cooperation with city government, launched a renovation effort which surpassed $2.1 million. The inn reopened in 2009 and continues to be a gleaming example of the rich history found in Rogersville, TN. Hale Springs Inn boasts 9 gorgeous guest rooms, massage services on site, as well as McKinney's Restaurant & Tavern. The restaurant offers a competitively-priced menu with a focus on fresh, local ingredients and creative twists on traditional southern fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hale Springs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing