We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed”
Review of Thomas House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Boiling Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thomas House
Certificate of Excellence
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“mixed”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I agree with an earlier review that you should definitely think of this as a B&B. It's like staying at someone's house because, well it is; the owners live there. Homeowners may not have the same standards of maintenance & cleanliness as better hotels. It is an old house with uneven, creaky floors and don't expect modern bathrooms. The walls are covered with decorative borders & pictures, and "collectibles" are everywhere ,with several rooms dedicated to storage, yet with the open area around the lobby & stairwell, everything seems to echo. As long as you know what to expect, someone's country home, not a luxury hotel, you can have a nice stay. Darrell & David are friendly. The food is classic southern home cooking with a little twist, which means lots of butter and sugar. I most enjoyed the black eyed peas with tomatoes and fluffy biscuits. Overall, not a bad stay at all because we knew what to expect, and we were mostly there to learn about ghost hunting and maybe hear the whistler.

Room Tip: Room 17 is probably the largest - suite style, 37 is supposed to be active, didn't have any prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    23
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
19
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I have stayed over at Thomas House many times when I went for dinner and one of their plays. I love to listen to the stories that
Evelyn tells of the ghosts that are still around, especially the ones about
Sara.
On many occasions I have just dropped by for a country ham dinner prepared by the family members. Either way, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The rooms in the rear are quieter. All rooms are upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 81MINNIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We went with Ghost Hunt Weekend and loved every minute of it. The family was so nice and gracious,really made you feel at home. For a place built in 1890s it is still a nice place. Can't wait to go back an take friends!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReachTheUnknown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have been going to The Thomas House for years and years for events and the food. We've never spent the night as we live within an hour's drive, but we went to a "ghost tour event" here last night and were very disappointed in the food. Let me say, it wasn't horrible, so if you haven't been there in the past, you'll still think it is good . . .but, we used to come here and have wonderful food, served family style with two meats and lots of vegetables . . .We knew it wouldn't be family style, but we were expecting basically the same food. Last night's meal was served buffet style with a strange assortment of food -- country ham, green beans, biscuits, cornbread, apples, some strange chicken and peas dish. Where was the awesome fried chicken and some type of potatoes, corn or mac and cheese? And, where was the well known pea salad that used to be served with every meal? It just was disappointing and felt like we'd gotten leftovers of what they needed to get rid of . . .the dessert was not good either. That being said -- we went there to hear about the ghostly events that have occurred in the hotel, and, that was not disappointing. It was well presented and gave a lot of history of this historic inn as well as being fun watching some members of our party being "touched" by re-enactors of some of the ghostly people of the inn . . .I'm sure we'll return, but will know next time that the food won't be the main event unless we go when there isn't an event going on, at which time, some folks have told me still has the better food variety, etc.

Room Tip: Though we didn't stay in the inn, the folks there are very helpful and they can tell you which r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BabyBlue55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had a workshop and overnight gathering at the Thomas Hotel. We found ourselves calling it a
house instead of hotel. Everyone is treated like family and addressed on a first name basis. The family/hosts of 21+ years is quick to respond to your needs. The food was plentiful and tasty. The
rooms clean and comfy. Requests for room numbers easily filled.You are free to roam the halls and stay up as long as desired. Just ask and the coffee will be left on. Questions or curiosity as to the history and the hosts/owners are happy to enlighten you. A wedding planned? The red carpet is rolled out to prepare the grounds and gazebo to everyone's delight. I am more than eager to come and stay again.

Room Tip: The fitness center is the stairs to the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank earthwings9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmoreland, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I visited the Thomas House on one of the Ghost Hunt Weekend events. The hotel is lovely. It is old, and this shows in some areas but the love that the family that operates the hotel shows. They were very friendly. My only complaint is the lack of towels. We had three people staying in our room and not enough towels. While we did see the owners at supper time, we did not know where to get towels or could we find them to ask for any after we discovered the shortage. The showers are small so be prepared for this. But overall, we has a great time. We did not encounter any spirits on our stay but enjoyed hearing the stories that others had to share about previous visits.

Room Tip: If you are wanted a haunted room either go for 37 or 18. The small bed in 18 is suppose to he haunt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghostgirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is our second time at The Thomas House. And AGAIN we had a great time! The owners are great the staff is wonderful and the grounds are beautiful. We do several events with Ghost Hunt Weekends www.ghosthuntweekends.com and they are always great. We look forward to our next trip to The Thomas House.
The food is great, the service is great. Now this is not a 4 star hotel so if that is what you are looking for this is not your place, but if you want a nice peaceful stay this is it. There is nothing in the area so if you need something you have to drive a ways to find it.
We stayed in room 37 which is supposed to have the most activity and it did not disappoint. I captured some EVP's of a little girl. Very clear. Fun trip, fun stay! We will absolutely be back!

Room Tip: Room 37 is the most haunted and has two queen beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattypoo1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thomas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomas House

Property: Thomas House
Address: 520 East Main Street, Red Boiling Springs, TN 37150
Location: United States > Tennessee > Red Boiling Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Red Boiling Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Thomas House Hotel Red Boiling Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing