We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Stay”
Review of Hunter Lodge

Hunter Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hunter Lodge
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ripley
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Cranfield D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pam L, General Manager at Hunter Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 34 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

My family and I make it a habit to always stay at this hotel. We have come to feel relaxed and at home there. Not only are the staff friendly and helpful, they go out of their way to help make our visit pleasant. I highly recommend anyone to try it for one visit and I'm sure you'll return on your next trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank LESTER F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, General Manager at Hunter Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Mr. Lester Fortner,

Thank you for such a nice review. Your reaction to our property is what we strive for all our guest. We are glad we were able to meet your needs and your expectations. As always we were glad to see you and your family. We just wish it could have been for a happier occasion. Thank you again.

Pam Laton and staff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I travel for work a lot and I like to save money but I won't stay anywhere. This hotel was very clean, had comfortable beds and had very cheap rates. I have paid much more for worse room. There was truck parking and there were grills outside that you could use. I would recommend this hotel to anybody who works on the road.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrcraneoperator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L, General Manager at Hunter Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you so much for taking time to give our property a review. We apprectiate such a favorable review. We strive to have a very clean and restful stay for our guest. We look forward to seeing you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We arrived late and they were ready for us, room was immaculate, comfortable, clean, and new - this place appears to be less than a few years old, if that. Nice light Western motif in our particular lodging. First floor hallway a bit squeaky, no such problem in our second floor room however. Desk personnel were friendly and helpful. Only major issue was some very loud domestic arguers (doesn't this seem to be on the rise, everywhere, in this stunted Greek model of an alleged economy?), down a few rooms around midnight, which staff took care of ASAP - those incidents are beyond motel screening control, unfortunately for us peaceable travel types. Did not use indoor pool (after hours); kids used free wifi and it worked fine. Juices and coffee with a few cold and pre-packaged items at small breakfast bar. Location is about an hour northeast of Memphis via US 51, a very easy and rather scenic drive through some growing towns - all of which appeared well-kept, which is not always the case but should be. Overall a solid newer Super 8 and perhaps one that should be used as a management role model for burgeoning hoteliers and those that need some retraining. Will use again if travelling in the area.

Room Tip: Another good rate from Hotels.com for this visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmbleOutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laytopam, Manager at Hunter Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Thank you so much for giving our property such a great review. We are so pleased your stay with us was such a positive one. As always we strive to make our guest comfortable and try to give our best. We look forward to you staying with us again if you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

GOOD: Reservation went well (reserved through hotels.com) & price was honored. Breakfast was provided. Room was clean. Staff was reservedly friendly. Gave good restaurant referrals for our meals.

BAD: Room smelled like cat urine. I bought some Lysol air freshener & kept spraying. Finally I sprayed under the beds and that seemed to address the source of the smell. The toilet tissue dispenser was seperating from the wall mount. The facility is located right across from a jail or prison of some sort.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annmillernavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laytopam, General Manager at Hunter Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2011

Thank you for your review of our motel. These reviews help us to know how we are doing. The housekeeping issue has been addressed and we invite you to stay again if in this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Room was clean and well kept very good management,friendly,sincere and very informed about their area. Would stay there again no question. Especialy enjoyed the manhunt for the escapees the last night we were there. A county Gov,t complex across the street from the motel. A/c worked wonderfull it was 95 + outside and very cool inside.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgeVanBuren_In_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laytopam, General Manager at Hunter Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We use these to know where we need to improve. Your compliments mean alot to us. We hope that if you are in the area you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

We needed to stay in the ripley area for a family funeral. We booked a block of rooms at the last minute with no hassles and no prepay requirements. The owner and front desk staff was extremely helpful. Asking several times if there was anything they could do for me or my family. That's unusual!! The hotel was very clean. The pool was warm and very clean. Pool towels were not readily available but given to us as we asked. We've stayed in another Ripley hotel and it was old and dirty. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SassyPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laytopam, General Manager at Hunter Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to give us a good review. These help us to know where we need to improve or if we are doing things right. We take pride in be in the hospitality business. We always want our customers to feel at home and appreciated. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripley
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Ripley
Days Inn Ripley
#1 of 3 in Ripley
93 reviews
1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
12.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Covington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Lodge

Address: 765 Highway 51 S, Ripley, TN 38063-4565 (Formerly Super 8 Ripley)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Ripley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ripley
Price Range: $65 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hunter Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hunter Lodge is an independently owned motel. We were formerly Super 8, for those who do not know. We provide a quiet, clean facility with resident staff. We have an indoor heated pool. We provide a patio with lovely trees and a grill for our guests to use. We provide a free breakfast for our guests to enjoy. We offer weekly rates for any companies coming into the area to work. We have shopping and restaurants nearby. We are near the Fort Pillow State Park and Alex Haley Museum. We are a comfortable hour drive from Memphis, TN. We are within an hour drive from the Memphis International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hunter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Ripley
Super Eight Ripley
Ripley Super 8
Ripley Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing