We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay with unique animal features”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roan Mountain
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

When you arrive at Mountain Harbour you are greeted by white goats, a stream, a lovely bridge and horses too. Mary is fabulous as are the rooms and food simply outstanding. Google maps is wrong about the location so be careful about how you get there. They run a shuttle for hikers to get to and from the AT so you can stay in comfort and take a day hike of you like.
Exceptional property and innkeeper.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doug e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 108 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stay in many bed and breakfasts and this was one of the best. Mary was very accommodating around my gluten intolerance and the breakfasts were plentiful and delicious. The room was comfortable. You should know that it doesn't have a private bathroom, but you just share with one other room. The bed was comfortable and we appreciated having a fridge and microwave since Thanksgiving evening there was nowhere to eat out in this tiny town. I ate far too much chocolate which is in a bowl in the room and downstairs. The holiday decorations were thoughtfully non-religious and we especially loved the snoring Santa.

Room Tip: If you love a hot tub, you should consider the largest and most expensive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank contradancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was one of the best B&B's we've stayed in. The location was great, close to just about anything you might want to do. Fish, hike, sky, picnik or just spend some time each day on the wonderful front porch. There are a couple of really good places to eat in town for lunch or dinner, if you even need to eat again for lunch after the wonderful breakfast Mary serves. The food she prepared was so delicious and pleasing to the eye. The rooms were clean and comfortable. It was such a great experience, we will be back. And Mary I know you make Tennessee proud! Thank you again, Paula & Gordon

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paula1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Wonderful B&B, well worth 5-hour drive from Atlanta, GA. Accommodations were great. House is clean and cozy. Hosts generous and caring. Food served for breakfast was tasty and prepared with great care. Roan Mountain town itself is extremely rural. There is not much going on in town. All business and restaurants close pretty early. Neighboring state park is a wonderful place for hiking and exploring. We will definitively be back soon.

Room Tip: maybe get Jefferson room if available since it has its own bathroom and Jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monikica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

What a wonderful place! We were "welcomed" with warm smiles, people and pets alike. The room (The Jefferson Suite) is amazing, loved the size, the cleanliness, comfortable bed,the microwave & frdge. Our trip to Bristol was a huge dream come true. A "Bucket List" adventure was the Bristol Race Weekend for my husband. Mountain Harbour, it's hospitality and the beautiful surroundings made for such a wonderful trip! Mary's cooking is WONDERFUL, (so was David & Shannon). The other guest that weekend shared wonderful stories at the Breakfast table and it made for such a relaxing morning. One morning we ate outside on the front porch swing while listening to the waterfall, the animals, and the breeze. The help in planning a fun day was much appreciated with the advice from other guests,David & Shannon's directions on "how to get there from here" very helpful and the day very enjoyable. Thank you all! We do hope to come again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This was our first trip since the birth of our son in April. We brought him a long which we were a little nervous about but he behaved great. Mary was so very friendly and her breakfast was delicious!!! We stayed in the Jefferson Suite which was wonderful. It had A LOT of room and a private bathroom. Everyone was so friendly it made me feel like I was staying at my mom's house and not a bed and breakfast!! It was wonderful and we can't wait until our next trip. Although pet friendly you couldn't tell pets had ever been in the rooms. They were VERY clean!! Thank you for a great time!!

Room Tip: Jefferson room is large and has private bath. All rooms looked good though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

It seems that every superlative has already been used to describe Mary, Terry, and their B&B plus hostel. A wall plaque in the house near the front door says to come as guests and leave as friends. Right on! My wife and I came to do some hiking on the Appalachian Trail. Mary shuttled us for a day hike and then Terry shuttled us for a three-day backpack. Most of the hikers are younger (we're both over seventy-five), but another couple we chatted with over Mary's incredible breakfast were there to drive parts of the scenic Blue Ridge Parkway. Just staying there and watching the world go by from the shady front porch would also be a pleasant option. And if you like animals, as we do, there are more than just dogs and cats around: at least four goats, three horses, and a mule. What a fun and gracious place!

Room Tip: Rooms in the house are of course excellent, but the hostel is definitely a cut above. We've sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9151 Highway 19 E, Roan Mountain, TN 37687-3349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Roan Mountain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Roan Mountain
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast is nestled in the mountains of North East Tennessee. We are 3/10 of a mile from the Appalachian Trail. We offer a gourmet breakfast and a relaxing atmosphere. We provide hiker services such as shuttles as well as a cozy hostel to relax and recharge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing