We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REAL Pizza-pie.”

Smoky Mountain Bakers
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
South-Central Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“REAL Pizza-pie.”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Real ingredients, real smoke flavoring instilled right into the crust and cheese-mmmm...can it get any better. I enjoyed seeing my pizza being baked right after I ordered it, the experience is just as enjoyable as the pizza.They have it all rightly done, and honestly done. I've never been so sold on a meal preparation and I'm about ready to transform my kitchen the exact same way, open up that wall and have that flame in view surrounded by the charred blocks of perfectly cooked sweet basil's and oregano once used! Sights, sounds, smells....stop trying to imagine it and just go experience it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie_Marie_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    22
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Awesome Thin Pizza! ”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a great lunch sitting outside amidst the beautiful Autumn foliage. The Pizza was delicious and thin crust. We had the White Pesto, Meat Lovers, and Cheese. All were lovely. It is self service and there is no alcohol served. The dining area is very small and it was packed during the week at 12 noon. Suggest going early or later as their excellent pizza is no secret!

If you want gourmet pizza this is it. If you want fancy, This is not your restaurant. DON'T MISS THE COOKIES! The white chocolate and milk chocolate chips are warm and sinful!

We loved it!

Helpful?
2 Thank MustangRoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, FL
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great pizza deal”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I plus four friends had a Friday night dinner at Smokey Mountain Bakery. We all had the Friday night special of a 12 inch pizza, two salads, and two drinks for $15.00. The pizza had a thin crust, that I really like, and was very tasty. We also have purchased the homemade cinnamon bread which is also very good. We all highly recommed the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DanOHarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Bare bones and oh so good”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This very small (3 indoor and 2 outdoor) table pizza place produces some of the best and cheap pizzas you will ever eat. After a 18 mile hike, we headed down the road to some of the best pizza I have ever eaten. The 10 dollar price was amazingly low for the great quality. Wood fired and quickly ready-and tasted just as good for breakfast the next day. If you can't find it -ask a local and they will direct you

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What a great pizza!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

What a great place to find exceptional pizza at a great value in such a remote place. Loved the food!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoky Mountain Bakers also viewed

 

Been to Smoky Mountain Bakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing