We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

β€œDo not believe them on the phone!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Knoxville North
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Powell
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not believe them on the phone!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Called to place a reservation for a same evening room and was told by the staff they were sold out. Picked up my phone and booked online and walked in15 minutes later, told the front desk I had a reservation and was given my room key. Go figure! Do not know if they did not want to mess with a phone reservation or what. Mystery to us.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    54
    26
    19
    10
See reviews for
60
47
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Powell (Knoxville North), TN in late July. We actually booked it through Hotwire and got a great deal. We were quite impressed with this hotel. There seem to be renovations going on, but the place is well kept and clean. Our room was also very clean and nice.

The only con, like others have mentioned, was that there is no exhaust fan in the bathroom. Overall, that's not a deal breaker for us, but it would have been nice not to have fogged over mirrors after a shower.

Breakfast was decent. Nothing to write home about, but it was included and was fine.

We stayed there on a Friday evening and asked our desk attendant about the restaurant across the street. She told us that it was Aubrey's and recommended it. She was very kind and helpful. And, Aubrey's was great!

For what we paid to stay there, we were quite impressed. It's not the fanciest place around, but it's a nice clean place to stay. The beds were comfortable and nice. Couldn't have asked for more for our one night stay in TN.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyM915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, NH
Level Contributor
319 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed one Saturday night in July while traveling through the area. Second everyone's thoughts - clean, reasonable rate ($113/night, incl. taxes, for a king bed), etc. Bed was very, very comfortable - seemed like a new mattress. Only room drawback was the old fashioned room AC, with a switch on the window unit for high or low cool or off - no thermostat control. Other than that, a perfect place for an overnight stay.

Good dinner restaurant within walking distance - right across the street. Aubrey's - serves a great selection of beers & wines, and a mixture of 'all occasion' foods.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NH_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed here one night in July, 2013 for an overnight trip to Knoxville for family business. It was clean, looked well kept and check in was quick.

Breakfast had hot items, such as sausage, biscuit, bagels etc and was well staffed.

They have a poll outside which we did not use but looked clean.

Would definitely stay again if we needed to stay on that side of town again.

Several restaurants close by as well as this Hotel is right off of the interstate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owencarpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was a great hotel...clean, friendly staff, great bed and had a variety of breakfast items. The lobby is currently being remodeled but it wasn't too bad to deal with. The room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. Will keep in mind if we are up that way on vacation again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wise
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We found this hotel to be very clean and affordable. It is not a luxury hotel, but our room was very neat, with new looking bed coverlets, etc. The bathroom was very clean, with one major flaw. There is no vent and after a short shower, everything in the bathroom is wet. There is a small pool across the parking lot that could use an umbrella or two for shade, but other than that...very sufficient. We did not eat their breakfast, but it looked like they had a few nice choices. There is a McDonalds in walking distance, as well as a CVS. There is a grocery store across the street, very convenient if you need to stock up on anything. We found the staff to be very courteous and friendly. We would certainly consider staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uva7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here coming back from visiting family in NC. We stayed at Holiday Inn Express hotels all the way there, while in NC and on way back. This one was by far the worst. Our room was literally RIGHT OFF of the breakfast area so it was horribly loud (this should never happen--rip out that room or turn it into a meeting room. I was very unhappy since we have a small child). While the room were "updated" our room smelled awful. The musty smell was a bit more than I could tolerate. If we were going to stay there longer, meaning more than 10 hours, I would have complained. Everything in the room felt damp. Also, as we were leaving out the back door, really really shady looking workers were coming in/out possibly replacing carpet? Made me feel very uncomfortable. I definitely would not recommend. I just got a bad feeling from this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klegov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Knoxville North, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear klegov,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations, and I apologize you were not satisfied with the room conditions. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason, your comments about the undesirable smell in the room has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Powell
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Powell - Knoxville North
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Knoxville North
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Knoxville North I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Knoxville
Comfort Suites Knoxville
#28 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville Papermill Drive
3.0 mi away
Best Western Knoxville Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Knoxville North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Knoxville North

Property: Holiday Inn Express Knoxville North
Address: 7520 Conner Rd, Powell, TN 37849-3505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Powell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Powell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Knoxville North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Powell, Tennessee! Now here The Simply Smart Bed- Soft Quilted duvet and fresh white sheets with a feel of Egyptian Cotton. A Colorful throw and four new Pillows that give you the choice between soft and firm. Our beautiful property is conveniently located just 8 miles north of downtown Knoxville. We offer a quiet, suburban setting while being close to many of the area attractions and restaurants.Whether you're visiting our fine area on business or pleasure, be sure to ask our staff about area attractions. We are happy to provide you with the best routes to the Smoky Mountain National Park, Norris Lake, or some uniquely Knoxville restaurants, such as Aubrey's (located next door to our hotel.) Chesapeake's or Calhoun's, three of the best restaurants in Knoxville. Once again, thank you for your interest in our property! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Knoxville North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Knoxville North Hotel Powell
Holiday Inn Powell
Powell Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Powell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing