We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Great place to go hike part of the AT

Carver's Gap is a wonderful place to hike part of the AT and without a doubt has some of the most... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
WThiker
,
Weaverville, North Carolina
A most pleasant place

My wife and I camped (in tent) at this state park after a few grueling days of hiking this area... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
GuatemalaCiclista
,
Chicago, Illinois
via mobile
Read all 292 reviews
  
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveler rating
221
65
4
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
221
65
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tent sites rocking chairs front porch hotel site beautiful campground full bloom hiking trails north carolina short hike conference center long range camping trip saw deer views are amazing great hiking living room picnic area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 292 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2019 via mobile

This is a beautiful campground. Spacious sites, soothing sound of the creek, clean bathroom, nice people. 10° cooler than the flatlands. Love this place!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank rita98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibson S, Guest Relations Manager at Roan Mountain State Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2019

Thank you for your kind words about our terrific staff and the cleanliness of our park. We will make sure to pass your comments along. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

I live less than 2 hours from this park and cannot believe it took me this long to hike its trails. I spent the day visiting with friends camping at Roan Mountain Park and the camp sites were well maintained and bath houses were clean. The stated this is one of their favorite places to camp with their family and friends. They took me to the NC state line to hike to Carvers Gap which has amazing views. This area connects with a Appalachian Trail. We then went to see the old site of the Cloudland Hotel from the early 1900’s. So interesting with its rich history of horse and carriage days, With it’s pool, tennis courts, and volleyball courts, kids are kept well occupied. If waterfalls are your destination, the nearby area of Elk River NC has three to hike the trails to visit.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibson S, Guest Relations Manager at Roan Mountain State Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2019

We are so happy that you enjoyed your time here! And that you hiked the trails and visited the top of the mountain as well! Please come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2019

The park was well maintained and had hiking trails within the park and many others a few miles away. The bathhouses were older but very clean as was the shower. My only suggestion would be to have more showers. There is only one in each bathhouse so you may have to wait a bit. The grounds are really nice and each space is paved. It pays to research your space as some are quite small and not much privacy. We had a nice space with many trees around us. We would definitely go back to this park again.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibson S, Guest Relations Manager at Roan Mountain State Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2019

Great! We appreciate your kind words about our campground! Please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2019 via mobile

This is a beautifully maintained park with excellent facilities, nice picnic areas and great trails. The Appalachian Trail runs through the park. There is parking at the top of the mountain (Carver’s Gap) and you can hike a bit of the trail for outstanding views. Just do it!

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank MikeEbert142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibson S, Guest Relations Manager at Roan Mountain State Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2019

This is great news! We're so happy to know that you had a good experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2019

My husband and I love to hike a challenge so we decided to hike Raven Rock on the Roan. The park is gorgeous, very well maintained, a clean restroom at Group Picnic Shelter #3. We were given a map with the instructions of accessing Raven Rock trail and told by the campground office employee that the trail is clearly marked. It was not marked as it seems near the Campground Checkin Station so we drove the car to the Park Headquarters/Conference Center where the ranger was much more clear and informative on accessing the trail. She was super friendly as well. Once we accessed the trail as marked on the map with the access point at Forest Road Trail, we knew immediately that this is a trail less traveled. There were spider webs and it was very quiet indicating no one else was on the trail. We made the entire loop, it is a good workout for those that like the challenge of a climb as we do. We saw a deer running through the woods, wild mushrooms, etc. The trail does begin to be marked with painting on the trees and that's good as it is a thick trail. We found some trees down and lying across part of the trail. The hike itself was fine as we love adventure except for the let-down of the "view" we expected to find at the top. There was one small out-cropping to view a bit of the valley, etc. but nothing like we expected. I kept waiting to reach an opening with long-range views and it did not happen. Once you get to the top, there is no view.
Again, it is a nice forest hike but be aware that you will not find a long-range view or opening like you might expect after hiking uphill with 485 ft elevation gains. The total round trip from Conference Center was just over 1.6 miles. Elevation loss of 600 ft. Maximum elevation was 3,477 ft. It took us 55 minutes total.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank 4manns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibson S, TSP at Roan Mountain State Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. Raven Rock trail is one that is hiked very often and a good workout indeed! We will make sure to pass your comments along.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews