We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roan Mountain
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

March 9, 10
The room was giant and super clean. The breakfasts were unbeliveable and the packed lunch Mary made for us had neat surprises and was so welcome after hiking in the snow for a few miles along the AT. And we got to bring our human like border--Emma, since its dog friendly.
The breakfast each morning included several courses and special juices. The location has a creek out front, goats, horses and dogs. The hosts will take you to places on the AT so you can hike back to the B&B.
Go to see Carver's Gap and hike the balds as well as the AT. Nearby Watuga Lake is also nice.
For dinner, 2 local places were great. The first one was a local pizza place that looks like rough on the outside, but had great quality pizza. The second was a barbeque/burger place--try the angus burger and the fried banana peppers--super! Mary has the names.
It had snowed so we did not see a single other hiker, but we did see an abandoned pair of hiking boots on the AT sitting on a big rock. Not sure if the person hoofed out barefoot or if he was eaten by a pack of angry squirrels. Good times!

Room Tip: Choose the Jefferson Room if you prefer a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheltonpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
44
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was the first B&B we had ever encountered and what a great experience! We wanted a romantic getaway, but wanted to include our canine companion, and it was perfect! The gourmet breakfast that Mary so silently prepared in the mornings and the wonderful lunch boxes with cute surprises each day were delightful. The house is emaculately clean and the room was super cozy. Terry shuttled us for a short hike on the Appalachian Trail in the morning, and we enjoyed tasty pizza in downtown Roan Mountain afterward. Antique shopping and a visit to the Roan Mountain Park completed our wonderful visit. Met friendly hikers and regular guests at Mountain Harbour that made the stay even better. Mary and Terry even put up with our whiney Redbone Coonhound the entire time as he chased the goats and tried to harass the horses! This place is stellar and we recommend it to anyone!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LALUROO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

I reserved this trip for me and my boyfriend for Christmas and it was absolutely wonderful! We really didn't even want to leave after a short weekend stay. Mary and Terry are extremely kind and accommodating, not to mention the breakfasts are out of this world! From French toast to pancakes and sausage you definitely won't go hiking hungry. There are tons of trails and places to hike and they will even shuttle you to some of the closest trails. We will definitely be returning again soon!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HeelSosa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was an awesome place to stay with very accommodating hosts. We were off season, so the rate was excellent, as was the food and atmosphere. It is a big old house with lots of character. Our hostess made great breakfasts and lunches for us to take hiking. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Our room was very large with jacuzzi tub, shower and lots of room to stretch out. It had a cozy gas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My wife and I got a living social voucher for a weekend getaway at Mountain Harbor with really no expectations other than to get away, go for a hike and maybe do some skiing at Beech Mt. Resort. Upon arrival, Mary and Terry were extremely gracious, hospitable, and welcoming. The B&B was cozy, rustic, clean; the room was spacious enough for the two of us; it was just perfect! We did a bit of hiking on the AT trail (5 minutes walk from the B&B), watched a bit of TV, and went skiing about 25 minutes away. Breakfast was amazing; perhaps Mary made something special for us since we were the only guests at the time, but nevertheless, we loved it. We wished we could have stayed both nights but had to get back home to avoid potential poor weather. Thomas and Kim (Durham)

Room Tip: There are three rooms at the B&B; all nicely done. If you want the one with en-suite bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a great stay! We were welcomed with open arms in spite of our somewhat boisterous children. Mary and Tery treated us like family. House is clean and cozy and the food was above and beyond. My husband is already planning future trips. We spent time fishing and sledding at the nearby town of Beech. There is also abundant hiking in the area. I highly recommend this B&B to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bnthayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I had a great visit. The breakfasts were delicious, with an assortment of pastries, fresh fruit, eggs, sausages and on and on. Everything was homemade, including the jams and jellies. The hiking path was nearby, and a shuttle was available from the inn for other hiking trails. There was nearby antiquing. It snowed while we were there, which made the scenery breathtaking. The property overlooks the forest and a creek with a falls. It was warm and cozy and the hosting was very friendly and helpful in every way.

Bob and Gwen.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwenmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roan Mountain
9.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
24.3 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites
21.6 mi away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 20 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Shady Lawn Lodge
The Shady Lawn Lodge
#1 of 2 in Newland
5.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
13.0 mi away
Taylor House Inn
Taylor House Inn
#2 of 7 in Valle Crucis
5.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
8.1 mi away
Archer's Mountain Inn
Archer's Mountain Inn
#7 of 9 in Banner Elk
4.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9151 Highway 19 E, Roan Mountain, TN 37687-3349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Roan Mountain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Roan Mountain
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast is nestled in the mountains of North East Tennessee. We are 3/10 of a mile from the Appalachian Trail. We offer a gourmet breakfast and a relaxing atmosphere. We provide hiker services such as shuttles as well as a cozy hostel to relax and recharge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing