We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockroach.... On the bed. Left 5 minutes after we checked in.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Knoxville North/Powell
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Powell
1 review
“Cockroach.... On the bed. Left 5 minutes after we checked in.”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is my worst experience in a hotel yet.... And I'm a wrestling mom. I've stayed in alot of places and always on the cheaper end. First we get a room with 2 beds, not 1. We switch rooms get settled lay down. Cockroach crawls across bedspread. Go to front desk and tell attendant we're leaving and why. He says "1 cockroach?" So is 1 acceptable? Really? And would not refund our $....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharkDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxvilleSuper8, Manager at Super 8 Knoxville North/Powell, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
please accept my sincere apology regarding your recent stay at our location. I am sorry
that you were disappointed for your concern regarding the situation.
If you provide some more details about your stay(what date, name or room no.), we
would resolve it. If you can contact me at 865-938 5501 or send email at rjsuper8powell
@yahoo.com or send me your email address. Once again sorry for inconvience.
B.J.(Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    49
    58
    36
    39
See reviews for
107
51
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Nice, large, clean rooms. Beds are in great shape and comfortable. Breakfast was good with fruit, yogurt, cereal, waffles, juice, pastries. Kids enjoyed the pool! Fridge and micro a bonus! Definitely would stay again. Service was great!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reneegram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I was hesitant to stay here after noting several poor reviews but it was late, we had two dogs and it was the only pet-friendly hotel in Powell. As soon as we walked in the room we were overcome with the odor of stale cigarette smoke. The room was dingy and dated. The beds were missing bed skirts and the dirty box springs were clearly visible, one with human hair on it. The bathroom counter had drops of some unidentifiable partially-dried substance on it. The bedspreads were stained and the bed sheets were as well. I was totally creeped out and would not allow my son to walk bare-foot in the room. Our dogs were very interested in the many smells. Blech.

The only decent feature was the good shower head in what appeared to be a clean bathtub. I would definitely not stay here again.

What was interesting was that the opposite side of the hotel displayed what appeared to be newer bedspreads and bed skirts. I had to wonder if dog owners were delegated to the old, smoking section of the hotel and charged an extra ten bucks per doggie head to boot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Breaking_Away2Tybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Powell hotels

Paoli
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The service was great. Our room was clean and had fresh smell! We had a Shoneys close by so we walked to it and ate dinner and breakfast there! That was really convenient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Scarlet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taft, Tn
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Needing an inexpensive place to stay for a couple of nights, this place was delightful. The front desk clerk was very pleasant and told us if we needed anything to be sure and call as they would be there 24 hrs a day. Our room was clean, the sheets were not stained and the bathroom was clean. Our room faced the trees and the sounds of the birds singing was very impressive. My daughter was very pleased with the comfort of the mattress...we both slept well. Breakfast in the morning included coffee, juice, cinnamon rolls (individual wrapped ready for the microwave), doughnuts, bagels, cereals, waffle maker and fruits. Having gone down to breakfast at different times, it seemed to stay well stocked. Plus the money saved on lodging could be spent at the lovely antique stores nearby in Clinton, Tennessee!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivoryjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Powell
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Powell - Knoxville North
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Knoxville North
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Knoxville North I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
MainStay Suites Knoxville
MainStay Suites Knoxville
#30 of 86 in Knoxville
350 reviews
3.0 mi away
Select Inn
Select Inn
#48 of 86 in Knoxville
172 reviews
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Knoxville
Comfort Suites Knoxville
#29 of 86 in Knoxville
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Knoxville North/Powell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Knoxville North/Powell

Property: Super 8 Knoxville North/Powell
Address: 323 E Emory Rd, Powell, TN 37849-3499 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Powell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Powell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Knoxville North/Powell 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very easy access form I-75 with a beautiful view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Knoxville North/Powell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Powell
Super Eight Powell
Powell Super 8
Powell Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing