We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best. Hosts. Ever.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roan Mountain
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a great stay! We were welcomed with open arms in spite of our somewhat boisterous children. Mary and Tery treated us like family. House is clean and cozy and the food was above and beyond. My husband is already planning future trips. We spent time fishing and sledding at the nearby town of Beech. There is also abundant hiking in the area. I highly recommend this B&B to others.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bnthayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 102 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I had a great visit. The breakfasts were delicious, with an assortment of pastries, fresh fruit, eggs, sausages and on and on. Everything was homemade, including the jams and jellies. The hiking path was nearby, and a shuttle was available from the inn for other hiking trails. There was nearby antiquing. It snowed while we were there, which made the scenery breathtaking. The property overlooks the forest and a creek with a falls. It was warm and cozy and the hosting was very friendly and helpful in every way.

Bob and Gwen.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwenmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

When you arrive at Mountain Harbour you are greeted by white goats, a stream, a lovely bridge and horses too. Mary is fabulous as are the rooms and food simply outstanding. Google maps is wrong about the location so be careful about how you get there. They run a shuttle for hikers to get to and from the AT so you can stay in comfort and take a day hike of you like.
Exceptional property and innkeeper.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doug e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stay in many bed and breakfasts and this was one of the best. Mary was very accommodating around my gluten intolerance and the breakfasts were plentiful and delicious. The room was comfortable. You should know that it doesn't have a private bathroom, but you just share with one other room. The bed was comfortable and we appreciated having a fridge and microwave since Thanksgiving evening there was nowhere to eat out in this tiny town. I ate far too much chocolate which is in a bowl in the room and downstairs. The holiday decorations were thoughtfully non-religious and we especially loved the snoring Santa.

Room Tip: If you love a hot tub, you should consider the largest and most expensive room.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank contradancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was one of the best B&B's we've stayed in. The location was great, close to just about anything you might want to do. Fish, hike, sky, picnik or just spend some time each day on the wonderful front porch. There are a couple of really good places to eat in town for lunch or dinner, if you even need to eat again for lunch after the wonderful breakfast Mary serves. The food she prepared was so delicious and pleasing to the eye. The rooms were clean and comfortable. It was such a great experience, we will be back. And Mary I know you make Tennessee proud! Thank you again, Paula & Gordon

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paula1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Wonderful B&B, well worth 5-hour drive from Atlanta, GA. Accommodations were great. House is clean and cozy. Hosts generous and caring. Food served for breakfast was tasty and prepared with great care. Roan Mountain town itself is extremely rural. There is not much going on in town. All business and restaurants close pretty early. Neighboring state park is a wonderful place for hiking and exploring. We will definitively be back soon.

Room Tip: maybe get Jefferson room if available since it has its own bathroom and Jacuzzi
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monikica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

What a wonderful place! We were "welcomed" with warm smiles, people and pets alike. The room (The Jefferson Suite) is amazing, loved the size, the cleanliness, comfortable bed,the microwave & frdge. Our trip to Bristol was a huge dream come true. A "Bucket List" adventure was the Bristol Race Weekend for my husband. Mountain Harbour, it's hospitality and the beautiful surroundings made for such a wonderful trip! Mary's cooking is WONDERFUL, (so was David & Shannon). The other guest that weekend shared wonderful stories at the Breakfast table and it made for such a relaxing morning. One morning we ate outside on the front porch swing while listening to the waterfall, the animals, and the breeze. The help in planning a fun day was much appreciated with the advice from other guests,David & Shannon's directions on "how to get there from here" very helpful and the day very enjoyable. Thank you all! We do hope to come again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roan Mountain
9.0 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
21.6 mi away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 19 in Johnson City
582 reviews
24.3 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
7.5 mi away
The Inn at Elk River
The Inn at Elk River
#1 of 8 in Banner Elk
182 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Shady Lawn Lodge
The Shady Lawn Lodge
#1 of 3 in Newland
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9151 Highway 19 E, Roan Mountain, TN 37687-3349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Roan Mountain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Roan Mountain
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast is nestled in the mountains of North East Tennessee. We are 3/10 of a mile from the Appalachian Trail. We offer a gourmet breakfast and a relaxing atmosphere. We provide hiker services such as shuttles as well as a cozy hostel to relax and recharge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing